We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to explore Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Fairmont is located in a very central area to explore all of Montreal either by foot or Metro. The rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The towels and sheets are of good quality.
The staff is efficient and very accommodating.

Room Tip: We joined the Fairmont club prior to going, so we had a choice of rooms, we were on the fifteenth an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear gingrannie - Thank you very much for becoming a member of our loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Until your next visit, we're sending you our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    562
    245
    113
    45
See reviews for
239
472
102
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in this centrally located Montreal hotel. Our room was always clean, but with two double beds, quite cramped with a small bathroom. If size is important to you choose a room on the executive floor. Service at the front desk, restaurants was outstanding with big prices but very good food. To save money, go to the food fare and gourmet shops under the hotel next to the VIA rail train station, where we conveniently caught the train to Quebec City, a very pleasant and comfy ride in Economy that felt like First Class!!

I would stay here again but in a KING room which would be more spacious without those two beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a KING room rather than two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear redcruiser - We're glad to read your great comments about the location of the hotel and the high service level you experienced at the front desk and restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you visit the province of Quebec again in the future. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in July at the start of our road trip around North America. We were very jetlagged when we arrived having travelled for around 20 hours and could not wait to get to the hotel. There are a few ways to travel to the hotel (train station underneath the hotel and bus stop beside the hotel) but it was late Sunday evening and with 4 suitcases we decided we'd just get a taxi from the airport. The journey cost us $45-50.

The hotel itself is fantastically located, within walking distance to everything we wanted to do and see during our stay and is beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful during check in and gave us a lot of tips and ideas for activities to fill the days. The room was very spacious and just perfect after a long journey. The 2 double beds were big and extremely comfortable. The room was both clean and tidy every day. There was plenty of space for our suitcases and clothes and general mess that comes with living out of a suitcase and the beds were situated so that you looked out the window from bed which was stunning both in the mornings at sunrise and at night with the city all lit up.

I don't know about anyone else but when we check into a hotel one of the first things we look for is wifi as we are so far from home we like to keep in touch. There was free wifi in the lobby which had plenty of comfortable seats to relax and water machine. We did ask about wifi in the room and were told that although it wasn't free we could sign up to Fairmont membership free of cost and receive wifi in the room (also free). The second day when we returned to our room there was a card addressed to myself and a plate of sweets and chocolate for us.

Great location for rail and walking. Can be to the old town in about 15 minutes via Notre Dame. The port is lovely and easy to spend a few hours there with good bars and shops. Also the other direction very close to the main shopping street with great shops and Mont Royal with spectacular views of the city.

Language wise the staff were very useful and quick to serve in either official language. Lot of history within the hotel including the suite where John Lennon and Yoko did their bed protest with the room marked with a placard.

If I came back to Montreal I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Lovetravelll - How lovely it was to read your feedback further to your visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth back in July. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed the guest room, the helpfulness of our staff members as well as the great location of the hotel. We also hope the remainder of your North American trip was as pleasant. If you do visit Montreal again in the future, the entire team would be delighted to welcome you back. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel with my husband and we found it a very nice hotel. It is a luxury hotel, as one cal tell by the great lining and towels, supercomfortable bed and particularly good the soap, shampoo, and bath gel. Breakfast is good, with a large variety of food, and good quality. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant, les montreals or something similar, they served nice meals at very reasonable prices ( considering it is in a 4* hotel!) .
It is also very well located, central waking distance to everything, and a plus: the airport bus stops at the door.
In summary, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Isa V - Thank you for your visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. The entire team was delighted to read your beautiful comments about your dining experiences at Le Montréalais restaurant, the comfort of the beds and the great location of the hotel. We most definitely hope to welcome you and your husband back to one of our Fairmont properties in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wanted a week end get away close to Ottawa, so we ventured to Montreal and stayed at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel. Very large, clean hotel, with lots of history. For a long week end the price was great. The staff was great and was quick to serve in either of the official languages. Had a great time , ce une bonne place.

Room Tip: I put sleep quality as very good, in that we had our room was by the elevator and it was a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Anthony J - We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your weekend getaway in Montreal. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service provided by our dedicated colleagues. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Merci, and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed there over Labor Day weekend and found it to be a great location from which to explore Montreal. It is convenient to the rail and within walking distance both to old Montreal and Mont Royal/McGill University. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the fitness facility was good-sized with free weights, machines and a pool. We had a room on the ninth floor with a fantastic view of the square in front of the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Alex T - Thank you very much for your feedback further to your recent stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We were glad to read you had a great stay with us. The entire team looks forward to your next visit! Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have only stayed at a few Fairmont properties despite my President's Club membership but we were hugely looking forward to staying here. As other reviewers have no doubt mentioned the location is near perfect- it's quite literally connected to the VIA Rail station which was fantastic as we arrived by rail from Quebec City. The staff were universally kind, knowledgeable, proactive and forgiving of my unpracticed and quite terrible French.

If I have any comments otherwise they are on the minor side of things-and absolutely nothing to do with the service. The Fairmont QE unfortunately continues with North American hotel practices and fully stocks its (industry standard = well expensive) mini-refridgerator in the room meaning there is no room for outside purchases. If you are planning to bring back any of the many amazing Quebec local microbrews or artisanal cheeses available to enjoy in your room then be sure to visit the ice machines located on each floor as you'll be needing them.

However, that is a minor detail. The hotel is a nice 20 minute walk to Old Montreal via Chinatown (helpfully plotted out by the staff at check-in), St. Catherine's Street is a mere 5 minutes away, the "underground city" which is what it is but is nevertheless helpful on rainy or colder days is connected directly from the hotel. The very impressive Basilique-cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde de Montréal is right next door is right next door while a host of restaurants and shops can be found in any direction from the hotel.

Hopefully we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: -if possible, try to book a room on the 15th floor or higher. we were on the 13th and just about ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear bcexile - We're thrilled to hear you and wife thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to Montreal. Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding the friendliness of our staff members. We truly appreciate your comments and suggestions. And we also hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont
Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.