We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ce belle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #44 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ce belle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wanted a week end get away close to Ottawa, so we ventured to Montreal and stayed at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel. Very large, clean hotel, with lots of history. For a long week end the price was great. The staff was great and was quick to serve in either of the official languages. Had a great time , ce une bonne place.

Room Tip: I put sleep quality as very good, in that we had our room was by the elevator and it was a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Anthony J - We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your weekend getaway in Montreal. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service provided by our dedicated colleagues. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Merci, and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    979
    434
    186
    88
See reviews for
482
837
147
834
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed there over Labor Day weekend and found it to be a great location from which to explore Montreal. It is convenient to the rail and within walking distance both to old Montreal and Mont Royal/McGill University. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the fitness facility was good-sized with free weights, machines and a pool. We had a room on the ninth floor with a fantastic view of the square in front of the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Alex T - Thank you very much for your feedback further to your recent stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We were glad to read you had a great stay with us. The entire team looks forward to your next visit! Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have only stayed at a few Fairmont properties despite my President's Club membership but we were hugely looking forward to staying here. As other reviewers have no doubt mentioned the location is near perfect- it's quite literally connected to the VIA Rail station which was fantastic as we arrived by rail from Quebec City. The staff were universally kind, knowledgeable, proactive and forgiving of my unpracticed and quite terrible French.

If I have any comments otherwise they are on the minor side of things-and absolutely nothing to do with the service. The Fairmont QE unfortunately continues with North American hotel practices and fully stocks its (industry standard = well expensive) mini-refridgerator in the room meaning there is no room for outside purchases. If you are planning to bring back any of the many amazing Quebec local microbrews or artisanal cheeses available to enjoy in your room then be sure to visit the ice machines located on each floor as you'll be needing them.

However, that is a minor detail. The hotel is a nice 20 minute walk to Old Montreal via Chinatown (helpfully plotted out by the staff at check-in), St. Catherine's Street is a mere 5 minutes away, the "underground city" which is what it is but is nevertheless helpful on rainy or colder days is connected directly from the hotel. The very impressive Basilique-cathédrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde de Montréal is right next door is right next door while a host of restaurants and shops can be found in any direction from the hotel.

Hopefully we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: -if possible, try to book a room on the 15th floor or higher. we were on the 13th and just about ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear bcexile - We're thrilled to hear you and wife thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to Montreal. Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding the friendliness of our staff members. We truly appreciate your comments and suggestions. And we also hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was the perfect combination of classic mid-20th century style and modern amenities. It is also in the most central of locations for seeing this fascinating city. Every staff member we encountered was more than helpful...and with a smile. The breakfast buffet was in the true Fairmont tradition. The room was lovely with an amazing view of Place Ville Marie and Mont Royal beyond and the bed was a dream...with REAL pillows. The Keurig coffee set-up was a nice touch. The gym was sufficient and access to the trains and metro underneath the hotel was great! We got a great rate and will do it again next trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mandelmart - We were very happy to read your beautiful feedback about your stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We recently changed all of our mattresses and pillows and we're glad your visit was most comfortable and pleasant. We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Canada. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed here in early July. The hotel is very well situated for business or, as in our case, the Jazz Festival. The lobby is a bit faded and the check-in lines were depressingly long. Still, we were extremely lucky to check in with Taoufik, who got us an upgrade and an early check-in, and just generally made us feel like very special guests. Francis, the bellman, also deserves special mention for warm and friendly service.

The suite was nice and roomy, but nothing remarkable, and our room did not have a view worth mentioning. Indeed, the rooms and hallways can use some freshening up (although the bathrooms are fully up-to-date). Still, overall, given the excellent level of service we received, this was a very good experience in Montreal.

Room Tip: For quiet and views, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear andrew l - Thank you for taking the time to share details of your recent hotel experience. Most importantly, thank you for your kind words regarding the service provided by Taoufik. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel in Montreal many times over the years. The service and amenities are consistently great. There is a nice balance of a sense of tradition with being up to date with current trends and technology. Our favourite part of our stay is the splendid breakfast buffet, which is so extensive, we treat it like the main meal of the day. The staff are always welcoming and treat us like family. We will continue to stay here as long as we keep going to Montreal.

Chris in Walpole

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Celticmagpie - Thank you very much for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth over the years. We have shared your great comments about the breakfast buffet with the team at Le Montréalais restaurant. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Montreal soon. Thank you once again. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorel, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the queen E while on route for Toronto by train. location of the hotel on top on central station was perfect. service is always excellent, the only thing is that the rooms are small and the bathrooms are from an another era.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear R1G1 - Thank you very much for your recent visit. We're glad your overall stay was enjoyable, namely due to the location of the hotel and the service provided. That said, we do hope to address the issues you mentioned regarding the guest room in the near future. Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#40 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Marriott Chateau Champlain
Marriott Chateau Champlain
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal
Sofitel Montreal
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.