We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les 400 Coups

Les 400 Coups
400 Notre Dame Est, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1C8, Canada
514-985-0400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Les 400 Coups is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest Metro: Champ de Mars
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I ordered the tasting menu (without wine pairings). Every course was delicious! The portions were small, but appropriate for a tasting menu. At the end of the meal, we felt full, but not overstuffed. It was perfect.

We started out with an amuse-bouche of pea purée. Following this: shrimp with white asparagus cream sauce, halibut, pork two ways (braised and pork belly), the green dessert (apple with yogurt and shaved ice), and finally 2 more desserts (a different one for each of us) of lime panna cotta with mixed fruit and strawberry sorbet and chocolate mousse with pear sorbet. We even got a bonus dessert with our check: two small lemon-almond cookies and two small chocolate covered coffee bites. Of the savory courses, we liked the seafood the best and we both liked the green dessert the best.

Service was a bit slow, but it didn't bother us because we were out for a late romantic dinner and were not in a rush. The servers always completely explained the courses so we knew exactly what we were eating/enjoying. Another bonus is that it was easy to find and a short, easy walk from our hotel.

We would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Montreal, especially Old Montreal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    40
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food.. Puny portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First, the good news.. The food, service, presentation, preparation, ingredients are fabulous. The portions, however, are Puny.. A 3 oz portion of Halibut at 30$ is shameful. I'd go back.. but only as a guest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Culinary delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the tasting menu and it was completely delicious from beginning to end. If I had more time in Montreal I would go again. The deserts were worth it on their own. So good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“complex flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Come here for their Friday lunch. It's inexpensive and you get to try the awesome food! I was stressed out that my flight might get in late and I would miss lunch here....we got there in time thanks to the nice canadia customs! :-)

Service: attentive, friendly. We were greeted by the sommelier,also one of the owners.
I started with the sweetbread: tender, excellent with the tangy yogurt. my friend still raves over her tomato salad.
Dessert was awesome: I had the green dessert: olive oil, yogurt, green apple, cilantro, pistachio, shaved ice....the combination just blew me away.

Definitely excellent value. excellent food. not pretentious at all.
GO! EAT!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow food at modest prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a place for foodies! The portions are small but they are gastronomical delights! Deserts are a real highlight. How they do this for the price is a wonder. The staff works as a team and does a great job explaining what the delights on the plate are and meeting any needs you have relating the dinning experience. Our primary server Mathieu did a great job making us feel at home here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les 400 Coups also viewed

 

Been to Les 400 Coups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les 400 Coups, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.