We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is ideal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Armor Manoir Sherbrooke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Armor Manoir Sherbrooke to your Saves list
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
157 rue Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1C7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location is ideal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

While the location is ideal and what prompted me to book this hotel, the service left something to be desired. The room was cold without any heating in March... when we asked the front desk for a space heater we were told they only had one and it was given to another guest :( it was a cold night!
The other awkward thing was that the only room with 2 beds has a private bathroom but it's outside across the hall... on the main floor... not great when exiting after a shower... but this is the only room like this. For 3 people it was the only option.

Overall the location was close to everything 'Montreal' and while it was a little too expensive for the room you got, it was worth it to be able to walk to where ever and not worry about driving after drinks

It is a lovely historic building with a lot of charm but could use a little TLC and a smile

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annick M, Manager at Armor Manoir Sherbrooke, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Good evening, thank you for your post!
Your comments are taken into consideration and we will do our best to improve the quality of our services and the availibility of space heaters. We are happy that you enjoyed the historical charms of our venue. We hope to have you again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
40
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

- Within walking distance from the old city and Mont Royal.
- Friendly staff
- Has a certain charm being full of antiquities.
- worn-out carpets, crooked floor, scratched walls and doors
- Small but clean room and bathroom.
- (very) minimal breakfast.
- Be aware, your booking might not include taxes (add ~18%)
- Take in consideration 20$/day for the underground parking - 3 blocks away

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annick M, Manager at Armor Manoir Sherbrooke, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Good evening Mihai. Thank you for your post. The hotel is a century old building and the century topic is part of the experience we want to promote in the hotel. We have made lots of renovations since the acquisition and will surely do some more this year. I hope you enjoyed your stay and the point about taxes, everything in quebec are post up before taxes. I know sometimes its frustrating when yoy are not familiar but for us it is daily practice. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful week at Armor Manoir Sherbrooke. It is a quaint, pretty hotel, within walking distance of many of the best places in Montreal, We walked to Old Montreal and the port area, up and down St Laurent, Saint Denis, through the Latin quarter, hiked through Parc Mont Royal. There are so many restaurants, shops, and all sorts of attractions, so close by. The hotel staff were helpful and very nice. It is not the hotel for you if you are looking for a swimming pool, spa, and lots of amenities. It is a wonderful place to stay if you value a traditional, small hotel, where you will get to know the staff, and enjoy feeling like you are part of the family. I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We based our booking on guest reviews but found that our experience was similar to only one of the recent reviews. Here are our experiences: parking unlike we were led to believe was a distance away. The entrance has an old charm but the room itself was disappointing. The bed was extremely uncomfortable leaving me sleepless for the duration of the trip. The carpeting looked dated and was dusty. Breakfast had nothing nourishing, mostly stale baked goods - croissants, bagels and mini danishes. The positives: the staff are friendly and the loation itself is in close proximity to restaurants and points of interest. Overall value not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Reasonably priced older hotel near St Denis of Montreal - we stayed in a double queen room on the first floor of what must have once been a gorgeous house. Our bath was private but outside our room. To enter our room and the bath, we needed a key, as well as to close it (from the outside). I did not find the bed comfortable and found the room noisy both as I was falling asleep (around midnight) and as early as 7am. This has old world European charm to it - not sure I'd stay here again, since I'm used to paying about $30 more/night and staying in more modern accommodations like the Sheraton in Centre-ville or the Hilton Garden Inn, neither of which had vacancy. Small continental breakfast in the morning in the basement dining area which consisted of coffee, orange juice, make-yourself toast and/or croissants and small slices of watermelon, which ran out by the time I got to help myself. One of my children described this place as the house where the Addams Family (TV show) may have lived in - not sure if that is a positive or negative description of the place. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our second visit to this reasonably priced hotel/guest house on Sherbrooke east, close to St Laurent and St Denis areas of Montreal.
Room had been well decorated since our last visit 9 years ago but bathroom was tired and could have been updated.
We knew what the breakfast was like which is simple but we always had plenty of coffee, toast, bagels and fresh fruit /juice so we were well pleased.
Lady on desk remembered us from before and was really friendly like all the staff, helpful as to local restaurants to try.

Room Tip: Try to get room to side street, there wont be a view but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not far from China town and the old town, central to walk on the other side of the city in direction of "Le Plateau". Many restaurants not far. I had a nice3 days
Very nice welcoming including good advices for visiting the town. Belingual french and english...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik682, Manager at Armor Manoir Sherbrooke, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your post. It as been a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Armor Manoir Sherbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armor Manoir Sherbrooke

Address: 157 rue Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Armor Manoir Sherbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armor Manoir Sherbrooke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.