We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently reopened” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de la Place Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge de la Place Royale to your Saves list
Auberge de la Place Royale
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   115 rue de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y-2C7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Recently reopened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Old Montreal that was within walking distance of all the activities. The Auberge de la Place Royale fit the bill. Not only was our reception friendly and warm, but the room was large and pleasantly decorated. The innkeeper was wonderful. Breakfast was included in the price, but since we are early risers, we missed this opportunity. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
78
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Heights, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

I would go back in a heartbeat. The accommodations were excellent. Wonderful, spacious room with the friendliest innkeeper you could ever want. She was helpful with the sights and sounds of Montreal and gave so much insight which added to the trip. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding and the breakfast was hearty and started the morning off on a high note. I am already planning on my return trip and it will definitely be at Auberge de la Place Royale.

  • Liked — Location to the sights of Montreal and the clean cozy atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to say
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed 3 nights in August and we really enjoyed it. The room was spacious, had a/c, very clean, nice breakfast, easy location within walking distance from the sights and to the train. The owners were so friendly and gave us pointers about local festivities- one was a French music festival which we would never have known about otherwise, and it was so much fun!
I thought this was a great value for an average price. One minor complaint- we stayed in one of the rooms facing the back alley and the garbage trucks were a big loud in the morning. But that's no one's fault and I brought ear plugs, so no problem.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Our wonderful experience started with making the reservations with Christina. She was pleasant, informative and accommodating for the 4 of us!

After a long ride from Connecticut, we were greeted with a nice, cool, spacious room, spotless and charming. The inn is in a perfect location....wonderful restaurants, pier, museums, metro and Norte Dame Basilica. The entire family makes you feel like you are a member of their family. The yummy breakfasts, the recommendations for dinner & sight seeing and the personal touches makes any traveler want to revisit this historic B&B again & again.
What a great location for a 3 night get away! You won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness & innkeepers
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful three day stay in Montreal. Auberge de la Place Royale was a perfect place to stay! Our room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfasts were terrific - the only difficulty was choosing among the wonderful selections. The French Toast was about the best I've ever had. The location was great - right in old Montreal and in easy walking distance to the Metro. Our hosts were terrific - a wonderful family who made us feel right at home. I would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay at Auberge de la Place Royale and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Converted from an old rooming house, this B&B has lots of character, very spacious rooms, and the nicest, friendliest owners we have encountered at any B&B.

Place Royale is perfectly situated in Old Montreal right on the river with many galleries, restaurants and all of the riverfront activities at your doorstep. It's also within a couple of blocks of Notre Dame and the Metro.

As far as the B&B itself, our room was enormous and spotless. We were fortunate to have a first floor room looking out toward the river. For those who don't want to climb a lot of steps, you might want to request a low floor as there is no elevator. Also, it's worth getting a river view as the alternative view is an alley and I believe the rooms are slightly smaller.

A large and satisfying breakfast was served from 8-10am for guests only. And if you leave without trying the homemade baklava you will be sorry.

The couple who run Place Royale along with their daughter, were the best! They went out of their way to help with parking, advice on travel/sightseeing, and generally made us feel like old friends.

I highly recommend this b&b when visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I can only reiterate what has been said before. Auberge de la Place Royale is perfect: location; owners; breakfast; room; etc. Spent an amazing two days in Old Montreal and the Auberge was ideal in every way. Christina even saved us a parking spot on the street so we wouldn't have to pay/worry about parking, knowing we were driving and arriving a little later in the day. It is true that it's the little things that count.

  • Liked — Location, owners
  • Disliked — No complaints what so ever
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de la Place Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Place Royale

Address: 115 rue de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y-2C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge de la Place Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve rooms luxury hotel facing the Old Port of Montreal. Stay in Old Montreal, a location where the ambiance is authentic and historic. Science and history museums are just beside as well as the skating rink and the ice fishing spot. There are six suites facing the waterfront and six rooms in the back. Free wireless internet. Minibar. Free calls in North America. Free business center with unlimited printing. All bookings are pre-registered and express check-out is the standard. There is a guitar for you to play. Some of the rooms could confortably accomodate six! 24h check-in system and service. There is no elevator but the doctor say it is good to exercise, and yes, the reception is narrow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge de la Place Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Place Royale Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de la Place Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.