We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Paul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Paul to your Saves list
Hotel St. Paul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
campbell river
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Welcome to Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First time to Montreal and the location of this hotel was perfect, great restaurants, sites within walking distance. Room was very clean the bath tub large and much appreciated, beds very comfortable and quiet. The downstairs bar was spectacular ,modern, trendy. Staff very helpful we left our camera on a bench in the lobby and when we came back right away it was brought to our attention. Hallways a little dark not much light, valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    168
    78
    39
    15
See reviews for
53
234
28
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel in Old Montreal - short walk to restaurants, shops, and the metro. The staff was very friendly, valet parking was a breeze, and our room was very clean & comfortable. Our only complaints were that the hallways were very dark and we experienced a bit of a noise problem in the middle of the night, due to a wedding party staying on our floor. Otherwise, a nice stay for a good price - we would stay at the Hotel St. Paul again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I spent our wedding night in a suite at the St. Paul. Not only the building is beautiful outside, and the location in the Old Port is great, but the decoration inside and the rooms are really elegant and modern. Everything was super neat and we felt like at home at all moments. The crew was really helpful, too. They let us stay a bit longer and made our wedding night very special.
Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Alalo79,

Thank you for having chosen the St Paul Hotel for your wedding night, it means a lot to us. We are thrilled to read that you had a nice stay in one of our suites, and that our team contributed to make these moments special. Congratulations, and again, thank you!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killington, Vermont
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our first time at the st. paul (we've been frequenters to Le Saint Sulpice, The Nelligan and Place D'Armes...so it was time to try the St. Paul). The rooms are nice/roomy (as was our bathroom) and they are clean! We had none of the issues i read in some of the reviews in terms of cleanliness). The bed was quoted as queen sized, but it seems slightly smaller than the average (US) queen. We were fine with this. They do need new carpeting in the rooms and halls (it appears clean, but is bubbling in places). Our room had large windows that peered out onto the neighboring rooftops through the fire-escape and we kept the blinds open because... The only 'misses' are the halls and elevator. Some reviews noted the dark halls and I agree. This reminded me of the Hotel Max in Seattle... All I can say is REGARDLESS of the mood/style they are going for, these halls are just dank, eerie and not inviting. Opening the door to your room is like 'escaping' from a dark cave. The elevator is small and painted black and feels like a box - and the sconce on the wall has no shade...just a small exposed bulb. So....we opted not to hang out in the hallways or elevator :) The restaurant is beautiful with friendly staff and what looks to be a good whiskey selection. The valet and front desk were prompt, friendly and helpful. The valet parking is right across a side street and seems safe and easily accessible. We will stay here again, but admit that a driver will be price.

Room Tip: We had 901 which was an upperfloor (maybe a 10 story building) toward the back side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear pickytravellers2,

Thanks for the review, we are glad you chose the St Paul for your stay in Montreal. Our dark hallways are part of our hotel very unique design, and as you could see, our rooms are very luminous with large windows offering great views over Old Montreal skyline! Visit our website for more info about our special offers & promotions! We just unveiled our brand new package for winter celebrations!

We look forward to your next visit to Montreal!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollerau, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Hotel St.Paul has a great location in the old city of Montreal, yet quite close to subways which will bring you anywhere. From check-in to check-out, everything was flawless, including a beautiful/clean room, a very professional/friendly staff and great amenities. The quality of this hotel is sadly too rare, and I could only recommend it. The staff at the front desk is extremely helpful and very willing to offer their help and suggestions about the city.
As a purely positive review does nott seem reliable: the gym is a bit small, but that is litterally the only thing negative noticed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator: I was next to it, and could hear, from time to time, people pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Matt,

Thanks again for your comments about the hotel as well as your visit! It has been a pleasure to meet you in person, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Montreal.

Kind Regards

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of my engagement surprise to my now fiance.

At first glance, the exterior of the hotel is beautiful and had old charm. It is located very close to the old port and in a fantastic area.

The interior lobby is very modern but somewhat plain. Check in was a breeze. No line up. Very polite front desk clerk. Don't have to worry about the car as they had valet which was great (my car was always pulling up just as I walked out).

Walking up to our room you couldn't help but notice the creepy Dexter like red ambient lighting at the front doors of our room. Our door was left open when we arrived which freaked my fiance out. The room is absolutely gorgeous. Decor was incredible and very spacious. Views were quite nice from our room. Floor looked a little dirty but overall everything seemed clean. Bed wasvery ccomfortable except for the over starched sheets. Our air conditioning didn't work so it was very hot. Opening the Window was a no go as there was too much traffic noise. They offered to switch rooms but we got back at 2am and really didn't feel like moving. No compensation offered.

Overall the hotel was great and absolutely worth the price. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Paolo182002,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read that you chose us as an engagement surprise, and that both of you were entirely satisfied with your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great boutique hotel located in the 'old' part of Montreal - room wasn't over the top but had all that was necessary - bed was comfortable - parking around the hotel was not easy but we used valet which was reasonably priced - ate at the restaurant Ham and it was very nice. Requested a late check out and was happily given. Would definatelty recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Narp35,

Thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the St Paul Hotel and your meal at the Hambar restaurant. Make sure to contact us for your next trip to Montreal, we would be delighted to welcome you again!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Paul

Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Business Hotel in Montreal
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Paul
St Paul Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.