We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long LIve the Queen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Long Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Long LIve the Queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We spent a long weekend at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth to get away and see friends in Montreal. We were not disappointed with the usual fine Fairmont treatment. I booked the room on the website after receiving a great 3 night for two offer by e-mail at a very reduced nightly rate to start with, especially with the favorable exchange rate. I cannot emphasize enough that if you enjoy cities with Fairmont hotels join the Presidents Club. It is free and entitles you to free internet and local calls, free health club, and treatment like a special guest. You also get special e-mail offers of reduced rates at selected Fairmonts for selected dates. We checked in late the day after Christmas with a most friendly reception employee who gave us a lovely room with a marvelous view of the Cathedral from the 15th floor although our original booking called for a lesser room. I find that if you are nice, your timing is right, and you have the right person, you do very well at Fairmont with your ultimate room assignment. The room, though not that large, was nicely appointed, clean and nothing out of place. The bathroom, though smallish (a Fairmont trait it often seems), was fine, in excellent order, everything working with a strong shower. Plenty of towels. One day they will upgrade the television to flat panel but no matter. My wife needed a microwave to warm a heating pad for a problem shoulder and since, as was explained to me, it was for medical reasons and not for heating food which would have incurred an additional charge, was promptly provided at no charge. Robes were also promptly brought up as was a razor and shaving cream when I called to explain that I had forgotten my razor. The hotel is centrally located over the main train station with direct access to Amtrak, the subway, and the maze of underground shops that wind their way through downtown. We never ate at the restaurants, choosing to take a quick elevator ride two flights down to the numerous food shops surrounding the train station for my morning coffee and muffin (although there is a coffee maker in the room). The free (with President's Club membership) health club and pool were well equipped and maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating our entire three night visit. The hotel is in easy two block walking distance to the St. Catherine Street shopping district among other attractions. I cannot really speak to how thin/noisy the walls might be based on some other reviews since the hotel was fairly quiet post-Christmas but we had no disturbances and it did not seem that this would have been a problem. The service was so complete that our first day, we received a reminder call to call housekeeping to advise them when our room could be made up since we stayed in our room until lunch time. I find few gaps in the Fairmont level of service having stayed at 5 separate Fairmont Hotels over the years, but the Queen Elizabeth may have had the best service of them all.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Smallish room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    798
    348
    157
    67
See reviews for
359
687
136
648
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Got a great rate online and were very pleased to be able to go shopping, access the train station and metro without going outdoors. Great service: we forgot our daughter's stroller and they lent us one for three days.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Upon researching all the hotels in Montreal, I called the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth. They offered a great deal if I signed up for their President's Club.

The location of this hotel is great. It is attached to the underground mall which I am sure is vital during bad weather. The front desk staff were very friendly and check in was easy. However, the room was like any other room in any other chain hotel. President's Club or not it didn't feel any different. Also our first night was a noisy one since our room overlooked a major street. The next morning the hotel staff were very accomodating and changed our room to one across the hall. Unfortunately we still didn't get a good night's rest considering you can hear your neighbors next door.

Overall, the staff at this hotel were wonderful. The location is ideal and the breakfast in the restaurant was good. But if you are in a regular room and are a light sleeper you may want to reconsider.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Walls were paper thin
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

The long strike is well and truly over and everything was back to normal when I stayed.
The staff are all very friendly and the foyer area is nice.
The rooms are not huge but certainly large enough and the rooms clean and beds comfortable. The price was also fine.
There is a great food court and shopping centre also attached to the hotel.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

I have seen all of the previous comments about the effect of the strike . When we checked in the effect of the strike was clearly explained to us by the front desk .It would have been nice for the bar and restaurant to be open but it was no big deal for us .The staff serviced our room every day and the staff in the Montrelais for breakfast couldn't have been more helpful .
The Concierge desk were superb-they got is in to 3 restaurants that had been recommended to us and were great with their advice about things to do .
great location for going down to the metro .Also when we just wanted a small breakfast to take back to our room we were easily able to get take away from the numerous place down in the lift at staion level.

  • Liked — Location and staff helpfulness
  • Disliked — The temporary effect of the strike
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We were very disappointed with our visit to the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth. The hotel was on strike - which we were not made aware of when booking our hotel stay. My husband and I were away for a romantic anniversary weekend and were deeply disappointed to find out that the staff was bare bones; the pool, sauna, hot tub and fitness centre were all closed; there was no room service; all the bars and restaurants in the hotel were closed and there was no maid service. They refused to give us our money back and when we were shown to our room, it was the tiniest hotel room I'd ever been in! Needless to say, all of this affected our 'romantic' weekend. We won't be staying there again.

  • Liked — Old Montreal charm
  • Disliked — they were on strike and failed to mention it at the time the reservation was made.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

What a gorgeous hotel! We have stayed here so many times we can no longer count and each time it is exquisite. I have to say that reading some negative comments about the cleanliness during the strike (labour disruption while we were there) I never found a problem. Our room was made up every day with clean towels and things put away. We actually asked them not to clean up as we knew how hard they were working. Upon our arrival we had a plate of little petit fours waiting in our room. How nice was that even during labour disruptions? Also the staff in the Montrealis restaurant each morning couldn't have been kinder. In fact, I saw someone drinking cafe au lait and asked if I could buy 4 bowls from them and they allowed me to. Also on our last day at the hotel we spoke with the cleaning staff in our room and 20 minutes later arrived a tray with Baileys, 2 glasses, 2 bottles of water and again a carousel of tiny baked goods wishing us happy 40th anniversary. We have nothing but WONDERFUL things to say about this hotel and hope to be back soon

  • Liked — The bedding
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.