We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location/exception/satisfaction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Paul

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Paul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St. Paul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Quebec City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Location/exception/satisfaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Small enough hotel boutique, very well maintained, walking distance from Mtl best attractions.

Our group's feedbacks were positive & everyone enjoy their stay.

No matter how glamourous can an hotel look, I believe that the #1 asset will always be the staff; you got a perfect score there.

Also, big hotels don't usually have a restaurant where you can actually eat VERY well; this has also been very positive w. the Hambar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear rudybegood,

Thank you so much for taking the time posting a review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read you were satisfied with our location, accommodation and staff!
Feel free to contact us for your next visit to Montreal! We would love to welcome you again soon!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    145
    62
    36
    15
See reviews for
44
206
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location.

We had a suite which was fabulous...but sadly looking into an office block across the street. The suite had everything you could want for a 5 night stay. Gowns, slippers etc an added luxury.

The staff were extremely helpful and so friendly...it helps if you attempt to speak french...even if it is atrocious!

The hotel is in the heart of old Montreal and very close to the river. Very close to some great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Little out of the way, but hotel is amazing. Superb design, great rooms and lunch menu worth a Michelin star for small bucks! Staff is communicative and nice. They are also member of designhotels.com
Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ZGtomcat,

Thank you for sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travellers. What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that you were particularly happy with our design and Hambar restaurant!

We loom forward to welcoming you again soon!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here a few times on business. Location is great for tourists as well. Close to Old Port etc. Rooms are also pretty nice size wise, large tubs and in general very livable. I would have like to see a decent gym with at least a few good machines , but their gym is an afterthought.

Service seemed to be good, but then again I hardly needed any service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear EugeneNY,

Thank you for posting your review about St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor! We are glad to read you had a nice stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I couldn't find any charm inside this hotel. Nobody to get the door of help with the luggage. The elevator needed a good cleaning, the hallways are very dark with red light.( I guess it's a good way to keep the dirt from our sight). I felt trapped in the room: high ceiling with narrow naked white walls, no decor on the walls at all, black covers on the bad, curtains that don't open, the light bulbs in the bathroom seem to be 10 Volts. It was difficult for my husband to shave and for me to do my makeup, but I had a flashlight in my luggage. ( yes, it's that dimmed in there!) The bathtub is extra slippery, so I showered in sandals. The shower isn't the best either. The bed is very comfortable, but I couldn't feel good in this hotel so I left the next morning although we had reservation for 4 nights. I don't know why people speak so highly about this hotel, it looks like a property that is being neglected by however owns it. It has potential, though. I went to a cheaper hotel that was 5 times better than this one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Cris H,
Thank you for your review, it will allow us to improve the downfall of service you met, to our great disappointment.
The design of our Hotel is very unique in Montréal and usually to the taste of our customer as you can see in the other reviews. We are the 1st Design hotel in Canada and the modern and minimalist interior is the signature of our establishment. We do promote this interior architecture throughout our official Website and the other selling channel we are using.
The standards of our hotel have always been very high and our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality and the team that we’ve assembled. If you would like to reconsider a future stay at our hotel, please contact us.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our 2 night romantic getaway to the St. Paul in old Montreal. The room was outstanding, the service terrific, the location superb. The deluxe continental breakfast was great. We could have sat by the open fireplace in the lobby all night....an absolute joy to come back to after a day exploring the streets of Montreal on a blistering cold day. Thanks to the wonderful staff who were present and extremely helpful. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe, king suite on the seventh floor! wowie! Also, please note that there is NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed Canada day long weekend 2012.
Room bland, needs cleaning
heater/radiator falling apart, many little repairs need to be done in the room, dusty
no turn down service

Breakfast included in visa perk was great, this is the only real plus for me
seating area by breakfast room was very comfy and well designed

3 star boutique hotel, filled out comment card and manager sent reply.
poor rating...wants to be a trendy boutique hotel but too many small details missed, no warmth, even from staff

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear 301226

Further to your comments for which we thank you, we were sorry to read your disappointment about your stay with us. We appreciate every guest comment given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel.

Should you reconsider to come back in Montreal, feel free to contact us directly and we will arrange your stay in another room category.

We look forward to welcome you again jn Montreal

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Paul

Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#43 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Paul 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Paul
St Paul Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.