We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was in complete awe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Notre-Dame Basilica

Notre-Dame Basilica
110 Notre-Dame Street West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1T2, Canada
514-842-2925
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$11*
and up
Walking Tour of Old Montreal or Downtown Montreal
Ranked #1 of 202 Attractions in Montreal
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's oldest Catholic church, built in 1656, is known for its intricately designed interior, which includes stained glass chronicling the history of the city.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I was in complete awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This church is the most beautiful one I have ever seen. It costs $5 to get in, and it is so worth it. We took the guided tour (I suggest everyone do this as it is so informative). Everywhere I looked there was beauty. From the 10,000 pipe organ (which you only see the first row), to the beautifully crafted staircases and of course the front display.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,828
    1,069
    203
    48
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A christmas delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I would highly recommend visiting around christmas as the lights decorating this cathedral are spectacular.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the admission price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This church is spectacular more so from the inside, It is well worth the admission cost (5$ when I was there). When I visited it was a sunny afternoon and the glasswork came to life. If you visit one church during your Montreal vist, make it this one,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not quite like Paris.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were fortunate to see Notre Dame in Paris this summer, but on numerous trips to Montreal, had never seen our more "local" Notre Dame. It is worth a visit. A truly beautiful church with extensive carvings, stained glass and history. Easy to reach via Metro, and then fun to walk around Old Montreal. Take the time to visit while in the City.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Historical Cathedral modeled after the one in Paris. Grab brochure in rear of church for historic facts or go along with tour guide.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre-Dame Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Notre-Dame Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notre-Dame Basilica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.