We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

An excellent hotel, really well placed for first time visitors to Montreal.

Situtated immedeately above the Central Station and a 15 minute taxi ride to the airport.

Rooms are clean and well furnished. Beds are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Steve H - Thank you for your visit. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we thank you for your great comments about your comfortable stay with us. Should you return to this side of the Atlantic ocean, we do hope to welcome you back! Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    799
    349
    157
    67
See reviews for
360
687
136
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A majestic hotel situated right in the heart of the city offering old world with new world amenities. This hotel is grand, this hotel is beautiful and filled with charm, this hotel is commuted to serving your every need and most of all this hotel has what I believe to be the best front desk staff in the business. As a seasoned traveller who travels over 200 nights a year, I appreciate professionalism, I appreciate good talent and most of all I appreciate sincerity. With an all star team at the front desk, you're worries are there's to appease and your every comfort is what these folks strive for. Take Andre for instance, a wonderfully bright, charming front desk lady who was so committed to ensuring my every need was taken care of, I was left feeling like "royalty". It's what they do, it's what people like Andre strive for and to her and the others, i top my hat and thank them for yet another amazing stay. Their restaurants offer u a cornucopia of delish delights and the lobby bar had a mystique energy that must be experienced to appreciate. When in Montreal, do yourself a favour and let Andre and her colleagues treat you to a "Royal" experience. You'll be thanking me and telling your friends... Bon voyage!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Paul B - We were very touched by your comments and most appreciative for your kind words. Rest assured your beautiful note has been shared with Andrée and her dedicated colleagues at the front desk. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Montreal soon. Many thanks and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent 12 days in Montreal, all at this hotel. True, it's not the newest place in town. But, the service was outstanding and the location couldn't have been much better. We were able to walk almost everywhere we went. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. By the time we left we felt like the staff were all old friends. I would stay there again and would probably need a specific reason to look for someplace else. Caveat: we didn't eat very much at the hotel, there are too many places nearby that are fabulous and less expensive. The little that we did eat there was good, but not cheap.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear mcurry1202 - We greatly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us back in June. We're glad you enjoyed the service and the location of the hotel. The entire team looks forward to your next visit! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We choose to stay on the good floor to celebrate my 50th Birthday and it was worth every penny (especially since it was a birthday gift). We had an issue with hearing a steel door clanging on the cleaning suite the first night and the hotel responded by moving us to a beautiful suite for the rest of our stay.

The breakfast and happy hour food was luscious. I really enjoyed the variety and changes to the offering over the three days. The service was impeccable. My coffee cup never went dry and the concierge was the ultimate in service.

We flew in but took the train out of the city, so the location directly over the train station was just one more level of convenience that we enjoyed. We walked from the hotel to the old port, to Mount Royal, the Jazz Festival and many other locations.

The fitness center was well equipped and clean.

This lovely hotel has made it my top picks list. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The views on the front of the hotel are nice to the Mount Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Joe P - Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay with us on Fairmont Gold. We're delighted to hear how pleased you were with the Gold amenities and most particularly the Fairmont Gold team. On your next visit to Montreal, we would be thrilled to welcome you back. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

With no grab-bars or no-skid tub surfaces in the bathtub areas, this is not a safe place for older travelers or others with balance problems. The lobby has been updated, but the bathroom fixtures are antiquated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My first negative experience with my absolute favourite hotel chain, Fairmont. There were too many problems to list in such a small space, but includes difficulties with check-in, rude staff, inability to control thermostat, poor wifi receptivity, refusal of hotel manager to speak to me about problems. Not at all a positive experience

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Stanley N - Thank you for your visit. We were very sorry to learn the details of your recent stay and the issues you encountered. Rest assured your different concerns were addressed when we first received your feedback after your visit. As previously mentioned, our Duty Manager at the reception desk is on site 24 hours a day to assist our guests and we're truly sorry for the miscommunication. We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back as we appreciate your loyalty to the chain. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Loved staying at this Hotet. It offers excellent service. The clerk even rememberd my name when I had to return with the parking voucher. Loved the extra large room for us and our teenagers. Very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Suzanne B - Thank you for your visit. We're thrilled to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and most particularly the service provided by our dedicated colleagues. We hope to welcome you again should your travel plans bring you back to Montreal. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.