We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Montreal gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Victoire, Bistro de Quartier

Chez Victoire, Bistro de Quartier
1453 Ave Du Mont-Royal E, Montreal, Quebec QC H2J, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
514-521-6789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Victoire, Bistro de Quartier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #424 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Garnier
Montreal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Another Montreal gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Chez Victoire was a welcome oasis from yet another dreary winter evening in Montreal. We tried the salmon tartare and the AAA angus beef (slow cooked to tender perfection) off the $40 three-course menu and were not disappointed. When I informed the waiter that I despise bananas, a key ingredient in the designated dessert, he kindly allowed me to select another without charging me extra which I have seen done in other places. Chez Victoire has a great vibe as does that section of Mont-Royal Avenue. We were seated right by the station where the "charcuteries" plates were being prepared, and they looked very yummy, so this is at the top of my list of things to order when I next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice business meal for diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

On a Monday night in Montreal, a very nice and welcoming restaurant on the "plateau". Staff are great, helpful and efficient. The wine choice is good and the food really nice. I started with the salmon tartare and then the burger of smoked meat and both were delicious. My guest also enjoyed his meal and we had a third person come later and we had no problem even though it was not planned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food, so so, service and bar: remarquable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great place for the vibe and professionalism of the staff.

Parking is terrible (as it is anywhere on the devil's Plateau).... But this place delivers like no tomorrow when it comes to quality of service.

First place in Montreal i was ever asked if I wished to have my Martini Dry, Dirty, Real or Modern...
Of course Dirty!

Great place to grab a few drinks and a bite before hitting downtown.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck tasting menu!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

First and certainly not our last visit. We both took the 60$ for 6 course tasting menu : WOW!!! So much attention to detail, craftsmanship and delicious flavors, everything was perfect. We also ask our server to pair some wines to go with all that great food, and the choices he made we're right on. The only thing in the meal that could have use a little bit more creativity was the dessert, chocolate fondant with vanilla ice cream. Service was great, good pace for a 6 course meal. Will surely be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great first experience - not the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

WOW! A mix of great service and great food. Quality of dishes is fantastic. We were 8 and all tried different entrees to share - great way to go as everything was tasty. The charcuterie plateau had a mixture of of textures, smokiness and tastes - this too was the way to go.
Main dishes all wonderful to the eye and tastebuds.
Let's not forget the desserts.... mmmm and mmmm even though we were full.
Kitchen staff were fun to watch - young, determined, eye for presentation etc.
Great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Victoire, Bistro de Quartier also viewed

 

Been to Chez Victoire, Bistro de Quartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Victoire, Bistro de Quartier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.