We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Old Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Piano Rouge

Le Piano Rouge
22 St Paul East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1G3, Canada
514-439-3842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 194 Nightlife in Montreal
Type: Piano Bar, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sing, dance, laugh, play, relax and connectThe Piano Rouge will open your horizons to the many colors and emotions of this amazing instrument. The ‘’Rouge’’ fire of its passion will be unraveled through the notes of its keyboard from Soul Jazz, Classical to Pop joined by voice, other instruments or solo. The Piano Rouge will time travel from the past to present, from a Speakeasy style to World music discovering a variety of Pianists and ending the night with a Soul Funk DJ with Electronic highlights. The Piano Rouge will create a unique experience awakening all your senses with its cozy lounge atmosphere and its friendly interaction between employees, the music and you! Our Bistro Counter will charm you with its dishes while you discover one of our famous cocktails carefully prepared by a Cocktailogist. So enjoy!
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Great spot in Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I enjoyed visiting this small establishment in Old Montreal. We were treated to friendly service, a nice atmosphere and great jazz music.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is one of the most unique bars I have ever visited.
We were attracted by the red piano in the window.
The live entertainment was exceptional!
There was a dj that played amazing classic house and hiphop.
We had an amazing time!!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great band.Friendly and fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stumbled upon this place on a recent business trip to Montreal.
Big red piano in the window. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent martinis. Wonderful atmosphere.A small cozy place but somehow they managed to squeeze in a seven piece band including 3 horns playing an uptempo blend of what they called soul electric, acid jazz. I think they were called the Atomics. The band had great infectious energy and everyone was having a great time, whether up dancing or sitting down and just tapping their feet.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Garbage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

If this place used to be a hip jazz bar it ain't any more. Total tourist trap. This is not where real music fans go to hear great music. Save your money!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocobrown75, Manager at Le Piano Rouge, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hello,
It would be useful to everyone if you clarified exactly what aspects of the bar you did not like.

We have an exceptional friendly and efficient staff
Our music rooster often include world class musicians such as Jose James, Lorraine Klassen, Slim Williams, Obed Calvaire etc

Although we have only been in existence for less than two (2) years, we recently received recognition as one of the top music venues in the 2012 Montreal Mirror annual survey

We are far from being a "tourist trap" as our clients are mostly local and our prices are relatively low for the Old Montreal area.

http://www.montrealmirror.com/wp/2011/05/12/nightlife/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Heard great things about this piano bar in the Old City of Montreal. Thought this venue would have a been an ideal place to hear real jazz, but turned out to be quite the opposite. Very packed environment, $10 cover, weak drinks (as they all are in Montreal, but that's not why we were there) - but worst of all was the music. Skat can be superb, but it wasn't that night. And only 20 minute sets before taking 20 minute breaks. Loud, noisy, seemed like a total tourist ripoff joint rather than a hip piano lounge.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocobrown75, Manager at Le Piano Rouge, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Piano Rouge. We love having customer feedback as it helps us to continuously improve our service levels as well as clarify any misconceptions about what we offer.

It seems that you were looking for a jazz bar experience. While the music played at our lounge is sometimes "jazzy or jazz-based" we are not a jazz bar. We refer to our venue as a "soul lounge", as in any given week, one can hear different genre of music (Pop, RnB, Motown, Neosoul, Electronic etc)-the music is usually quite soulful however.

Having travelled throughout the USA and Europe I do agree that the alcohol amount poured in bars and restaurants in Montreal is certainly less than what most Americans and Europeans are used to. At Le Piano Rouge, we have a standardized pour of 1.5 oz per drink.

Musicians are contracted to play 3 sets of 40 minutes, OR 2 sets of 1 hour, with 20 minute breaks in between.

For most of the year, our venue is somewhat of a neighbourhood bar with a mixed clientele of of locals (approx 65%) and tourists (35%). In the summer time, the ratio of tourist increases to about 50-50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Piano Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Le Piano Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Piano Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.