We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected AT ALL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal, CANADA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not what we expected AT ALL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

The pictures of the hotel on the website are nothing alike of what the actual hotel is itself. The descriptions of the hotel were so much nicer than the actual hotel when we arrived. The location is also not so good if you want to be around the main part of the action which is on ST. CATHERINE STREET, it was about 1 block walk, and it was horrible for going out to bars and clubs at night when we would have to walk back.
The rooms had a horrible odor, there was ugly carpeting, and we didnt expect the rooms to look like this at all.

If you want a good hotel to be around the action, stay at NOUVEL HOTEL, or BEST WESTERN EUROPA..we found them to be the best, and in the best area's!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    138
    140
    68
    54
See reviews for
85
139
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tourist
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We make reservation on the hotel's website and got the old room. We were told only 2 floors had been renovated. The carpet was very very dirty and there was hair on the bathroom sink and floor. The toilet wasn't flushed. The mattress is old---its springs are worn out. The bedsheets seem to be clean though.

The location is convenient, very close to St. Catherine. There is free wireless connection in the room and a free computer with internet access. The hotel staff is generally nice. And KUDOS to LUCIO for his fantastic service. He is very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel was very nice located close to Catherine street but far from Old Montreal if you like to walk.
One morning we woke up to find what looked like a tick or bed bug in our room. They quickly took care of the problem and issued us another room and helped us move our things. Very accomidating to say the least . Very nice rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hi, there are a few things you have to know about this hotel before booking. It's located in a very good location of Montreal; close to everything e.g. Subway, st. Catherine street. We stayed here for 7 nights. I'm sure that you might probably heard about the bad things of this hotel but i really like to make it clear.

1. If you would like a room, make sure it's on the 4th floor cuz it's a whole new renovated floor. The rooms are all wooden-floor, new beds, new sheets, new paint, etc.
2. The rates for the rooms are cheaper in weekdays like regular hotels. But they could be
high in weekends especially in summer.

These are two things we found out about this hotel and we hope all people reading this review would be pleasant and satisfactory staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Free espresso shots at the concierge. Nice clean renovated rooms on the 4th floor, (aka the corporate floor). Avoid rooms booked in the 5th or 6th floor b/c they haven't been renovated and smell musty and moldy. Hotel close distance to Rue Crescent but far from the other neighborhoods unless you are taking a car or bike. Book on expedia for best deals.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed for two nights. The hotel has a fantastic location. Within a short 5 - 10 minutes walk there are lots of good quality restaurants and shops. We were extremely happy with the location.

I was not happy with their room decor. It has a 70's look to it. I think our hotel room can use a little updating, but it seems there is an upgading process in effect. All the same the room was well equied, spacious and included a computer.

Overall, the hotel offers a fantastic location, good services but only average decor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

A friend of mine came into Montreal and booked his room at Hotel Espresso. Since we had to leave early in the morning for our road trip, I decided to spend the night (he booked a room with two beds). I was pleasantly surprised with the room. The room was recently renovated with all the modern amenities. Great downtown location and easy access to major highways. He got a good rate by booking directly with the hotel. Staff was courteous and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Address: 1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown is located in the heart of the city, 3 blocks from the Bell Centre, a few steps away from the lovely cafés and boutiques of Crescent street, Ste-Catherine and from Old-Montreal. The Hotel offers a warm hospitality in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and many other services that you will enjoy during your stay.Our features & services description:• 205 rooms / suites - 75% with Laminated flooring• Rooms with soy based eco-foam mattresses• All rooms and suites equipped with a FREE in-room computer and High-speed Internet access (FREE)• Restaurant / Bar (200 seats)• Meeting and banquet rooms (10 to 200 persons)• Club Physique spa• Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal / weather permitting)• Sauna• Fitness centre• Gift shop• Enterprise rental car office($)• Indoor parking ($) & car wash ($)• room service (7 AM to 10 PM)• Business center• Tour desk / reception (24 hrs)• Dry cleaning service ($) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.