We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A royal disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A royal disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We picked the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth because of it's location in relation to the train station (as we were travelling by train). Checked in early & left our bag with the bell man while we explored la belle ville. Upon our return, we retrieved our bag from the bell man and made our way up to the 13th floor (not a good omen). The hallway walls were marked up and the wall paper was peeling off in places. The room itself was small and featured a large stain on the carpet on one side of the bed (size of a man hole cover) and the bath tub had been re-glazed white and the paint was bubbling at the drain and under the bath mat it was completely flaking off in places (you could easily flake paint off with your finger nails). Quick call to reception and I was offered a move. Room 2 was on the 10th floor which also had peeling wall paper and scuffed up walls. This suite had clean carpets, older marked up furniture and a dripping bath tub faucet, but not carpet stains or peeling bath tub paint. Only because the suite was clean did we close not to request another move.

I mentioned our disappointment to the front desk agent when we checked out. The young lady told us that we had reserved a suite on an older floor and that was why everything was a bit shabby. I felt the need to point out that I booked my room online with Fairmont and no where was I told that I would be getting a shabby room. And quite frankly had I known the type of suite I would be given for what I paid I would have stayed elsewhere.

The only positive note is how comfortable the bed was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear iamjennybird,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are sorry to learn about the issues you encountered during your stay. We always strive to offer the best service and accommodations to our guests and we apologize for failing to deliver our promise.

Your feedback is important to us and has been shared with our Housekeeping and Front office teams to correct these deficiencies as soon as possible.

As well, we encourage you to join our complimentary loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, in order to receive personalized benefits, privileges and savings to suit your passions and lifestyle. You may simply visit fairmont.com/fpc

We are glad that you enjoyed our location and the comfort of our beds. Let us apologize again for not providing you with the overall satisfaction you were expecting, however we do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    798
    348
    157
    67
See reviews for
359
687
136
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very well situated-close to St Catherine and McGill subway-above VIA train station-Very friendly staff- very knowledgeable and helpful-Room was a bit small and we were on the 4th floor and no view- windows open slightly but there is the constant hum of the HVAC-otherwise well equipped with a Keurig coffee maker-shower was nice- very generous with toileteries

Room Tip: Get higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Indie463,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to our city. We're glad to hear your stay was pleasant and comfortable. We appreciate your comments and take notes of improvements needed to share with our Department Heads.

Next time your travel plans bring you back to Montreal, we hope to see you again at Fairmont. Don't hesitate to put in a special request for a higher floor, we always do our best to accommodate our guests.Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the perfect location to stay in Montreal. You can walk to Old Town in 12-15 minutes. Twenty-three minutes to Mount Royal. Many churches and museums and restaurants in easy walking distance. And literally, you can take the elevator down to the lobby, change to a special elevator and be in the underground city. From there you can get to a lot of places in the city, even Old Town. But, they need to learn something about customer service. After traveling for 8+ hours, we wanted to get into our room and shower and relax before a scheduled evening appointment. We arrived around 3 pm. There was one desk person for their President's Club (their loyalty program) and one person for everybody else. That person was on the phone helping a customer and it lasted at least ten minutes. The next person went up. That took a long time also. Meanwhile, a long line was developing. We now were about four back. Being hot, tired, and wanting to get into my room, I decided to go to the complimentary ice water stand. It was bone dry with only ice. Nobody seemed to care there were a bunch of customers who needed help. Eventually, about twenty minutes later they got some extra help and we were at the desk. We had ordered a non-allergenic room which was noted on their computer, but the room was not quite ready but would be soon. They offered to put us in another, but the gentleman said since we were to be there a week, we should wait for the assigned room which had a better view. He said the room shouldn't take long. We left our luggage with the bellhop, then were told it would be an hour. We went to the bar, had a drink, burned off an hour and still didn't get called. We went to the desk and they said it was still not ready, but they would call. We went to the lobby and read for a half hour and checked again. They had not called. The room was finally ready. Guess we weren't important enough to call.

Bathroom couldn't be smaller. You have to close the door in order to use the toilet. Other guests said they had to close the toilet lid in order to flush it. The rooms are fairly small. You have to close the wardrobe doors in order to walk past the bed. Changing the thermostat did nothing. You couldn't increase the speed of the fan or lower the temperature, but it was cool enough. They used the thick comforter (like all hotels ridiculously do nowadays) between two sheets which made it too warm. It was in the 90s F. outside. We removed it and left a note for the maid to leave it off which she did.

Indoor pool was 12 meters, but for and old hotel what can you expect? The gym was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Let me start by saying the staff was very nice and hospitable. The location is good. less than 2 blocks to St. Catherine street shopping area. The hotel itself is tired and not up to what you would expect from a top brand. The rooms were in desperate need of updating. The hallways seem to always have bits of paper and other small pieces of debris along the walls. Would not stay here if returned to Montreal. They also charge for internet at over $13 per day. In this modern day of wifi, I am surprised anyone is charging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Todd P,
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We're happy you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff.

We appreciate your comments and rest assured that we have communicated your experience with the concerned departments and are working on a plan to address these deficiencies.

Additionally, we encourage you to enroll in our complimentary loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club, in order to enjoy a wide array of benefits, namely complimentary internet access when staying at any Fairmont Hotel. You may simply visit fairmont.com/fpc

We thank you again for your time and suggestions. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our family of four (two teens 17&15) stayed at the Fairmont for one night and received an upgrade to a Junior Suite. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location is excellent - close to shopping, restaurants and sights around the city. We arrived by train so it could not have been more convenient. The room was ready when we arrived around noon, which was much appreciated but here are the negatives...sadly, the Junior Suite was nice but definately not worth the price paid ($250.00 a night with taxes), the furniture was a little tired looking - the trim was chipped and the overall feel was just not to the standard of what I had expected. The absolutely worst part was the kids ended up sleeping on a very old, creaky and uncomfortable pull out queen bed. I realize pull out couches are not the same as a bed, but this was bad, I would never again take an upgrade without two beds...the room was clean and the amenities ie coffee maker, fridge were great but next time (yes, I would stay again) I would forget about the suite. It is really a wonderful place, just in need of some TLC...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear sb_2004
Thank you for your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel's location and engaging service. We're extremely sorry to hear about your room's condition and apologize for not meeting your expectations in terms of the suite assignment. Please rest assured your comments have been communicated to our Housekeeping department for follow up.

We take pride in delivering personalized service with attention to details and ensure our guests comfort and relaxation. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

We most definitely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and show you a true Fairmont Hospitality experience. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in July. Wonderful old hotel. Check in was a breeze. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. When leaving, the hotel computer would not bring up Delta's website. We asked the concierge about it. She was nice of enough to pull up Delta's website and print our boarding passes. She went above and beyond. The Hotel has that old world charm. We had a room that had a catheral view, we were on the 11th floor. The room was big enough for the two of us. As said in other reviews, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. Our only complaint would be that the walls are paper thin. We could head the conversation from the next room. We were even awoken by a knock at their door. All-in-all, We feel this is a 5 star hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear mykonos20 - We were delighted to read your recent review. Thank you very much for recognizing the wonderful service provided by our dedicated staff members. We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back when you visit Canada again. Warmest regards from Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pros: Conveniently located on top of the train station. Walking distance to a metro station, old Montreal and shopping districts.

Cons: Snotty concierge (except one friendly bloke who wore a pair of black glasses). Room is very small and cramped. And all 6 pillows on our king-size bed are reeked of this moldy stench. We woke up several times in a night because of the stinky smell, bah... The temperature in the room isn't very well-controlled, either letting the AC run the whole night and put on that thick down comforter (which is kinda disgusting thing to do in June) or turn the AC off and suffer from the lack of air. Overall, we weren't impressed by the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth at all, but for the price of $150/night, I guess one can't really complain because Montreal is an expensive city?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Moggy P - We're very sorry to read the details of your recent experience with us. We were very surprised by your comments regarding the guest room but most particularly about the service. We encourage you to contact us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com, in order for us to identify the room you were assigned to and to address the issues encountered. We sincerely apologize for not making your stay memorable and we appreciate you taking the time to bring this feedback to our attention. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.