We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar

Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar
210 Notre Dame West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1T3, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
+1 514-284-8998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 4,419 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Popular Espresso Bar, freshly baked croissants, viennoiseries and Breakfast egg sandwiches. Specialty coffees all day with a great selection of Panini and salad combos for lunch.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at a nearby 5* hotel but took breakfast here every morning. Easily the best coffee in Montreal; proper espresso and capuccino, not the usual american style brew muddy water stuff. Pastries are good too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    33
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“One of those places you always remember!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The decor of the coffee bar itself is fairly common. However the staff livens the place up and makes the place feel warm and welcomes you into the place like you are an old friend. I wanted to try local Quebec maple syrup and the owner went out of his way to make it happen! The croissants were flaky like the ones you get in Paris. All of us enjoyed the food and time spent before our departure back to the states. When I left I felt like I left an old friend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The owner is very friendly...makes even us tourists feel very welcome. Food is delicious and well priced. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and i arrived in Montreal just in time for lunch. We had lanned to go here for lunch on our irst day in Montreal based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. We are greeted with huge smiles from he staff and owner. My wife ordered a chicken pesto sandwhich and i ordered the proscutto with cheese. The bread is what makes these sandwiches so good. I finished with a capuccino which was also excellent. A must stop for a great lunch at a great price. I will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A haven amongst tourist traps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good, reasonably priced food. Great service. I picked it because it looked more like a place that served local office workers rather than tourists. Had a great caffe macchiato, asked for no foam (why do the Quebecois put foam on their macchiatos?) and the delivered. I had a second I liked the first so much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.