We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambrose to your Saves list
Hotel Ambrose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I love the location of this hotel, quiet and central. My room was very spacious and clean.The breakfast area in the basement is a bit disappointing, but I am pleasantly surprised by the the bagel and smoked salmon, maybe it is holiday special....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    66
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
61
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Like the other reviewers mention, this is a truly no frills hotel. It looks like it hasn't been updated in a while, but the room was adequately comfortable. Also like other reviewers mentioned, the breakfast was truly barebones, and could be improved.

However, the location of the hotel is exceptional, and considering the price, it presented an excellent value. We were literally in the heart of downtown, and everything was easily accessible. There seems to be a new policy on Wifi, as it was free for us.

I easily recommend this little hotel purely for it's value. Staff were extremely helpful and kind. Would come again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We recently changed ownership of the hotel, and the new team is working hard to improve the hotel, including the breakfast. We hope to have the chance to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here recently mostly because of the location--although there are so many hotels nearby that you can take your pick where to stay. My biggest disappointment was the mattress quality and the flat, pancake pillows. Please hoteliers--recognize how important the bed is! Forget the multiple bottles of shampoo and the vanity kits--invest in good mattresses and/or replace them regularly. The room was quite small which I can live with, the walk up three steep, narrow, flights of stairs carrying a suitcase, I can take, the bathroom--well, the shower door was off its' track, and the drain cap not tight meaning you could sprain an ankle quickly if not paying attention, I can take--but not sleeping on a soft, lumpy mattress with a flat pillow, I cannot. Also, if staying here--for your own good, place a rolled up towel at the bottom of the door to drown out noises--there is a gap and you hear everyone coming up the stairs and opening/closing doors.
For comparison, we recently stayed (two weeks ago) at Hotel Jazz St. Denis for $71.00 less a nite--while the hostel was not quite as clean--the room was bigger, and the bed much, much nicer! Oh, and we did have to bring our own shampoo :).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments on Manoir Ambrose. The hotel recently changed ownership, and the new team is taking all reviews and comments, whether new or old, very seriously. If it is possible, please let us know in which room you had stayed. Some mattresses have since been changed, and we would like to make sure your room was one that was serviced. We hope that you give us another chance whenever you visit Montreal again, and am sure you will find the bed issue addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

After a long flight we 3 (my husband, my 5-year daughter and I) arrived the hotel and were told the room is not ready though we had booked/paid online already. You can't imagine how small/old the room is. almost no space to turn around. no any noise provention. it is a B&B but the breadfast was so poor and their staff seem hate you to take any of them. most of staff in front desk are friendly except one handsome guy who treat people English/French speaking so differently. Toni (lovely lady working as front desk) is the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Every comment is helpful for us to improve the quality of our guests stay. We have recently improved the breakfast to something unique, and we are sure that you would not be disappointed by it again. Our housekeepers work hard to make sure every room is ready when the guests arrive, and in rare circumstances, such as yours, they were unable complete the work by the guests arrival time. We work hard to make sure this exception is never the rule.

Your comments are noted nonetheless, and future changes will be made with your comments in mind. We hope you would consider us again, and am hopeful that you will not leave disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My colleague had stayed here a year or so ago. Since then it looks like it has really gone downhill and presumably there was a fire next door as it is all boarded up. The website touts wireless internet but there was a fee and the service was terrible as it kept dropping.

The room was clean but dark as it was on the ground floor and surrounded by tall buildings which blocked the light. Staff were surly and not very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Each and every comment is helpful to us, as they are the guide which we improve on. We are under a new management team, and one of the first things changed was to make wireless a complimentary service. The quality of service has since been improved as well.
We pride ourselves with professional, kind and helpful staff, and take comments on our service especially seriously. They are noted, and we are working to make sure your experience is never replicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, BC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We booked this hotel (5 rooms) in April for $120 per night prior to the official announcement of the Montrel F1 races. After the announcement by F1 for the go ahead they informed us the room rate is $400 per night. We cancelled obviously.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 22 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. On top of that, we strive to make your stay here as value friendly as possible, offering free amenities: Continental Breakfast, WiFi Internet, Cable TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.