We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice location, outstanding service !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ambrose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambrose
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, nice location, outstanding service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, so when I had to accommodate some guests for an event taking place in Montreal, I reserved the entire hotel ! Not only it is very well located, in the heart of Montreal, but also the personal was really nice, helpful and professional.

The rooms are clean, comfortable with an old world charm ! The price is also very attractive. All the guests, more than 20, were really really happy... I would highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
57
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in room 11 on the night of 3rd Oct enroute to New York on Amtrak. Huge comfortable room, clean and quiet, adequate breakfast. We walked to the station on the morning of the 4th in about 15 minutes, suitcases on tow. Friendly staff. Not the Ritz but a nice good value hotel.Bonus was we walked to a place called "Joe's Panini" for tea (supper), well worth the walk.

Room Tip: Try for a ground floor room out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stay there yesterday,
Overall its a good hotel mostly if you take the superior room (private bathroom with even little stairs kinda cute).Really beautifull room with some stuff on the wall from the origin of the building.It was clean and well set.

In the room i was,i didnt have to climb the stairway and even if you need to do that its not so hard.The staff are helpful and friendly,but the guy at the reception had a bit difficulty speaking french but that's allright (i dont care really) i think he was new so i speaked english.The location is great near to subway station and the redpath museum.

The only thing i could say is that in the bathroom when you open the light the sound of the fan can break the ambiance.So if you want to take romantic trip so idk maybe find candle or thing like thats.The hotel should have light with control set (but in other way its not a big deal).

Breakfast is good,eggs bread yogurt orange juice good coffee etc...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Convenient location, extremely nice, helpful staff. Very quiet, even though Rue Stanley is only half a block from busy, noisy streets. Property is two conjoined, converted houses. Rooms are slightly seedy, not high quality renovation, ugly furniture. Bathroom and sheets/pillowcases are clean, but top quilt and pillow shams on both my visits smelled like they had not been washed for quite a while. No elevator and no porters, but desk staff were kind enough to carry my heavy suitcase up and down the stairs for me. For the price, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was asked to research boutique hotels in Montreal and decided on this hotel due to location of our meeting. It was a very good choice. 12 foot ceilings, clean and oh so quiet. I had the feeling I was there by myself at night although there were other guests. Loved the location. I like to photograph old buildings and this was perfect location-wise. Hope to come back trip or next personal trip.

Room Tip: No pool, the system wouldn't let me deselect. There weren't any elevators so if you have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Realy nice old building within 10 minutes of Bell center and only 5 minutes from St-Catherine. A few trees at the front realy complete this older residence. Nice room with realy high ceilings (perfect for basketball players lollll) We enjoyed the continental breakfast and the freindly employees of the hotel. Reserve your parking when you book.

Room Tip: Book a room by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great location, 2 blocks from the Peel Metro station provides easy access to Old Montreal and everything else. Nice continental breakfast, friendly service. We had a 3rd floor room - including the front step it was 58 stairs to our room, most up a small spiral staircase, pretty tough some days. My only beef was little tiny ants in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Try to get 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 22 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. On top of that, we strive to make your stay here as value friendly as possible, offering free amenities: Continental Breakfast, WiFi Internet, Cable TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.