We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual, very friendly spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chez Swann to your Saves list
Hotel Chez Swann
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal
1 review
“Individual, very friendly spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very individual style (you hate or love it) and very friendly staff. in the mid of town, very central located. Actual there is work in progress in the neighbourhood. Therefore a bit noisy during daytimes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    80
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
164
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you're going to Montreal and want to stay away from the standard hotels, this cool boutique hotel is just for you. Very incognito from the outside. Right off of St. Catherines, rue Drummond was surprisingly peaceful.

As soon as you walk into Chez Swann, you feel like you're inside a gallery. The lights, the furniture, the movie playing on the wall, the big wood logs give it its cool vibe. There are three types of rooms: les mondaines, demi-mondaines, and boudoirs. We had the demi-mondaine and it was huge! If this was in New York it would be ridiculously priced. The furniture in the room is SO NICE. Especially the velvet chair. The colour scheme was very art deco, think dark green and fuscia, but somehow it all made sense.

Best feature in the room: the shower--you can fit a party of 10 in here..i'm serious...it is massive...two shower heads and massage jets

The staff were really nice. I asked for an iron and he brought it up right away. I asked for tea, and they brought me hot water. If you drove here, there is a parking lot two minutes from the hotel. They give you a discount coupon if you're staying at the hotel but it is still 20$/night to park.

*side note: It was always bright in the morning, as the ceilings don't prevent the natural light from coming through so if you don't want to be woken up, cover your eyes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Roy, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place looked wonderful online and it lived up to our expectations. The rooms have a fun funky styling and the showers in the bathroom are very spacious and modern. The hotel is small so you feel like you're the only people staying there sometimes. The location is very attractive because you are in walking distance to many bars, restaurants, shops, and night clubs. There is also a Bixi bike rental kiosk right at the front door. We rented bikes one day to cruise down to Old Montreal. There is construction going on next door, it didn't bother me, but if you are a light sleeper, keep that in mind. The people at the front desk are very helpful in recommending food and activities and were always friendly. There are not many amenities at this hotel, so do not go there if you want a gym and pool, but if you just want a nice quiet place to stay in a central location, this hotel will work for you. The price was also attractive compared to other downtown hotels.

Room Tip: The suites facing the street on Drummond are very spacious with double showers and are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A really stylish hotel, nice big rooms and awesome bathroom. It has its very special flair and is totally different to standard hotels - simply a boutique hotel. The staff was very friendly and did not hesitate to explain the WHOLE city. As a veggie I did not know where to go for food, the lady showed me like 4 places for dinner.
breakfast is pretty good and french but don't be late! If you arrive at 9:50 it might be gone already (even if it says breakfast till 10).
PS: perfect location if you wanna party a lot and watch hockey! The Bell Center is like 300 m away and good pubs are just around the corner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There's a construction site just next to this hotel wall (another hotel) and it will be going till 2015. The very loud noise starts at 7am on the morning, and we even had some loading going at midnight. It was just terrible.
I guess the weekends still would be ok, but not the weekdays.

The room was pretty small, but still ok. A nice shower cabin, and comfortable bed.
No coffee nor fridge in the room, be aware!

The service was so-so, nothing special. We had only one bath robe in the room, reported it, nothing has happened. So they are definitely a laid-back people.

Parking - be aware of the parking site they suggest to you - it's a rip-off.
They count by days, not hours, so overnight stay will be charged as 2 days.
Also $4 hotel discount applies only once. Thus for 2 nights I've paid $41.
So I'd suggest to park just behind the hotel (outdoor) for $8 per day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I will definitely be back to this hip little gem! Very laid back and friendly staff who made check-in and check-out quick and painless, which was great. I had such a comfortable and restful sleep each night and the shower was the ultimate! Plus, the location was phenomenal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Chez Swan for business for 4 nights in May 2013. I enjoyed my stay, and strongly consider coming back!

Pros:
(1) Very cool decoration, in the room, and the entire hotel. The building seems old, but it is nicely decorated. From the inside, feels like newly constructed hotel.
(2) Friendly staff.
(3) Nice breakfast.
(4) In the middle of the Montreal downtown.
(5) Reasonably priced

Cons
(1) No (nice) view. If I keep the curtain shut, it's not fun to work in the room during the day.
(2) I think there is only one staff at the reception (+ house keeping staff). So if somebody else asks something time-consuming, you need to wait for a while to talk to the said staff.
(3) Maybe I am wrong, but if I remember correctly there was no safety box.
(4) It's probably adding hidden/cool flavor to the hotel, but since there is no clear sign or doorman, it took awhile to find the hotel. My cab driver didn't know the hotel...
(5) No fridge...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chez Swann 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chez Swann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.