We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Montreal (Rue St. Dennis)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Chose

Chez Chose
1879, Rue Belanger Montreal (Quebec), Montreal, Quebec H2G 1B6, Canada (Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension)
514-843-2152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Chose is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 4,419 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: French, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Cross street: Bienville
Transit: Metro Mont-Royal take your left to St-Denis street, turn on your right 30 second walk Metro Laurier take your right to St-Denis street, turn on your left 30 second walk
Description: Chez Chose offers a menu from a blackboard.This menu varies depending on the season and the products from our providers, each and every one of them Quebec's very own craftsmen. It also varies following the fantasies of our chef Marie-France Desrosiers whom plays around the products we receive, maintaining a fresh and seasonal selection. May it be foie gras, vegetables, rabbit, guinea fowl regardless of the delivery, she will lay in your plate a joyful mix of flavours . The perfect brew of our local farmers' hard work and the genius of Marie-France has made Chez Chose something... Grandiose. Have a taste, you will see.... Chez Chose vous propose un menu a l'ardoise. Ce menu varie au gre des saisons et des arrivages de nos fournisseurs, tous sans exception des artisans du terroir quebecois. Il varie aussi selon les fantaisies de notre chef Marie-France Desrosiers qui s'amuse avec ce que nos producteurs d'ici lui envoient, pour autant que tout soit frais et de saison.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little gem in Montreal (Rue St. Dennis)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Amazing brunch and very warm and joyful people working there! A "MUST" for someone who would like to try the REAL french cuisine at the reasonable prices.
We had: 2 berries shakes (very good!!!), a homemade poutine (with the blue cheese and rabbit meatballs) and pouched eggs with seared scallops, beautiful presented! Definitely, we'll go back again! :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    43
    17
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gluten free? No problem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We walked in to this charming French bistro around 8 pm, and admitted to not having a reservation, but we got lucky. The waiter, quite possibly the owner, seated us with a flourish at the last table for two in the place. A small line-up formed only a few minutes later. Upon hearing I had to eat gluten-free, he pointed out several possibilities---I went for the trout, which was excellent. He came back with yummy-looking regular gluten bread for my husband, and--surprise!---a separate plate with three lightly toasted circular slices of gluten-free bread for me, and it was actually good. He said that the chef experimented with baking using GF flours, and sometimes he could offer GF bread as a result, another lucky event for me, I guess. The interior of the restaurant was elegant, the staff dressed all in black, but there was no stuffy attitude here, just friendliness and a sincere desire to please. We enjoyed eating here immensely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've been to Chez Chose twice (brunch and dinner)and can recommand it for the following reasons:
1. Very friendly and personalized service;
2. Nice environment, not too loud;
3. Menu with interesting and different propositions;
4. Tasty food in just right portions.

I'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful bistro experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We selected Chez Chose based on Trip Advisor reviews, and are glad we did. Thevredtsurantbis small and intimate. The menu was a bit of a struggle as we did not speak French, but our waiter, who we think turned out to be the owner, happily took us through everything, combining patience with enthusiasm. We selected an eclectic assortment of dishes - venison, spring roll, scallops, and a crusty cheese appetizer that doubled as a main course, and they were uniformly excellent. The owner chatted with us about the challenge of opening and growing a restaurant in an environment as competitive as Montreal, but they are four years in and building a clientele. That includes us as we would certainly return and can heartily recommend Chez Chose for anyone looking for an excellent meal in a delightful setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Graet place for a brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went here for a late brunch in late June. It is in the middle of the very hip Rue St Denis but the terrace is a bit loud as it's right next to the street.
The service was excellent. The waiter was very friendly and explained all their dishes for us (the menu was is French, which we don't read that well). The food includes well-prepared classics with some nice twists. Not too large portions, which is rare in North America. A bit pricy for a basic brunch but we thought it was well worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chose also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Chose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Chose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.