We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the Fairmont chain. The Queen Elizabeth has a perfect location. Walking distance to so much, with the underground shopping just below and the train station.

Our arrival was very late (2am) with two very young and tired children, all we wanted was to rest, so I thought I could live with the nasty smell in our room. Once mentioned to the front desk, we were moved and were able to enjoy the rest of our mini vacation.

In the past, we have found breakfast at the Fairmont to be rather expensive for eggs and toast so we thought we would pass and explore St. Catherine. There is so much outside your door, I didn't miss it at all.

It was great to have the pool, the kids loved it. The only other thing I would have liked was more time....Just so much to do, see and try in Montreal that we'll just have to go back.

I'm certainly glad we president club members, wifi was included and the water in the lobby was a nice little touch.

Room Tip: 16th floor facing Rue Rene Leveque has a nice view and was better smelling room then the 16th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear cattas - We're sorry to hear the first night wasn't as enjoyable as the rest of your stay. But we're glad the front desk team was able to find a more comfortable room for your family. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you and your children again in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    906
    403
    174
    75
See reviews for
436
779
145
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice hotel, perfect location, close to old town and shopping area. rooms are really small and the bathrooms too. Nice indoor pool. Big lobby. Nice view from the rooms. Nice steak house across the street

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear amunozav - Thank you for taking the time to share some comments further to your recent visit. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your overall trip to Montreal as well as the location of our hotel. We do hope to welcome you again should your travel plans bring you and your family back to the city. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here in late Aug. 2013 for vacation for 4 nights. I was apprehensive based on many reviews, but here's my take: the hotel lobby is pretty dated, and some of the hotel doesn't seem very impressive (I had a bad experience with the valet), but I had what was considered a large room on the Gold floor and both the room and the service there were very good and I'd stay there again. The room was very nice, with a very comfortable bed, very nice bathroom with separate shower and bath, and good wifi. The gold lounge served a nice breakfast and very nice evening snacks, and the servers and the concierge there were very helpful. I can't vouch for the other floors, but I recommend the Gold floors. The location is pretty good, although in easy walking distance to Mont Royal and Old Montreal (15-20 minutes depending where you go), although I probably would've preferred to be a closer to Old Montreal.

Room Tip: Get a Gold room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear McGee_7 - We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on the Fairmont Gold floors in Montreal. That said, we're sorry for the issues you've encountered with the valet. If you wish to share more details, please do not hesitate to contact us at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com, so that we can follow up accordingly with the company that owns and operates the valet area. Thank you again and please know the Fairmont Gold team would be happy to welcome you back on a future visit. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Comfortable and friendly. Neg: Toilet handle was broke, no big deal. Tub coating was peeling, no big deal. VERY EXPENSIVE services. ei: in room bar/water/snacks. Having to pay $12 to listen to music stations. Spa was ok. Pos: Clean, VERY FRIENDLY, café was good. pool and gym nice, desk services were quick, location AWESOME! (Close to St. Catherines and everything). Yes would recommend this Hotel, and we would return.

Room Tip: We had the back side over looking the ally. Ask which side room faces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont in Montreal for 2 nights. if you arrived after 6:30pm, you could ask valet parking service in front of the hotel on Blvd Rene Levesque. If you arrived before 6:30 pm, you needed to go behind the hotel on Rue Belmont and passed by the hotel loading dock and required to get a ticket to enter into the valet area. With all the traffic, it could be quite a task.

The check in was quick and I was assigned to a room with a limited view. The decor was faded and the room showed its age; as the fitness center. The equipments looked and felt old.

The buffet breakfast was delicious but pricy. I would recommend the dessert buffet which cost $12 per person. There was a lot of choice and all the items were delicious.

The hotel is located one block from St Catherine Street which has a lot of shops and restaurants but a distance from the old town. It was above the metro station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear DavidNYC11 - Thank you for sharing details of your recent visit to Montreal. We're sorry to hear we didn't exceed your expectations on his occasion. We understand your disappointment regarding the parking. Being in the city centre, we have to respect the city regulations when it comes to express bus lanes. We would have loved for you to have a better arrival experience by car, and please know we keep working with the city on this issue you encountered. We appreciate your additional feedback and truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Queen E before, as well as the Fairmont Vancouver (downtown), and this was my worst experience at a Fairmont. When we checked in, there were only two clerks on duty, and one kept ducking into the office. We had to wait 40 minutes to check in, and I had pre-paid for the room! My longest wait ever at a Canadian hotel.
Then when we tried to check out, the valet parking service "lost" our keys for an hour and a half. The parking guys couldn't even locate our vehicle on the lot... we had to do it ourselves using the beeper on our second "spare" set of keys. Vinci Park also misplaced the keys of another hotel guest while we were waiting... he was instructed to search for his keys on two big boards where they hang all the keys. Beware: the parking system at the Queen E is very sloppy. They don't track where your vehicle is on their indoor and outdoor lots. In the end, the parking manager suddenly "found" our keys, after we had searched the garbage cans, etc. We suspect an employee had accidently put the keys in his pocket. The Fairmont did not take ownership of this issue when we complained, and punted us over to the parking company; even though the parking charges were on the Fairmont letterhead and included with the room charges.

Also beware that the Queen E charges guests $16 a day for internet (the only hotel I know of that still charges for WIFI). Join the Fairmont President's Club, and the internet charge is waived.
To give a balanced review: the Queen E does have thick towels and plenty of them; and also provides two thick bathrobes in each room, as well as quality shampoos, soaps, etc.
However, our two-day stay proved to be unpleasantly stressful.

Room Tip: The Queen E charges a king's ransom for breakfast. There are better and cheaper options on McGil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Bogie1867 - We're once again very sorry for not providing you with the hotel experience you expected. The wait you experienced at the front desk is certainly not in keeping with our high service standards and rest assured we have shared your feedback with our Director of Front Office to prevent this type of situation from happening again in the future. That said, we we sincerely apologize for the stress this caused you. Additionally, we are sorry to hear about the issues encountered at the parking area. As you mentioned, the valet parking is owned and managed by an outside company. We did share your detailed feedback with their management team for follow up. To better assist our guests, indeed we do facilitate the departure experience by adding the parking fee to the hotel invoice, in order to avoid having to settle the parking charges when retrieving your car. That being said, we hope to have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back to one of our hotels. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

For my birthday we spent a few days & night in the Fairmont. We had a little trouble figuring out how to park.. the signs underground are terrible! We are president members so we didn't have to wait in line and there was some refreshing chilled water available for us. Also a plate of pastries for my birthday with a card.

Our bags were loaded by the bellhop and brought up later. We ordered room service a lot!! Breakfast was delightful with fresh fruit and oatmeal.

We were told about fashion week and that it would be noisy until 11pm. This was fine as we went to a music festival which ended at the same time. The metro and Via were attached to the hotel and there were plenty of amenities that we didn't use like a beautiful gym, spa and steam room.

There was an electric car charging station in the valet area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear kindkitchen - We're glad to hear the team at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth made your birthday celebration very enjoyable. We most definitely hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#34 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.