We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Chose

Chez Chose
1879, Rue Belanger Montreal (Quebec), Montreal, Quebec H2G 1B6, Canada
514-843-2152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Chose is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 4,473 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bienville
Transit: Metro Mont-Royal take your left to St-Denis street, turn on your right 30 second walk Metro Laurier take your right to St-Denis street, turn on your left 30 second walk
Description: Chez Chose offers a menu from a blackboard.This menu varies depending on the season and the products from our providers, each and every one of them Quebec's very own craftsmen. It also varies following the fantasies of our chef Marie-France Desrosiers whom plays around the products we receive, maintaining a fresh and seasonal selection. May it be foie gras, vegetables, rabbit, guinea fowl regardless of the delivery, she will lay in your plate a joyful mix of flavours . The perfect brew of our local farmers' hard work and the genius of Marie-France has made Chez Chose something... Grandiose. Have a taste, you will see.... Chez Chose vous propose un menu a l'ardoise. Ce menu varie au gre des saisons et des arrivages de nos fournisseurs, tous sans exception des artisans du terroir quebecois. Il varie aussi selon les fantaisies de notre chef Marie-France Desrosiers qui s'amuse avec ce que nos producteurs d'ici lui envoient, pour autant que tout soit frais et de saison.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Made a last minute booking on Saturday night, based on good reviews on Tripadvisor. Excellent food, service and varied menu. Impressed and will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    35
    15
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, service, and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Chez Chose is one of the premier bistros in Montreal with a menu that is varied yet consistent. There is a certain overall style to not only the flavor profiles but the choice of ingredient that I can only describe as giving the vegetables as much importance as the protein on the plate. So often a restaurant can indeed prepare a great piece of meat but then throw aside any real care to the accourtrements. At Chez Chose we really feel the thoughtfulness of everything on the plate and is confirmed with not only rich harmonizing flavors but in portion size as well. I ordered the duck breast as a main and a trio of smoked duck, duck heart tartar and bison tenderloin to start yet by the end I did not feel like an overindulged carnivore.

A beautiful setting with a friendly and humorous waiter that made the experience complete. To top it off and sticky toffee pudding and sorbet trio shared with my guest left us completely satisfied and impressed! This restaurant is not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The soup of the day was a vegetable cream with yogurt and spices - wonderful. Salad was also very good.
Duck entree was delicious; the Rabbit special was a bit "white on white" and dry.
Reasonable wine selection, we ordered a Cotes-du-Rhone blend. The vintage year of the wine presented was one year later than stated in the menu; I have seen this at a number of restaurants.
The menu is a bit brief with about 7 entrees.
Service was excellent; overall it was a great evening; we went on a Thursday evening in October and it was busy. Make reservations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding Service and Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

An absolutely amazing culinary experience. We enjoyed the house salad, foie gras and venison with a feather (duck) as our entree. We had ordered the actual venison for our entree (which was the entree special for the evening) but due to it's popularity they ran out before our order made it to the chef. Not to worry, they accomodated us with a duck entree that turn out wonderfully. I enjoy bold red wines and a couple glasses of the 2010 Les Sorcieres blend did not disappoint.

Everyone was so friendly and we were quite pleased with our server, Elizabeth. It is my understanding the establishment is family owned with Mother and Father servicing the main dining room and their daughter as the chef. (we didn't meet her). Furthermore, there were several bars in the immediate area to have a drink afterwards and Elizabeth recommended a great jazz club with live music just a few blocks down the street.

For the gourmet quality of the meal we enjoyed, the price seemed very much worth it compared to other gourmet restaurant. I think our bill was $168 out-the-door including two salads, four glasses of wine, the foie gras appetizer, the two duck entrees, all taxes (very high in Quebec) and a 20% gratuity.

You would be doing yourself an injustice to not try Chez Chose on your travels to Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Honnest food and service, but not 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The fact that this typical little bistro style restaurant - like many you would find in the Plateau district of Montreal - ends up on top of the list on Trip Advisor clearly demonstrates how sites like this cannot be trusted blindly. Trip advisor will deeply benefit including expert ratings in the future, like what you find on IMDB (consumer ratings on one side, and pro ratings on the other).Of course, this is not by any means a bad place to eat. It simply is not worthy of 5 stars.

The décor is ok, but the chairs are hard and uncomfortable, and dinner is served on a small black laminate table without a tablecloth. The décor is something you would find in any local bistro. Old brick wall on one side, ceramic tile flooring, suspended ceiling, generic bar, nothing special.

Music, something I rarely notice, is random French of l'apres-guerre, jazz, smooth American rock, of anything else.

Service is courteous and friendly, but is closer to what you would expect in a bed and breakfast to a 5 star restaurant.

Then, although you are presented with a tiny menu, the food is good. Very decent effort here, but falls short in presentation and taste. Everything was rather good, but we were not awed in any way.

Finally, at 120$ for 2 glasses of Champaign, 2 entrees, and 2 main dishes, this place is too expensive, in my opinion, to merit more than 3 stars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chose also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Chose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Chose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.