We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Arts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2060 rue St-Dominique, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2X1, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel may not look much from the outside but it is very clean and ideal for a low budget centre of town stay. It's only a short walk to rue st Catherine or the old city Montreal.

The room was clean, a little old and dated but by no means dirty and it did not have any bed bugs.

Our only complaint is the air conditioning was not very cold which left the room quite warm during the day and early evening.

Only area to avoid is two blocks down on the way to china town, it's a bit dodgy with some unsavoury characters in the park area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    46
    27
    61
See reviews for
26
46
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is rather good and comfortable, the room was clean. There was free wi-fi. It has a very good position - in the city centre not far from a metro station. So we didn't have to use public transport, all sights were near.
I didn't like the surroundings very much - the street was very dirty, but I don't think it was very important.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

So I was a little Leary staying here after reading some hideous reviews, however, I'm at the hotel right now, it's the last day of our three day stay and I do not have one single complaint. We stayed in room 305 and it was clean, smelt nice and it's completely rodent and bed bug free despite what I read in other reviews. It's not a glamorous hotel but if you're in Montreal for Montreal and not to spend your whole stay in your room, you can't beat it. The price is right and it's walking distance to practically everything. The staff here has been nothing but informative and courteous throughout our stay. Not sure what all the negative reviews are about... Clearly from people who expected a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is not the nicest place, but the location for the price is great. I don't know if the other reviewers are that pretentious, or the place has gotten better, but ITS FINE. To top it off, there's a few free parking spaces out front, which is a godsend in this city. They are first come, first serve.

The continental breakfast is little more than bagels, cereal, bananas, with coffee and juice, and it stops at 10am. The little interaction with the staff I had was good; check in and out was super fast. The rooms are a bit run down, but a fine place to crash for the night. Old CRT TVs round out the amenities. Internet is a little slow but fast enough for basic research. Our room had a private bath and there's a shared bathroom in the hallway, which is nice with a group of friends.

If a good location on a budget is your top priority, this is your best best in Montreal. FYI, we paid about $56 USD per night with a promo code from Orbitz.

Room Tip: Spend more money or don't complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

turned my dream vacation to montreal into a financial nightmare.
went with a large group and booked 11 rooms.
they charged us 700 more dollars than what we were told,
and refused to give us back our 550 dollars in security deposits
for reasons I am still unsure of,
THEN they charged one of us 200 dollars for NO reason!
That's more than $1,400 extra money we had to come up with!
Ridiculous! For a crappy, ceiling-leaking, smelly, inconvenient two-star hotel that is
located on a 60 degree hill in the middle of a broken-down homeless-infested trashy neighborhood.
Hotel Des Arts should learn how to manage a hotel and please customers rather than exploiting innocent tourists and stealing their money

Room Tip: They're all sorta awful but try and get a non-smoking on on the second or third floor. the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ok, ok, you want to save money, blah blah blah.

Don't do it, just don't. At least not here.

In a nutshell, it's worst than living in projects, neighborhood is iffy, building looks like a place where drug-dealers hang out (when I first saw the building I regretted it so much), place is filty, lots of bugs (I bought bug spray from the pharmacy), has a weird odor. Living in a tent in the woods would be an upgrade to staying here.

You've been warned.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and it was a nice stay. The location is perfect, the hotel is close to everything. Staff was helpful and friendly. I had room #106 and it was clean, with wooden floor, a king-size bed and a large bath. Breakfast was a simple continental breakfast but was included in the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 2060 rue St-Dominique, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2X1, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Montreal
Econolodge Hotel Montreal
Econo Lodge Downtown Montreal
Econo Lodge Montreal
Econolodge Montreal
Montreal Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.