We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was billed a 4 star, however from the front desk, restaurants to the room quality and services, I would give it a 3.5 max. The best part of the hotel is its central location which helps bump up a 0.5 star from a 3, and the rest is much less than desired. We’re on a 2 day business trip to Montreal and this location is near our client’s office, which is quite convenient.
We arrived an hour earlier than the stated check-in time, and were asked to wait. The wait was actually more than 2 hours and after lunched at one of the hotel restaurants (the other great disappointment in terms of service and food quality), and over an hour passed the official check-in time, we went back to the front desk, our rooms were still unavailable. Had to keep the luggage at their storage room and went to the client meeting.
Finally got check-in in the evening, I was very surprised to see how tiny the room/bathroom was, and how unassuming the décor/finishes were. It felt like living in a small box. We will definitely book a Hilton or Sofitel next time visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    888
    390
    173
    74
See reviews for
431
766
143
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pulled up to the front door, and we were quickly and pleasantly greeted while our luggage was unloaded and whisked away. Reception was quick and efficient, with lots of information when we asked about the city. While the rooms are on the small side, they were comfortable and well-appointed.

The sensor in the minibar was a little annoying, simply by opening the door to see if there was some room to store the cheese we bought at the market (there wasn't), some bottles were jostled and we got a knock on the door later that evening, when they came to check to see what was taken in if it needed restocking, right as we were changing and getting ready to go out for dinner (although I suppose we could have employed the DND sign on the door...)

We used the concierge to find out about a special event for New Year's, he offered to make a reservation, and produced a map with directions to get there on the Metro. While he didn't know anything about the event that I was asking about, he researched it on the spot, and called them to find out more information for us. It ended up being the best New Year's Party I've ever been to! (Side note: try this restaurant, Tripes & Caviar was one of the best dining experiences we had in Montreal, and is worth the trip to Verdun!)

Anyway, our stay at the QE was quite satisfactory overall, not my first experience at a Fairmont property,and it won't be the last.

Thanks to the whole QE team; everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful (not to mention tolerant and encouraging of my mediocre French!)

Room Tip: At busy times, you may find it quieter to request a room at the end of a hall. Also, if you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Andrew B - Merci de votre visite au Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we will gladly share your kind comments with the entire team. We most definitely hope there will be a second visit to Montreal planned in the near future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

It is a classic Fairmont, large clean rooms, great service and hospitality from all staff. Good food (especially breakfast but also the formal beaver club) have stayed there a few times already and it is still one of my favorite places, a home away from home when in Montreal. Usually pricey but some times you can get a very good deal online or by calling which then makes this from very good to an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Suites have great view and are huge. Normal rooms are on the large side, try to get a corner and/or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear John_TA14 - Thank you very much for your loyalty to Fairmont. We're glad you once again enjoyed your visit to Montreal. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can make your future stays even more pleasant and comfortable. Thanks and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not sure where to begin, this is poorly run Fairmont. Valet parking is a disaster. You are given a tiny paper receipt that without, you will have great trouble getting your car back when needed. The rooms are typically small for a city hotel, and very clean with wonderful bedding that is for sure . . . BUT, do not touch anything in the min-bar or you will be charged for it. Otherwise, there's no fridge in the room for storing any personal food/beverages. The service in the restaurant is poor. My son and I sat down and left after 10 minutes with no service. The table next to us was complaining about their food we overheard. Definitely better places to stay in Montreal for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear AEZ22 - Thank you for your candid feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our new mattresses, however we're very sorry for the different issues you experienced on your last visit. With regards to the parking facilities, We're truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced after misplacing your parking coupon. Rest assured your comments have already been shared with the management team of the company that owns and operates the parking areas around the hotel including the valet service. Furthermore we sincerely apologize for the lack of service at one of our restaurants. This is definitely not in keeping with our high service standards and please know we will follow up internally with our Restaurant Manager and his team. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. As for the minibars, we indeed have a new technology that allows us to have the hotel invoices updated instantly for guests to enjoy an expedited departure process at the front desk. We're sorry for the inconvenience this caused you, however please note that we do have small refrigerators that our guests can have delivered to their room upon request and this, for a nominal fee. Having said that, we do hope to have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth over Labor Day Weekend. It wasn't/isn't up to the usual Fairmont quality - we were dissapointed with our tiny, tired room and barely accommodating bathroom. As a club member I was able to request and pay for an upgrade which consisted of a view of Mont Royal. Some upgrade! We ended up leaving the hotel first thing each morning, returning late in the evening rather then spend time at QE. We could hear people in the corridor all night long. Seems to cater to lots of large tour groups who at times swarmed the lobby and elevators. Some indiscreet guests who used spa services and/or the pool didn't feel the need for robes when in public areas… making for many an unpleasant encounter... so so ickie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Kinnagoebay - We appreciate comments from our guests and we thank you for your candid feedback. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on this occasion with regards to the size of our Fairmont rooms. We're also sorry to hear your stay was affected negatively by the actions of other guests, which we apologize for as this is certainly not the type of hotel experience we want for our members of the Fairmont President's Club. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance next time you travel to Montreal. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November during my first visit to Montreal. My accommodations were extremely comfortable and welcoming. The bed linens are luxurious and the bathroom provided all the comforts of home. The mini-bar was fantastic and offered a wide variety of treats. The location is fantastic as it was connected to all of the underground shopping malls in downtown. You can do all the shopping you desire without ever having to set foot outside. I also enjoyed the convenience of being able to request fitness clothes in order to use the fitness center. Upon request, i was provided a shirt, capris, gym shoes and socks all for a nominal fee. Highly recommend this property and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear rybnole - Thank you very much for sharing such wonderful feedback further to your visit back in November. We're thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your visit. We most definitely hope to welcome you back when you visit Canada again! Best wishes for a fantastic 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Arriving via rail from Toronto we picked The Fairmont because it was closest to the Central station not realizing the hotel was right above it! Didn't even have to go outside. Customer service was great and got a great deal from Hotels.ca

Tip: don't touch the wine or chocolates they're on sensors which u get billed for. But just tell the front desk you didn't eat/drink anything and they revoke the charges.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear hotrice - Thank you for visiting us in November. We're glad you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel as well as the level of service provided during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.