We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chez Swann to your Saves list
Hotel Chez Swann
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights on the second floor as a solo traveller visiting a friend in town. The room was an excellent size, the bed was enormous, the bathroom very spacious. The location is great for all downtown activities and close to the metro for connections anywhere in town. Reception was friendly when I checked in, but I didn't have much else interaction with them for the rest of my stay. In terms of downsides - could hear some 'activities' in other rooms and people walking in corridors (not a deal breaker); a bit of street noise (but I am used to this, as I live inner city, could be a problem for you if you need silence to sleep); the room could have benefited from another lamp (black floors with black furniture, etc a bit dark!). There were 3 steps in my room - I guess it was my fault but I hurt myself by slipping down the (lacquered) stairs in socks, so just watch out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    81
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
171
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back from a 1-night getaway in downtown Montreal. This hotel provides exactly what you would expect from a non-branded hotel. It is clean, comfortable and the staff is very helpful. It does not offer all the services of a Hilton resort but they don't claim to. It is a very funky boutique property in the heart of downtown Montreal. We had one of the larger suites on the third floor and it was very comfortable. Had a pleasant stay.

There are a number of pro's to the property:

- It's fun, different, funky and modern
- great location to get in some shopping, movie and dinner
- easy enough to park (no direct access to the hotel)
- Very comfortable bed and bathroom amenities - clean modern and large
- all the little extras are supplied - fancy soaps, bathrobe and slippers
- Hard wood floors are always nice!

There are are few small negatives/cons:

- The building is old and has been converted into a hotel; therefore, the insulation and soundproofing are not the best. You can hear other customers in the halls. Not a big deal. Being low to the ground and the street action, means that the weekends can be a little on the loud side. We did have fire engines scream by on a few occasions and there was quite a bit of horn honking at night. In their defence, it is Saturday in the city. I am usually very sensitive to this and it was not a major issue. I expected it going in.
- The heat was on high but never seemed to max out. This could be an issue in the heart of Winter. I can't say for sure. The bedding is very comfortable and they supply a great duvet to keep you toasty warm. Again, no real problem.

Go ahead, you'll have fun!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior view and away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My fiance and I just returned from Montreal, where we spent three nights at Hotel Chez Swann. The primary highlight of this hotel is how great the front desk staff are. On our first night the music from the restaurant downstairs was loud in our room so they changed our room, after asking the restaurant to lower the music to little avail. The next day the manager said he was going to speak with the restaurant, so hopefully that will not continue. Additionally, they had suggestions for restaurants and activities, and when my fiance became ill, they assisted with finding a nice clean hospital (he's fine now!). They were also genuinely concerned about him, and inquired about his health afterwards. I was very glad that we stayed at such a small place where the staff actually knew who we were, what room we were in, and what we needed.

The decor is funky, the double shower is a neat feature, although on one of the two we couldn't adjust the temperature control, the location is central and within two blocks of the metro, and although in our second room our window only looked into the foyer, the room was very quiet. Who goes to Montreal to look out the window anyway? We also enjoyed the breakfast each morning, which was a nice selection of fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt and juice. It was just right to get us going and allow us to enjoy the truly wonderful restaurants the city has to offer. A big thank you to the staff, they made our stay quite pleasant and enjoyable despite a day spent at Royal Victoria Hospital.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Maissoneuve have a little street noise, and as mentioned, we heard the music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It is a great compliment that you found our staff thoughtful and attentive - it is definitely one of the key advantages of a boutique hotel and we are happy we could be of assistance to you and your fiancé during your stay regarding different matters. We are also glad that you liked the room you had been moved to and we do hope to see you soon again at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, NL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel Chez Swann for a weekend getaway. We like to stay in different hotels everywhere we travel. We have not stayed in a " boutique " hotel before so we have nothing to compare it to. However, I'm still not sure how anyone could give this hotel a 5 star rating. Check in was quick and the staff were friendly, but when we arrived we were highly disappointed in the size of the room. It was very tiny, but we had no control over that considering we booked through hotels.com. We were in room 201, it is on the second floor. There was a lot of construction at the time so it was very noisy. There is also an air conditioning duct behind one of the walls that made loud rumbling noises our whole trip. We weren't completely aware of what a boutique hotel was until after it was booked. There are only about 23 rooms in this hotel, some of which are very small. There are no amenities like a regular hotel ( no mini bar, fridge, coffee maker, swimming pool, lounge, etc. ) There is a restaurant next door, but we didn't bother trying it. It is in a good location, very close to St. Catherine street but we will not stay at this hotel again or another boutique for that matter. It's definitely not our style.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your first experience in a Boutique hotel was unsatisfactory. We do welcome any of our guests' questions or inquiries so if you aren't sure about features or services in the hotel you may call the Front Desk at any time before or after reserving through your agent. The size of the rooms in the hotel differs according to a person's needs as well as the purpose of their stay. We are truly sorry about the construction noise, unfortunately we do not get a notice if there is work to be done in our area and we regret that it disrupted your stay. As for the air-conditioning, we understand that the noise may be uncomfortable and we try our best to resolve any complaint that is brought to our attention during your stay to make our guests more comfortable. As Hotel Chez Swann is still considerably young, about 2 years, we are still working on improving the room amenities such as mini-bar fridge, coffee maker and others. We offer the services of our French Brasserie le Pois Penché and its lovely bar for the lounge purposes, we hope that even if you don't wish to return to the hotel you may still try their cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in The Swann in November, for one night. From the minute we walked into the lobby, we knew this hotel was going to be different from anything we've experienced before. The entrance itself is very unpretentious, the lighting is subdued, the furniture is minimal and the front desk is made out of tree trunks. It's really different.
We had a wonderful room with very large windows looking out onto Rue Drummond. One of the windows had a window seat that had to be about 7 feet long. It was really amazing! The decor in the room is also minimal, but it has everything you would need...flat screen t.v., ipod dock, desk, reading chair, great bed with nice linens and comfy pillows. The bathroom is great and the double shower was really nice! Everything is very up to date in terms of high tech amenities.
You can tell that this is a newer hotel.
You really can't beat the location of this hotel. It is right downtown and Montreal is an incredible walking city, so this puts you right in the middle of everything. You are close to great shopping, great restaurants and many museums.
It's a great starting point!
If you stay in the room that we stayed in or any room facing Drummond, I'm sure you will be very happy with your decision.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209 and I would highly recommend this room. The huge windows look out onto Drummo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are very content that you found the room visually pleasant and that it suited all your needs. All our Suites (Mondaine) have the same features and amenities but their location in the hotel is slightly different and if you would rather not have the steps that separate the living area from the bathroom you may advise us upon reserving and we will gladly advise you a Suite that will not have any. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Be careful, many rooms do not have a window. There is glas with an idea of daylight, but is not to open. and durig the night, you see blue light comming in from the hall. You can get depressiv there .-(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are disheartened that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Our front desk staff will consider all guest requests. If you have a preference for a room with a window that outlooks to the street we will do our best to accommodate your need. In any case, we will relocate you to another room if the availability allows it. You can also mention this upon making a reservation so we can note your request. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel this! It is a visual delight. We have never stayed in a hotel that has such whimsical and quaint touches. The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Madeleine went out of her way trying to find a doctor for a medical emergency. When the problem was resolved, we returned to our room to find a box of chocolates and a note wishing us better days ahead .... what a lovely and thoughtful touch. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants something other than a boring, predictable hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear the words you use to describe our hotel. Working in a intimate hotel means a lot to our staff : they get time to help each of our guests, and sometimes the chance to know them better. For us, this finds its meaning in the privilege of meeting new people every day... that we especially wish to see again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chez Swann 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chez Swann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.