We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week vacation to Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins

Save Saved
You added Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
1401 Argyle, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Victoria B.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Week vacation to Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just returned from a 6 night stay here and we enjoyed our stay here. We were in the building next to the main building with the reception and dining area. We were on the top floor and although it means taking your luggage up and down the stairs you are only doing it twice and we didn't find it an issue. It was hot and humid in Montreal and the airconditioned room was a necessity. The room had an ensuite bathroom with large tub...we are in our mid 50's, if I was older or had limited range of motion I would see if you can get a room that doesn't have such a deep tub. I loved the decor of the room, bright and funky. Don't let the train track across the road deter you, you can only see it slightly from the top floor and I don't believe it runs at night as we never heard it. Six in the morning approximately but definitely not an issue. The breakfast offered is nice and simple, small entree of waffle or french toast and then main offerings are eggs, ie scrambled, omelets and fruit. Cereals and breads are also there. The staff in the dining room were very pleasant and attentive as was the front desk. Big plus in our opinion was the metro being right down the street just steps away. We used passes all week and with the heat it was nice to not have to walk to get to the metro. All in all we enjoyed our stay and Petit Auberge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    60
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
108
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a great long weekend at this B&B. Booked it through a third-party website that messed our reservations up so we got a free upgrade to a luxury suite. Very nice surprise. Staff was pleasant and friendly. The weather unfortunately was AWFUL when we visited but we didn't mind staying in so much because our suite was so cozy and comfortable. The decorations and furniture are tasteful and inviting. Not generic or tacky at all. Breakfast was good and homemade in the morning. Nothing crazy but your standard cereals, toast, eggs, bacon, OJ, etc. There is also parking behind the hotel for $12 a night which is well worth it. So besides the fact the staff is nice, the hotel is quaint and charming, the rooms are super comfy, and there's breakfast/parking, the BEST part of this hotel is it's proximity to the subway station. It is literally a 30 second walk from the door. It made all the neighborhoods, attractions and restaurants in Montreal totally accessible and was comforting at night to know we didn't have to walk far in the dark after an exhausting day. Also, the neighborhood was very quiet and felt pretty safe. It's right by what I'm assuming their financial district is so there are a lot of nice restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Spring for the comfort or luxury rooms! It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This clean and artsy B and B (or Inn) is conveniently placed downtown and easily accessible by public transport. They do have car parking spaces but there is a charge. The metro is 50m away and I would advise you buy a STM card for $9 if coming in to the airport. The bus stop at Concordia and the YWCA is 150 m from the inn. The ticket can then be used for metro or bus services up to 24 hours from purchase. Buy your ticket from the arrivals level service desk or the vending machine next to the exit. I agree there are a few street people around the area but no more than at other downtown metro or subway locations. I believe the area is safe.
My basement room was very large and rather fun and wacky in its decor The main room had a jacuzzi tub in it and then there was an en suite shower and toilet. The only drawback was noise as it faced the street.
The breakfast room was upstairs and the bilingual staff were friendly and efficient. As all the guests eat in this rather small area they do offer a breakfast plate for your room. The food was tasty and well presented. Waffles, bagels, cereal and various omelettes to follow with a side of fruits.
I enjoyed my stay here and will return if I need accommodation in Montreal.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms in house 1401 as there is noise from guests in the breakfast room above and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was a trip that I made with my boyfriend to celebrate our two years togheter. We are from Montreal so was very convenient that the metro was right at the door. I was reading the reviews to decide wether to go or not and they all seemed pretty positive. After our amazing weekend there, I promised to myself i would write a review on it to help other couples decide on it :)
We had the Suite 601 at 1387 rue Argyle. From the pictures it looked nice, but in real ITS EVEN BETTER! I promise this was so cossy, cute and romantic. There is an HD Tv on the wall that you can rotate to watch it from different locations. The bathtub is pretty confortable and the bed is too. For the breakfast, we did not want to wake up at 8am to get breakfast so they told us that it was possible to have breakfast delivred to us in our room. HOW AMAZING IS THAT!? we obviously took advantage of it and ordered omelette, bacon, bread, french toast, orange juice, eggss, fruits and tea. Was DELICIOUS!

The only down side is that it is true the appartments are not well isolated. We were watching a movie and the people upstairs came to knock at our door that they could hear it like they were in the same room. So had to turn it pretty low.

Other than that the owners are very nice and polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Quirky decor, clean and comfortable rooms (great beds!), good breakfast, and lovely wait staff. The immediate neighborhood isn't particularly nice, but felt safe and it's very convenient to public transportation and a nice selection of restaurants. They recorded my reservation for the week I made it instead of when I booked, so I had to change rooms part way through. But they were apologetic and rooms were an upgrade to deluxe quites at the original price, which was nice. (Might be a good idea to confirm your reservation if you book a long time in advance.) Suite 605 is spacious and comfortable and has a huge bathroom with whirlpool bath. The kitchenette is a nice plus, but the sink is almost 5' high, so not a place to wash dishes! Suite 601 is similarly large and comfortable. (Note that the jacuzzi is in the living area rather than the bathroom.) Both rooms could use more light.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A friend and I had the pleasure of spending one night at this B&B on a quick midweek vacation trip to Montreal. It was our first time in the city and we selected Les Bons Matins based on its excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. The inn is lovely with charming rooms with many period details (mouldings, large windows, fireplaces), brightly colored original artwork and various touches suggestive of Morocco (cutwork lantern, silver trimmed mirrors). The breakfast was delicious and served in a sunny front room near reception on pretty tilework tables. The staff was friendly and helpful, even allowing us to park our car in the back for a few hours on the day we were leaving free of charge to avoid a street cleaning street parking ban - otherwise we used street parking (free) which was easy to find. It is conveniently located close to St. Catherine/Cresent street as well as even closer to Lucien L'Allier metro stop.

Room Tip: We stayed in 605 - lovely suite with full bath done in charming mosaic tiles including shower as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms are very well decorated and comfortable, much better than one might find in conventional hotels for a higher price. The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. The Wi-Fi worked well for me as did the TV. No problems at all experienced with the room.

The Metro is very close at hand, and if you want to use the bus to and from the airport, the stops are only 3 or 4 minutes walking time away.

I didn't find it a major problem, but it could be too warm for some people in summer, as there does not seem to be any air conditioning, The windows in the room I had would open, so that helps, and the area is fairly quiet (or was when I was there in spite of hockey games at the nearby Bell centre).

I would certainly stay here again, it was one of the best places I have found in my travels at such a reasonable price when considering the location and the breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins

Address: 1401 Argyle, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming inn is located in a magnificent early 20th century residence and offers guests the utmost comfort and service. Attention to the tiniest of details and unparalleled comfort bear witness to the perfect union of know-how and quality, providing guests with an unforgettable stay in a unique and charming establishment. Guests can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the inn, while making the most of its excellent location at the heart of downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Budget Places so you can book your Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.