We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel, just outside city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambrose to your Saves list
Hotel Ambrose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel, just outside city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It is easy to find, in terms of location it is just outside the main downtown area of the city. One block from the Peel metro station, and a few blocks down from the Peel walking entrance to go up Mont Royal. There is also a private parking garage one block away for a reasonable rate. The complimentary breakfast was nice, muffins, croissants, cereal, toast, coffee, and juices, just what you would expect. The room was neat and the bathroom was clean, nothing fancy, but just what you need for visiting. One thing to mention is that when people were walking by in the hallway, it was a bit noisy, but we didnt have any problems at night, so it wasn't a bit issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    66
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
61
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Everyone at the front desk is wonderful but we got the most help from Francios-Xavier because he seems to always be there. He was patient, multi lingual, responsive and sincere--a real nice guy. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in. The room itself could use some caulk and touch up paint but if that was really important I could have paid 3 times as much at the Sofitel at the end of the block. The location is a few blocks from Peel metro, McGill University, Mount Royal, Musee des Beaux Arts, great dining, Hurleys Irish bar, and some 24-hour fast food. The airport bus, the 747, is walkable as well at about 7 blocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Ambrose two nights, and had to check in and out at absurdly early times (5am). The staff accommodated me without a problem. The room was lovely; I went with the economy room, so it was small, with a single bed, but lacked none of the amenities that would come with a larger room - huge flat screen tv, very nice private bathroom & shower, desk, reading lamp, sky light etc. The bed was nice, and everything was clean with excellent presentation. In the hotel, there's also a beautiful dining room right next to the entrance with an extensive continental breakfast. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, so when I had to accommodate some guests for an event taking place in Montreal, I reserved the entire hotel ! Not only it is very well located, in the heart of Montreal, but also the personal was really nice, helpful and professional.

The rooms are clean, comfortable with an old world charm ! The price is also very attractive. All the guests, more than 20, were really really happy... I would highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in room 11 on the night of 3rd Oct enroute to New York on Amtrak. Huge comfortable room, clean and quiet, adequate breakfast. We walked to the station on the morning of the 4th in about 15 minutes, suitcases on tow. Friendly staff. Not the Ritz but a nice good value hotel.Bonus was we walked to a place called "Joe's Panini" for tea (supper), well worth the walk.

Room Tip: Try for a ground floor room out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stay there yesterday,
Overall its a good hotel mostly if you take the superior room (private bathroom with even little stairs kinda cute).Really beautifull room with some stuff on the wall from the origin of the building.It was clean and well set.

In the room i was,i didnt have to climb the stairway and even if you need to do that its not so hard.The staff are helpful and friendly,but the guy at the reception had a bit difficulty speaking french but that's allright (i dont care really) i think he was new so i speaked english.The location is great near to subway station and the redpath museum.

The only thing i could say is that in the bathroom when you open the light the sound of the fan can break the ambiance.So if you want to take romantic trip so idk maybe find candle or thing like thats.The hotel should have light with control set (but in other way its not a big deal).

Breakfast is good,eggs bread yogurt orange juice good coffee etc...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Convenient location, extremely nice, helpful staff. Very quiet, even though Rue Stanley is only half a block from busy, noisy streets. Property is two conjoined, converted houses. Rooms are slightly seedy, not high quality renovation, ugly furniture. Bathroom and sheets/pillowcases are clean, but top quilt and pillow shams on both my visits smelled like they had not been washed for quite a while. No elevator and no porters, but desk staff were kind enough to carry my heavy suitcase up and down the stairs for me. For the price, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 22 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. On top of that, we strive to make your stay here as value friendly as possible, offering free amenities: Continental Breakfast, WiFi Internet, Cable TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.