We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Convenience and a Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfort, Convenience and a Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location with lots of Montreal's landmarks within walking distance. If you ar arriving by train it arrives in the bowels of the hotel, ideal if you are leaving for that early train ride when some are just getting home. The staff were friendly and informative, made an effort to assist with directions and opening times. My room had a great view over the Reine du Monde Cathederal, was comfortable, clean and quiet. I should also point out that the Fairmont is within walking distance of the Montreal Canadiens home ice at the Bell Centre....in short the Fairmont Hotel beautifully caters for a broad cross section of belief systems

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Frank V - Thank you very much for sharing such positive comments. We appreciate your beautiful feedback and we're happy to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay in Montreal and that the convenient location of the hotel made your visit a most pleasant one. We hope you will visit us again, perhaps for a hockey game in the winter? Many thanks and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    888
    390
    173
    74
See reviews for
431
766
143
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not the most charming hotel but it is fabulous for a city hotel and John Lennon stayed there. Try the Yoko Ono drink--fabulous. This hotel has superb service and is in a perfect location. what else can you say about a "City" hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Bruce P - We're happy to read you thoroughly enjoyed the great location of the hotel and that you had the chance to try the Yoko Fresh cocktail in our lobby lounge. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We only stayed one night at The Fairmont, but had a wonderful experience. We had a corner room that was well appointed, although kind of small. The bath tub was great -- deep and long! And the shower was powerful and hot! The bed was very comfortable.

We had our dog with us and there was no issue with that -- they welcomed her and there was a park just across the street to walk her.

We had dinner in the bar and had an excellent prime rib, drinks and dessert. There was a man playing the piano and it was a relaxing experience, all in all.

We parked in the public parking behind the hotel and that was a mistake. Their card reader was broken and it took us an hour to get out of there because we left very early in the morning and no one was around. Someone from the hotel went out of their way to help us by coming over there with us and trying to use their personal credit card when ours wouldn't work (we thought it was because we don't have one with a chip). The front desk and this other employee were most helpful when they certainly didn't have to do that sort of thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Linda M - How lovely it was to read the details of your recent experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and most particularly the helpfulness of our staff members. We greatly appreciate your kind note about the overall service provided on this visit and most definitely hope to see you again on your next trip to Montreal! Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel. Overall my experience was very good. The check-in and out was very quick and efficient, the front desk staff and valet attendants were extremely polite. I had requested a "quiet" room, and this was given to me.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Montreal, within walking distance of all the major attractions/dining/entertainment in the area. The lobby is extremely nice, with high ceilings and nice furnishings. The room I stayed in was slightly small, but was very modern and clean. I was comfortable, and had no problem with noise from within, or outside the hotel.

The only reason I didn't rate this hotel a 5/5 was due to the little details you find in the luxury brand hotels: it was obvious the hotel floor my room was on had not been vacuumed when I arrived, or by the next day when I left. There were very small stains on the shower curtain. When I arrived, and when I left, there were three cisterns in the lobby with lemon water, and both times they were empty when I attempted to pour some water. Overall, very minor things.

This is a good, comfortable hotel in downtown Montreal, and I was satisfied with my experience.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet room, request a room on a higher floor facing the rear, not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Late_Harvest - We're glad to hear your overnight stay was pleasant and comfortable. We're happy to hear our front desk team was able to accommodate your request for a quiet room on high floor facing the back of the hotel. We would have loved for your stay to be most memorable though and this, including the small details you've noticed. With that in mind, rest assured your comments regarding the hallway carpet, the shower curtain and the water dispensers in the lobby have already been shared with the team for immediate attention. We truly appreciate you bringing these details to our attention and hope to see you again soon in Montreal. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location (central, above the metro), quality, and service were all excellent. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've slept on. My one complaint is I could not connect to the WiFi during my three night stay. I would happily stay here each and every visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Canadalalala - We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this month. Thank you for your great comments regarding the comfort of our mattresses. That said we're very sorry to hear you experienced some issues with the internet access in the room. We encourage our guests to enroll in our complimentary loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club, by visiting fairmont.com/fpc to enjoy several benefits, namely complimentary internet access at all Fairmont Hotels. With that in mind, should you encounter any issue at all while logging in, please do not hesitate to contact our Royal Service team who will be delighted to help you or have a technician from our helpdesk assist you with your WiFi connection. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth July 10-12, 2014. Found the hotel
exceptionally clean, comfortable and well-located. Room service was very prompt and efficient and the croissant was actually memorable--very fresh,
flakey and delicious. The beds were absolutely divine--high quality sheets,
comfy duvets and pillows. The bathroom amenities were luxurious and
rose-scented. We had a great view from our room and all of Montreal right
out the front door. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear lynstuMassachusetts - We're thrilled to hear your recent stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth was most pleasant and comfortable. We have gladly shared your lovely comments with our room service team as well as with our chef. We hope you will visit us again soon. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great hotel right in the heart of montreal. Ill never stay anywhere else. Staff is very personable, great wine and appetizer selection at the bar. Tonnes of restaurants and bars within walking distance and right across the street from the train station

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Kevin C - We're thrilled to read your review and most delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service provided by our dedicated team. We look forward to your next business trip to Montreal! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.