We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quattro

Quattro
17 Notre- Dame Quest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1S5, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
514-903-2909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: 10 minute walk from Delta Hotel in Downtown Montreal
Wolcott
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had just arrived in Old Montreal and had an hour to wait for our room to be ready. We stop here for a quick drink and met two of the owners, Frank and Vinnie. They made us feel like old friends, we said maybe we would be back for dinner and we did just that. We were not disappointed, the food was wonderful and the owners were very attentive and social. We will definitely go back again.

Sue and Chuck, CT

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    97
    35
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good food, casual setting near the cathedral. Service was a little sporadic, but then again we were a pretty large group. Highly recommend the braised rabbit pasta and beet salad.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good considering tourist location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Right in the middle of Old Montreal I wasn't expecting to find a good restaurant. Too often these are tourist traps and food mills of poor quality. Not so here!
Saw the TI reviews and strolled in to make a reservation a couple of days ahead. Met by smiling owner approaching and happy to accommodate the booking.
All the staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful with selection. Directed to an excellent glass of wine etc.
Everything on menu we had was of high quality with no short cuts. The porcini risotto was perfect. Hey; it's an Italian restaurant so asked for the tiramisu. Light and pleasant but what happened to the liqueur that used to go in this dessert? If that's all that's wrong with the whole experience I look forward to return visit soon. A very pleasant evening out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
“Great last night in Montreal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is an incredible Italian family run restaurant where all food and wine is an absolute delight. The ambiance is increased by the welcoming owners Nino and Frank. Franks lovely daughter Cristine is an asset also joining the enthusiastic men with her own recommendations of the wonderful foods and wines that made Quattro our favorite restaurant of our trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian meal in Old Port, Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were in Montreal for the weekend to watch my son and daughter-in-law run in the Rock n' Roll Marathon in Montreal. We were searching for an Italian restaurant near Old Port, where we were staying. I found Quattro through TripAdvisor and couldn't have been happier.

I made my reservation on-line and they promptly got back to me to see if we were at all flexible about a time. There were 7 of us and it's a relatively small restaurant. We were able to work out a time and were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were greeted by Nino and Francesco who made us feel welcome as we walked through the door. They made sure our evening was perfect.

We were served complimentary bruchetta, that was fabulous. They went over the food and wine menus elaborating on both. I believe that everyone in our group loved their meals. We had two vegetarian diners with us and there was a number of vegetarian items to choose from. I had the "famous" macaroni & cheese which was light and flavorful. Others had veal, papalarde (which they happily accommodated by daughter-in-law by cooking it without the meat) and gnocchi. We all enjoyed our meal as well as the ambiance. Shared a few orders of canolli for dessert with coffee.

Overall it was a fantastic meal. Fresh pasta, fresh veggies, warm bread...doesn't get much better than that! Again, Nino and Francesco made our night! Would highly recommend for wonderful italian food in beautiful Montreal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quattro also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Quattro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quattro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.