We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from them!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Montreal Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Montreal Centre to your Saves list
Travelodge Montreal Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rene Levesque Blvd West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1A2, Canada (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from them!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was on business trip, booked this hotel and got a confirmation (!) with guarantee for late arrival (!). Upon arrival (~ 10pm after a long working day) I was surprised to hear that they have cancelled my reservation motivating that they had issue with billing my credit card (see above "confirmation") and I didn't show up until 6pm (see above "late check-in guarantee).
It worth mentioning that it was shortly before the Gran Prix and all hotels in Montreal were full! After long and process of trying to find an alternative stay they offered me a room that was booked by someone who didn't show up (~ 11pm). A 4-bunk-bed tiny room for same price as the double-bed that I booked! But I was not in position to argue at that moment in absence of any other solution.
Tiny room, stinky carpets, non-opening windows and an old air conditioner with broken panel, non-functional coffee-machine, barely functioning tv (noisy picture), a tiny bathroom and shower, hard bed, slim pillow, uneatable breakfast.
On the positive side - reasonable wifi and a helpful lady at reception who at was helping to resolve the problem (that someone else from the hotel staff has created).
Bottom line: overrated low quality unreliable place that you better stay away from!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room in this hotel - choose another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    187
    236
    122
    137
See reviews for
138
192
87
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is very well located, and that's probably its main "advantage". The price is a bit lower than the average around that area, which can make it an interesting option if you are looking to save few bucks here and there. Parking is not included in the price. They offer complimentary breakfast, which is not fancy but good enough to get the day started (bread, croissants, juice, milk, coffee, cereal, etc).
The rooms are clean, but very small. The staff is friendly and very helpful.
Again, location is a very good point in favour of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice quiet, modern, clean hotel in the heart of Montreal. Good soundproofing, comfortable beds, flat screen TVs...coffee in room...good wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine N, General Manager at Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that your expectations were met. However also to note that the hotel will undergo renovations in the near future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Attending a two week conference at the center of Montreal is accompanied with a challenge to find a budget hotel with decent amenities. It became even a greater challenge if the wife is with you and is snow storming outside. But I got travelodge hotel with ease and a welcoming staff under the inspiration of very able manager. You immediately feel at home. I recommend the suite room at the mezzanine. This is my fourth time to be there and wish to recommend improving the breakfast menu. In sum, its a great place with good price.

Room Tip: Get the suite room if you wish to cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Staff pleasant and bilingual, hotel lobby clean and inviting. Booked a Twin room to stay with a friend for one night pending a flight next day. The room on the 4th floor we were given reaked of cigarette smoke quite badly, phoned down to the desk and received a room with same dimensions on the 6th floor, room 610. This room smelled only slightly better and had several cigarette burns on the rug. Other than cigarette smell and rug burns the room was OK, small, kind of reminded me of a dormitory with two twin beds situated head to head, not side to side. The bathroom was fine and clean. Room came with wi-fi, coffee maker and television and yes a smoke detector (wonder if it works) .............The hotel is in a great location with old Montreal and China town to one direction and downtown main street Rue St. Catherine the other direction. Bus to airport is nearby plus taxi service is readily available. Metro is also close by.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker and or allergic to smoke, ask to see and smell the room before you accept it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Plus other oddities in another room like the smell of a gym locker somehow emanating from the carpets after I had taken a shower. The tiny size of the rooms coupled with odd odour issues in the second room after it had been occupied for no more than a few hours by a me that had taken a shower upon entering the room made the overall experience of staying there very frustrating.The rates were higher by about 20 bucks than I had previously paid there in the past due to the season approaching June which blighted things a bit...couple that to people loudly checking in very late and you have a place you don't want to be in. The staff were beyond friendly but that didn't make me want to stick around any longer than what was absolutely necessary.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Montreal Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Montreal Centre

Address: 50 Rene Levesque Blvd West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Chinatown , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Montreal Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Montreal Center is located in the heart of the downtown area, and and just steps away from: Place des Arts Complexe, Desjardins shopping mall, Quartier des Spectacles, Chinatown, Quartier international (business district), Convention center, Old Montreal Restaurants and boutiques in Saint Laurent boulevard and St Catherine street, BIXI network (self-serve bicycle service), Place des Arts, Metro station. Easy access to highways. The hotel features 244 small European styles rooms but clean to perfection. We offer free continental buffet breakfast and WIFI. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Our front desk staff is on hand around the clock to help you get the most out of your Montreal vacation. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Montreal Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Montreal Centre Hotel Montreal
Montreal Travelodge
Montreal Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Montreal Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.