We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but DANGEROUS room layout and no lift” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de la Place Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge de la Place Royale to your Saves list
Auberge de la Place Royale
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   115 rue de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y-2C7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely but DANGEROUS room layout and no lift”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Room is big, well equipped but the steps around the entrance door are hardly noticeable and the area around them should be fenced. My wife almost (very severily) broke her neck when moving around in the room. This must be addressed without any delay. As far as we could see the problem is the same in other 3rd floor rooms.
Also when you arrive late, there is noone to help you carry your bags up. When we booked we did see any warning.
Aircon very loud.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
78
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful old world inn July 2013. The service was great and the large room was comfortable and well kept. The best is that it's right in the heart of Old Montreal and within walking distance of the best restaurants and sights. A much better place to stay than the larger chains. The owner also went out of her way after I left something in the right to work with me and make sure it was sent to me back in the US right away. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Can't say enough about this little hidden gem! We had a very large room that was spotless and very comfortable. Great location and very reasonably priced. Staff ( Stephanie) was very accommodating. If ever in Montreal again for sure that's the place we will stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite on the 1st floor. Coffee maker and cream in the fridge and large wine glasses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is ideally located at Port Montreal.. on rue de la Commune Ouest (west)... Reception is in the hallway... rooms are upstairs floors 2, 3, 4 (they call them 1, 2, 3 but if you are climbing with a heavy bag, it is really 2, 3, 4). The rooms are spacious.. HUGE is a better word. The rooms are absolutely spotless.. as is the bedding, towels, etc. The staff, however, are the shining star of this establishment.. cannot say enough good things about them - courtesy, helpfulness, and on and on... Worth the stay.. we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Decided to be a tourist in my own city... and couldn't have picked a cuter spot than this charming, old world hotel. As previously reviewed, no elevators, no parking (parking lots are close by though) but if you are prepared for this, the rest is to be enjoyed. A chalk board at the top of the first landing with your name and room number - initially I thought how cute, but then realized this break in confidentiality is not necessary. I'm guessing this is for those who arrive late and are required to do their own check-in; however, if that be the case, there should be a better solution. If you know this in advance, best advise the personnel before your arrival if you don't want your name displayed.
Right in front of the old port and within walking distance of anything that is Old Montreal. Which only means that with tourists invading that part of our wonderful city, there will be crowd noise coming up from street level - so be prepared to hear them for the better part of the night. We had just come from a restaurant where we consumed a fair bit of wine, and when it came to trying to sleep it off that evening, the going-ons outside our window made for fitful night (ok it could have been the wine - but I'd rather blame it on something else!!).
Your croissant is already waiting for you in your room, so when you wake up, you take this along with your conventional in-house coffee machine-made coffee to the little table and chair and look out your window. Our side was looking at a brick wall, those whose rooms were on the other side had the luxury of looking out at the old port.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the port of Montreal side for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton , DE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Right across the street from the old port and only a few blocks to the shops and restaurants and the cathedral of Notre Dame.
We had a great water view from our room! And enjoyed the soft clip-pity clop of the horse and carriages as they passed by. It was lovely and clean. Lots of space! each room has a toaster oven and coffee maker and refrig. They also provide flatware, dishes and wine glasses for 2. You can do breakfast in your room!
Much better that staying in a chain hotel. The hardwood floors and furnishings really give you a feel of being in an old European hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Great price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having read reviews on the hotel prior to reserving, I was prepared for the need to walk up stairs (no elevator), a self-serve check-in for late arrivals and no adjacent parking.
For the price and the location ($135 a night, and a couple minutes walk to numerous restaurants and shops in Old Montreal), this is a great little Inn. The lady who operates the hotel, Naima, is wonderfully friendly and helpful.
My only issue was with the noise until late at night (3am) of garbage trucks collecting garbage from an adjacent building, but this isn't the fault of the hotel or the hotel owner. And the bed squeeked significantly in room 201. But the washroom was very nice, the room was very large, and there was even a guitar propped up against the wall in the stairway area, for guests to play if they wished. I enjoyed the 3 night stay and would recommend this Inn as a good option in Old Montreal.

Room Tip: Room 201 was very noisy at night because of the garbage trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de la Place Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Place Royale

Address: 115 rue de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y-2C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge de la Place Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve rooms luxury hotel facing the Old Port of Montreal. Stay in Old Montreal, a location where the ambiance is authentic and historic. Science and history museums are just beside as well as the skating rink and the ice fishing spot. There are six suites facing the waterfront and six rooms in the back. Free wireless internet. Minibar. Free calls in North America. Free business center with unlimited printing. All bookings are pre-registered and express check-out is the standard. There is a guitar for you to play. Some of the rooms could confortably accomodate six! 24h check-in system and service. There is no elevator but the doctor say it is good to exercise, and yes, the reception is narrow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge de la Place Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Place Royale Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de la Place Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.