We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Passe Compose

Le Passe Compose
950, rue Roy Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1E8, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
514 524 6663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,742 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My friend & I found this restaurant by accident 7 decided to try the following week. It is the best brunch in Montreal. It has become one of my favourite brunch restaurants. It is a bit pricier than other brunches but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of rude francos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you like a good brunch and esp French toast at an above average price, this is the place for you.
If you like a good brunch and French toast at an above average price with good and pleasant service, this is not the place for you. I will personally never return there again because everyone from the waiters and owner act like they are doing you a favor by letting you through the door. The service is even worse if you are an anglophone. So good luck with the queue and service with a smile :-).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“French Toast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The panko-crusted French Toast is worth the trip alone. Great service in a very cute Montreal neighborhood. Get away from the main tourist spots and come enjoy a great meal in a beautiful part of the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best brunch in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been going to this place for the past 3-4 years (was introduced to it by my sister). I have been there both supper and brunch. It's probably the best brunch place in Montreal. The one time that we went there for dinner, we again had a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once upon a time it was a favourite - no more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been going to Le Passe Compose and previously Le grille-pain for about seven years. It's a relaxed and lovely spot for a weekday or weekend brunch.
However, on my most recent visit, I noticed a very different menu - and significantly higher prices. While the panko-crusted French toast is good, overall the quality is not at the level to justify more premium brunch prices. I'll still go on occasion, but they need to up the ante from neighbourhood spot if they want to be considered on par with 'destination' restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Passe Compose also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Passe Compose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Passe Compose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.