We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What way to start you day in Old Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar

Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar
210 Notre Dame West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1T3, Canada
+1 514-284-8998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,413 restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Café, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cornwall, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What way to start you day in Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites and opted out of the "FREE" breakfast (that is a whole other review in itself and not even close in coloured circles) in favour of trying Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar. It is very conveniently located on Notre Dame close to all the action. The staff (all family when we were there) were beyond friendly and accommodating. The sunny space allows you to enjoy your scrumptious cappuccinos and croissants whilst listening to the constant clip clop of the passing caleche rides. The croissants brought me back to a long ago trip to Paris and the many patisseries along the way, yes they were that good. The cappuccinos hugged your upper lip with every decadent sip of the perfectly frothed milk and masterfully brewed espresso. This is a must for anyone in Montreal or visiting the old port for the day. We liked it so much we went back for lunch the same day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    88
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best sandwiches ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This restaurant took us by surprise. All we wanted was some coffee and a bite. We got really fantastic sandwiches.
When you go there look on one of the tables for the cook book of the owner, a very lovely lady by the name of Marie-Chantal Lepage.
After tasting her food and browsing through the book, I can honestly recommend that place. Fabulous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Limited menu, simple food, but exactly what you expect in a cafe. The sandwiches are fresh and flavorful. The croissants are the best I've had this side of the pond. The coffee is amazing. Definitely worth a visit if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jem in toursit trap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My mom and I were ravenous walking around Old Montreal around lunch time, and we could not find the right place to eat. We had in mind a nice café, which is hard to find in a place where all the restaurants cater to tourist. After an hour search we wander into this café, and thank goodness! The owner was nice and friendly, and helped us order exactly what we wanted. We both ordered a chicken and swiss panini. The owner informed us that the chicken is over roasted fresh daily, and he was very proud of all of his fresh ingredients. The sandwiches were tasty, and the bread was amazing. The vegetables on the salad were marinated in olive oil, and really set the salad apart from a typical mixed green salad. I want to go back and try their coffee and pastries because they looked amazing as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very small, but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

It is a very small coffee/sandwich shop. The food was good. We had a hot sandwich and pasta salad. The servers were very friendly and made our first stop in Montreal a good one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.