We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but so comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 164 hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but so comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had come to Montreal and had not booked a room. I would normally stay at a much cheaper property. But it was the QE Fairmont or nothing.

The room was excellent. The room service was prompt and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Brian C - Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Montreal. We're glad to hear your stay was most pleasant and comfortable. Next time your travel plans bring you back to Canada, we hope to see you again at the Fairmont. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    634
    288
    130
    54
See reviews for
276
514
120
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I travel to Montreal fairly often and this will be my first choice in the future. Prices were on par with equivalent hotels in the downtown area but the location alone makes it an easy fit for most trips to Montreal. Direct access to the underground mall, an amazing selection of restaurants and shops within walking distance, metro/Via Rail / and a bus terminal right there. Oh and the Centre Bell for hockey /concerts. And the QE is right in the middle of it all.

I also can't say enough about the staff and service I received at the QE. My check in looked like it was going to be a while based on the line, but the staff flew through the group in front of me and I think my own check in lasted less than 2 minutes. My room was really nice and spotless every day. But the best part was the wonderful woman at the concierge desk. She immediately knew the restaurant I was looking for based on my poor description "my friend said I had to try this place with local beer and burgers to die for ". (Devilles, amazing) I've traveled a lot for work and this was the best concierge I've dealt with.

Overall it was a great experience, I will be choosing the QE again.

Room Tip: South West facing rooms get a nice view of the Cathedral next door. My co-workers were in other par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear William C - How lovely it was to read your recent review. We're happy to hear you will be returning to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Thank you for your outstanding comments regarding the concierge team. Rest assured we've already shared your great feedback with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were in Montreal for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay here. Right next to Mary Queen of the World cathedral, the hotel is very close to both downtown and Old Montreal. The rooms are good sized and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated but still elegant. The Bistro is overpriced but no complaints about the food or service. I had a great time here except that the concierge was not very helpful and rushed us even though there was no one waiting behind us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Silverfuel1 - Thank you so much for sharing some details regarding your recent hotel experience. We're happy you enjoyed the location of the hotel and comfort of our guest rooms, however please accept our apologies for the service provided at the concierge desk. We always strive to offer the best service and rest assured the situation described has been addressed with the team. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Queen Elizabeth is perfect for those individuals who are visiting Montreal for the first time as well as seasoned visitors. The hotel is located in the middle of everything. The metro is only 5 blocks away, it's inside the restaurant district so be prepared to over eat. There is a restaurant/bar that is classic in style--the food is pretty good, but the wine, martinis, and mixed beverages are fantastic. The only downside is you can't take your drink from the restaurant/bar up to your room. The staff is very nice and accommodating and the concierge service is over the moon. The rooms were very spacious, room service is great, and the beds are trey comfortable! We always use this hotel when we go to Montreal. Almost forgot, the price: incredibly reasonable, and you can get additional discounts and deals emailed to you if you sign up on their webpage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Cbrewst4 - Thank you so much for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to learn that we're your hotel of choice. As a Fairmont President's Club member, we truly appreciate your comments and feedback about the service provided and our comfortable new mattresses. We look forward to welcoming you again to Montreal! Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have recently enjoyed another magnificent experience at a Fairmont Hotel- Gold Floor.
The Queen Elizabeth Fairmont is very centrally located and walking distance to all the must sees in Montreal. It is close to the very trendy Crescent Street (pubs and night life) and Rue St Catherine (shopping), close to old Montreal and the port, right on the subway station to go to The Olympic Park attractions.

The hotel is grand. I stayed on the Gold Floor on the 18-19 and my room was spacious and very cozy, with a view of the Mount Royal. To get to the Gold floor there is a private panoramic elevator.
Service on this floor is always outstanding, staff is super friendly and will really do anything to make your feel at home away from home. The lounge is always a nice spot to relax after a day of sightseeing and walking, with breakfast being served in the morning and snacks and beverages available during the day.
When you book make sure to notify the hotel of any particular diet requirements and they will always make sure they have what you need. In my case, it was Gluten free bread. I forgot to mention that I cannot have beer but only cider or GF beer and they told me that the next time they will have them for me!

The bed comfort was outstanding as usual. Turn down service always on time and very discreet. Fresh towels and ice for drinks always waiting for me!

In room service was excellent: we dined in one night and the food was delicious and brought in in a very timely manner.

I will certainly go back to the Fairmont QE next time I visit Montreal. This hotel has a great history of famous people staying there for a reason!

Room Tip: Gold Floor Rooms are always the best choice. Even if on the main street, they are on the 18 and 19 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear sk8rmom4ever - What a pleasure it was to read your recent review. The entire team was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Fairmont Gold amenities, the service provided by our housekeeping team as well as the great in-room dining experience. We most definitely look forward to your next visit and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Queen Elizabeth hotel is in a great location. You don't need a taxi once you're here. Plus, you have direct access to the underground mall which is very convenient. We stayed here during the Montreal Jazz fest. The room was fine, but I found the bathroom to be a little small. I would recommend this hotel, but it's not the most modern of hotels in my opinion. I was expecting a little more in terms of the decor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear lovelyinparis76 - Thank you for staying with us during the Jazz Festival last year. We're glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. With regards to the decor, we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations however please know we are currently working on a renovation plan and we hope to address the concern you expressed in the near future. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Fairmont QE Hotel was very nice in terms of overall appearances and feel... room was not huge, but enough room to comfortably walk around... the 19th floor lounge was very nice with a good selection for breakfast.... The room could have had another once over... some cobwebs on the walls and a little dusty on some surfaces.... the heating unit was pretty noisy... the "extra's" were ridiculously expensive... $4.00 chocolate bars, $8.00 water, and horrible selection of movies for $15.99 each!!! Overall a good stay, staff very friendly and helpful... Best part was the central location to EVERYTHING in downtown Montreal (trainstation, shopping, etc)

Room Tip: definitely recommend a east or north facing room since the south side faces ugly old buildings and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear sjh4255 - Thank your for sharing some feedback further to your recent visit to Montreal. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, however we do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured our Executive Housekeeper has been made aware for immediate action. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Romantic, City...
Show More
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure
#37 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#18 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Marriott Chateau Champlain
Marriott Chateau Champlain
#43 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Beach, Free int...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Sofitel Montreal
Sofitel Montreal
#12 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Ville-Marie
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#30 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#35 Business Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.