We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spaggio's - CLOSED

Spaggio's
451 Duluth East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1A6, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
+1 514-840-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Toronto
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overall very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good weather allowed us to sit on the spacious patio, where we found the food to be quite good, and we enjoyed the wine we brought along. The menu has plenty of options, and the service is just fine. Learn more at http://restaurantspaggios.com/.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“just exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great italian food with fresh pasta. Superb interior court to dine out with heated lamps. Bring your own wine..like that. Good service. The only thing is i wish they would reopen in Laval (closed after fire).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food and bring your wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I went with four people to this restaurant and we were all pretty impressed. The service was decent (I don't expect much being English in Montreal). I had the veal and it was cooked perfect. My girlfriend had the lamb and raved about it. I thought the bread they served as a starter was amazing. Both me and girlfriend's meals were just under $50. I thought it was decently priced. We saved a ton since we brought our own wine. Going again tomorrow!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stunning food and huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

I visited Spaggios on holiday from England, and was massively impressed with the food here. Amazing flavours and large portions are how they do it here. None of our group could clear their plate.

The setting is lovely, with outside seating in a tree lined garden. Service was excellent, and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

I would go back to Montreal just for their gnocchi!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious BYOW, fresh pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The plateau has lots of choices for restos, but very few that have above average food. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the food. Came here with a group of approx. 20 people and everyone was able to find something they enjoyed. I ordered the fettucine carbonara, and it was delicious! Fresh pasta makes all the difference! Service wasn't memorable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaggio's also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spaggio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.