We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overview of Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guidatour Private Tours

Guidatour Private Tours
360, Saint-Francois-Xavier Street | Suite 400, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2S8, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
+1 514-844-4021
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$14*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guidatour is a tour guide agency for Montreal, Quebec City and Ottawa. Established in Montreal since 1985, Guidatour is well known for its dynamic, flexible and professional services. Walking tours of Old Montreal and Downtown Montreal for individuals, bus and bike tours, private guides and more!
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed a one-day grand tour of Montreal with three walking tours for the unbeatable price of $30/person. We had our own guide for Downtown Montreal and then a nice small group for our tours of East and West Old Montreal. Our walking tours were really the highlight of our visit and all three guides were excellent and knowledgeable, bringing the history of Montreal to life.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Montreal Walking Tour - 14/6/2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Montreal Walking Tour - 14/6/2013

My wife and I travelled to Montreal in June and wanting to know more about the history of the city, and decided to take a walking tour with .....There are an option of the two tours the East or West or you can combine them with a one hour break between the two for lunch. Each tour is 11/2 hours in length. The east tour takes you through the old town. Our tour guide was Fredrick. Who was very informative and entertaining in the way that he told the story of how Montreal came about. We then took the West tour with Martin who has the reputation of being one of the best guides in Montreal. The West tour looks at the newer part of Montreal which is interesting, but as others have commented isn't as good as old Montreal. Martin though is very informative and passionate and we highly recommend doing the combined tour. Please be aware that you get entrance to Notre Dame Basilica in your tour costs so don't see the Basilica before doing the tour. Save yourself a few dollars.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great walking tour with Guidatour in Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did the East and West tour with Guidatour. Martin took us on the West side-very knowledgeable and a great sense of humor. Angie took us on the East side-also VERY knowledgeable. Both tours flew by and they were so interesting. Wear super comfortable shoes and you will thank yourself later.
We took the Grayline City tour the next day-it was awful. Rude driver/guide and it was conducted in both French and English-they did a bait and switch online and never let us know it would be like that. I called to complain and they were rude,as was the driver Jean. Do not waste your money on this tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tour guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We took the tour of Old Montreal West this past weekend and can't say enough about our wonderful tour guide, George. Not only was he a treasure trove of information and knew tons of details about the buildings we were visiting, but he was also a patient and kind man. We brought our eight-month old baby on the tour and tried our best to keep her quiet, but it was close to her feeding time and at a given point she simply started crying and I had to feed her. George was fine with all that and took it all in stride. I also had to dash to the bathroom at one point, and he told me where the rest of the group would be and didn't give me a hard time about it. All in all, a great tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, arkansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Did both tours..enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did both the East and West tours and preferred the East one. There was just more to see there. We did enjoy both though. You do not need to book in advance.. just meet them at the cathedral 15 minutes before the tour begins.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guidatour Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Guidatour Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guidatour Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.