We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another disappointing Fairmont hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another disappointing Fairmont hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed at three different Fairmont hotels in the last three months. The Fairmont Mayakoba was the only one that I can't say anything bad about. The Fairmonts in Toronto (Royal York) and Montreal (The Queen Elizabeth) need a lot of work. I stayed at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth this last weekend on a friend get away. The hotel was booked up completely due to a dance competition. We had three "Fairmont" rooms booked and were able to check in early to one at noon. We were happy about that and had no problem waiting for the other two as we were heading out to do some shopping. They gave us a call a couple hours later to let us know our rooms were ready. The first room that we checked in early to was on the ninth floor and extremely small but looked nice enough. There was some wear on the carpet and furnishing. My other fiends checked in on the 10th floor to another renovated room. I know it was a renovated room because my fiancé and i checked into our room on the third floor. I am not sure how they managed to get this room smaller than the ninth floor room, but it was. The furnishings must have been in the room for the last 30 years. Everything was very well worn and there must have been about a foot of room around the bed and that was it. The bathroom was disgusting and the bathtub was chipped. The shower didn't work and was a dribble. And the kicker was that the room was right next to the stairwell so we heard the stomping all evening. I called down to ask to change rooms and was told "that was the room we booked". And that the hotel was fully booked and they could do nothing.

This room was worse than a super 8 room. The front desk offered to change rooms for us the next day.

My friend offered us an upgrade certificate for the next day so thankfully we were able to move room. The "Suite" was also very very small. The room looked upgraded but to nothing exciting.

Overall the hotel looked very worn and tired and needs a major overhaul! There are so many nicer hotels in Montreal, I would not recommend the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Do not even think of staying here unless you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    832
    363
    162
    69
See reviews for
389
716
137
672
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013. The location was ideal as it was placed over the Via Rail and Amtrak train station. There was a large mall one level above that as well. Staff at this hotel were very nice. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. We will defiantly stay there the next time we are in Montreal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Rennaye - We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth in October. Thank you for your great feedback regarding our staff members. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back on a future stay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by train right at the hotel. Great location. As you'd expect from Fairmont the QE is very clean and well maintained, excellent staff fully bilingual. All amenities within the hotel complex. Great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear ScottKenn - We're glad you selected Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth on your last business trip to Montreal. We're happy to read how much you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the service provided by our dedicated colleagues as well as the overall amenities. Thank you very much for sharing such great comments and we look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I took my wife here for a weekend getaway while I was in Montreal. We stayed on the gold floor and as always the service was second to none. The lounge was very relaxing with fantastic night views of the city. We are looking forward to our next trip to this hotel. Highly reccomnded!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Scott W,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your romantic getaway. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about our Fairmont Gold floors in Montreal. We are glad we could be a part of your experience in the city. The view is indeed quite impressive and romantic from the Gold lounge. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for more couple getaways. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Small room and ok service. The hotel was nice with lots of amenities and a big fitness room. The restaurant was good but the waiter was not attentive and even disappeared halfway thru pouring a drink. Very odd.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Bari D,

We appreciate your review and are so sorry to learn about the service issue you encountered at our restaurant. Your experience does not reflect the attentive and engaging service we strive to offer our guests. Your feedback is important and has been shared with our food & beverage team. We apologize and hope to have the opportunity to wlecome you again to provide you with a dining experience more in keeping with typical Fairmont style. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Back again for a night at the QE on a working visit to Montreal. Great location in the heart of the city and right upstairs from the train station. The QE rooms have been updated in recent years but are rather small, and this would be the only negative in an otherwise great hotel. The staff and service were excellent. The club lounge is an excellent place for a meeting or breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Rene Levesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Rupak C - We're glad you decided to stay once again with us in Montreal. Thank you for your great comments about the location of the hotel as well as the Fairmont Gold lounge and amenities offered. The team looks forward to your next business trip! If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very relaxing hotel and an amazing place to stay, especially for the weekend.

However, i would recommend this place for older people since it has an old and historical theme.

All in all, wonderful staff, especially at the reception, our rooms were given to us in no time and all went well. No doubt a perfect location in Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear TheBKY - We were thrilled to read your feedback and hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth last December. We do hope to welcome you and your family back again when you next visit Montreal! Many thanks and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.