We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, well-priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Quartier des Spectacles to your Saves list
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1Z5, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
LOW PREPAID RATES
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, great location, well-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I wanted a night with my man on the town - nice quiet supper out, no kids etc. Booked through GroupOn and got a great deal which included breakfast at the nearby Café Dépot. Had read many positive reviews and was aware there was a sex shop downstairs (could be handy ;-)) but nevertheless my man's eyebrows were raised as we mounted the not very promising staircase. Once inside, I was SO glad we had booked here! Over the years, we have stayed in many hotels all over the place and this is one of the few which have invested in hardwood flooring - what a difference! No accumulation of yucky god know's what on the carpets.....The room was small, but very functional, clean and modern. Loved the design of the rooms which incorporate the brick walls and happily, the bed was firm and comfortable! Friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. We will definitely be back here when next at a show at the Metropolis (a few doors down) - very happy to know of a clean, centrally located hotel to recommend to family from out of town in the future! Great job guys! Merci beaucoup et à la prochaine!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306 - top floor - very quiet. There is no elevator which may be a problem for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness, value and location of our hotel. The hotel has recently been renovated and many are impressed with our wood floors, brick walls and high ceilings. Merci et a la prochaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    83
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
84
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently on a team buy special. This area has been recently totally changed for the better despite the sex shop. Pleasantly surprised by the large clean room and only slight street noise as it fronts on st Catherine st. near Place des arts. Parking very close underground at complexe Desjardins for only 10$ for 24 hrs! Decent free breakfast at Cafe depot. Great deal for location and price

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The area has certainly undergone many changes and our hotel is situated in the heart of Montreal's new entertainment district. We are pleased that you appreciated our prime location and our excellent rates. Hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we pulled up to the hotel, my heart sank to see a sex shop at street level. Public parking behind the hotel was a well lit, large lot with a tender who slept overnight for security. For downtown city parking, it was a fair price considering the security.

The hotel entrance is non-descript but video monitored. Up some stairs a large lobby with friendly bi-lingual staff had everything ready to sign in. A few more stairs and we were in what looked like newly renovated rooms. Turns out this was done almost three years ago. The staff keeps the place well!
I immediately booked a room for the next visit to Montreal in a couple months. A bit more expensive than the Lord Berri, our previous "go-to" but much more character and QUIETER!
Don't let the look of the neighbourhood put you off. We walked all over the place on a pub crawl and never had any trouble. Its a city - there will be panhandlers and freaks on the street. It is to be expected wherever one travels. No problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I am pleased that we are your new go to place in Montreal. The hotel was renovated a few years ago keeping with its historical character. Our staff works diligently at keeping the hotel spotless and I will certainly pass on your comments in this regard. We look forward to your next visit......we love seeing our clients coming back time and time again. A bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here sometime in fall of last year. I found this hotel very central located and good for budget concious. I got this hotel last minute (must be on sale). Im not sure if this location is in the bad part of town, but there is a sex shop located just below it. You will see a HOTEL sign so you cant miss it. I took a train from toronto and its about 15 mins walk from the central station. The hotel staff is really friendly, To some people this might be an issue, but there is no parking. I think there is a lot across from it but its a pvt one, and its open, not sure if Im comfortable parking my car overnight. Its close to alot of restaurant and alot of shopping in the area. I also found this is close to the gay village so if you mind that, dont stay there. Overall, I will definately come back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Pleased to hear that you will be back. The hotel is located downtown, at the heart of the entertainment district and host to most major festivals, including the Montreal Jazz Festival. As you mentioned, the hotel is but a few minutes walk from the trendy gay village, Chinatown, Old Montreal, Old Port, the main Ste-Catherine shopping area and the restaurants and nightlife of the Plateau. For the few tourist sites not within walking distance, the St. Laurent metro station is only a few meters from our hotel. Though we do not have our own parking lot, there are several surface and underground lots in proximity to the hotel. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Good price on a winter season weeknight room. Woman at the front desk was helpful and welcoming. Room had hardwood floors and simple decor. Shower was a bit awkward -kind of small and the shower head was not adjustable. Deal included breakfast at a cafe two blocks away. Garaged parking nearby for $11/24 hrs. As others noted, no elevator, so plan for stairs. No gym or hot tub, but they did provide some maple chocolates, which was a sweet touch. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The room was in the "new" part of the building, not facing the street and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the value, the staff and our location. A bientôt....till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We purchased our stay at this hotel through Teambuy, they had an amazing deal for $59/night including breakfast.
The initial impression when walking up to the door can throw you off, not because of the sex shops, but because of the small doorway and minimal signage. Once up the first set of stairs we entered the reception area with comfy chairs and a nice fireplace. We were immediately greeted with a warm friendly "bonjour" by the desk staff who were always eager to help. She explained the area and pulled out a map for the best options and prices for parking. We chose to park the car in the university parking (UQUAM) a few blocks away and purchased a 3 day metro pass for $16. Definitely recommend doing this if you plan on staying for a few days, it will get you just about anywhere and with the subways you'll never wait more than a few minutes for one.

The hotel was warm, and welcoming. We stayed in a room on the top floor, which was a bit of a walk up a few flights of stairs with bags, but day to day it didn't really bother us. The room had all the ammenities, new shower, sink, quiet working ac/heater, LCD TV with many channels, couch, wood floors, with a closet to store and hang all of our stuff. We never heard any of our neighbours. And even though we chose not to have housekeeping clean the room during our short stay we were always offered clean towels by the front desk.

The breakfast vouchers were for the little spot across the street called Le Commensal that had great choices, strong coffee, and got us completely hooked on the St-Viateur bagels. (Yumm!)

It was in a great, central location. Corner of Saint-Laurent and Sainte-Catherine. We could very easily hop on a subway and head to Sainte Catherine for the day shopping. Or up Saint-Denis for little shops and amazing food. I would certainly recommend stopping at Schwartz's for a smoked meat sandwich, it was beyond delicious, and a fun experience. Or to La Banquise for a late night poutine, they're open 24 hrs, and were packed when we were there at 12pm on a Thursday. It really is worth the wait for a seat!

Overall it was a great value for what it was, we weren't expecting a fancy 5 star but it was clean, the people were very friendly, and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and your recommendations to others regarding things to do in Montreal. We are indeed fortunate in having such a convenient location to discover Montreal. Since the reception is located on the second floor of a centennial building, there are many stairs to contend with but we are pleased that you appreciated our renovations of this historic building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Convenient location: located in the heart of the entertainment district, close to public transit. Not so family friendly with a sex shop at the entrance to the hotel. Two flights of stairs to manage to get to lobby, pack light as there is no elevator. No parking onsite, outdoor parking is available around the corner, $20.00 overnight (not bad for a down town location). No amenities onsite. Hallways are hardwood and very noisy with other guests coming and going, at all hours. Located on a busy street, which is good for touring, not so good for sleeping as the windows (closed) allow in every noise from the street. Room was clean and modern. However, we booked this hotel through on online advertised deal, I called prior to booking to confirm the details and was assured our request would be met. However, when we arrived the room I had confirmed just days prior, was no longer available, and the breakfast that was included was also not available. Overall, good for young people looking for a location close to the 'action'. Not recommended for young families or seniors.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street and at end of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank-you for your review; we read all comments carefully in order to see how we can improve service for our guests. The restaurant that we have dealt with closed mid-December but since you were with us, we have made arrangements with another excellent place to enjoy breakfast. We have a great variety of room types in different sections of the hotel and when you reserve by phone, we try to meet the preferences of the individual client. I am unsure why you were not assigned your room preference and I apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.