We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, unique, boutique hotel in the middle of Montreal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chez Swann to your Saves list
Hotel Chez Swann
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Cool, unique, boutique hotel in the middle of Montreal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Chez Swan for business for 4 nights in May 2013. I enjoyed my stay, and strongly consider coming back!

Pros:
(1) Very cool decoration, in the room, and the entire hotel. The building seems old, but it is nicely decorated. From the inside, feels like newly constructed hotel.
(2) Friendly staff.
(3) Nice breakfast.
(4) In the middle of the Montreal downtown.
(5) Reasonably priced

Cons
(1) No (nice) view. If I keep the curtain shut, it's not fun to work in the room during the day.
(2) I think there is only one staff at the reception (+ house keeping staff). So if somebody else asks something time-consuming, you need to wait for a while to talk to the said staff.
(3) Maybe I am wrong, but if I remember correctly there was no safety box.
(4) It's probably adding hidden/cool flavor to the hotel, but since there is no clear sign or doorman, it took awhile to find the hotel. My cab driver didn't know the hotel...
(5) No fridge...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    79
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
163
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Montreal. Parking is just down the street and was quite reasonable for downtown parking. We had the demi-mondial room and it was very large and clean. Bathroom and showers were great. Breakfast was simple but fresh and good quality. We were on the 3rd floor and you need to know that in the morning the skylight lets in so much light that you might as well be sleeping without a roof over you. It didn't bother me but it woke my girlfriend up every morning.

Best thing about this hotel is the extremely polite and friendly staff. That includes the desk staff and also the cleaning staff. Everyone was very nice and just a delight to communicate with.

Would absolutely stay here again on my next trip to Montreal.

Room Tip: 3rd floor will have a skylight that lets in a lot of light in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice business boutique hotel well located downtown near all major stores. No minibar or fridge in room. All calls to anywhere in Canada and USA are included in hotel daily rate. Beware though that there is a very noisy building site alongside hotel which starts at 645 am during the week. Secondly hotel does not have parking facilities so you are advised to use a nearby parking garage. Minimum parking cost is $15 and usually is in excess of $20 overnight.

Room Tip: Try get room on opposite side to building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel provides good service (eg longer stay if no new customer comes), good beds and large rooms and showers (in junior suite). On a quiet day they could offer us sharp prices for several days. Nice poeple at the reception and ok breakfast (but that restaurant is not cheap for dinners). Be careful that they are building right behind the hotel (for a neighboring new hotel), so that can make loud noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was offered a junior suite for a very reasonable price. The hotel is located in the business shopping area, not my favorite but very central to subway station and bixies. The service is absolutely perfect and the room incl the showers where great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Montreal and were pleasantly surprised by the small, clean, chic, hotel perfectly located in the middle of the city. Chez Swan was freshly decorated, small (20 something rooms), quiet, and the rooms were quite large. The bathrooms were beautiful and the connecting restaurant was great. We did stay one night at another hotel with the same rating and although it was as beautiful and clean, it did not have the comfort, quiet, and cozyiness. This is where we will be staying when in Montreal for sure!!!

Room Tip: We did receive a discount due to staying three days or more which made it very affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!! We pride ourselves on our quiet comfortable rooms. We hope to have you back in Montreal soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have often been to those big chain hotels and pretty much knew what to expect. This is a small boutique style hotel which impressed me very much, it is totally different from those other hotels, the decor is really freaky, very artsy. I stayed there for our wedding anniversary and did not regret it at all, the staff is absolutely delightful, the location is central, could basically walk to everything, clubs, restaurants,movies, etc. Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's nice to know that our artsiness is to your liking and our location being extremely convenient for all your activities. Congratulations on your wedding once again. Thanks for making Hôtel Chez Swann and Montreal a part of your very special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chez Swann 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chez Swann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.