We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like to go there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 168 hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I like to go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

took the train on a Friday afternoon, got to Montreal at 6PM, because the train station is under the hotel, we checked in and went to our room. SAQ(quebec LCBO) is under the hotel in the underground as well as restaurants and chopping. PERFECT. If it's raining ourside you can spend the hole day underground. The room was perfect not too big, the bathroom is a good size for 2ppl. They changed the coffee machine to a zurick coffee station, MUCH better result when making coffee. It seems they changed the matresses and pillow they are very soft. It was a bit warm because the central furnace was on but we could open a window. 50 inch screen tv. I don't really care oabout "wifi"I'm on vacation and don't stay connected during that time. Been there before and best visite yet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Nathalie L - first of all thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to read that this past visit was the most pleasant and comfortable one. Indeed, we have a few ongoing projects to upgrade our guest rooms and we're glad to hear you enjoyed the new flat screen televisions, coffee makers and new mattresses and pillows. The entire team hopes to welcome you back soon. Until then... our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    624
    277
    128
    53
See reviews for
268
506
117
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

When we checked in there were 3 attendants at the counter and I was the only one in check in line. Each of them told me "I will be with you in a minute" and they were each wrong as it took close to 5 minutes for one of them to ask me to come to the desk. I believe it might have been shift change as one took her money tray and left.
Upon arriving at our room (1112) within 10 minutes a maintenance person knocked on the door to change a bathroom light which was not burnt out so he left. In another 10 minutes a person arrived with a steam cleaner to clean the carpet and we sent him off. We were concerned about room security with so many people arriving at our door without our requesting any maintenance.
The carpet had not been cleaned as there were remnants of food or something from the previous guest. They remained for an additional two days until we asked the housekeeper to please clean the carpet.

The room was well appointed but small. The bathroom we called very cosy. Comfortable beds. Lots of hall noise from other room doors closing. The toilet made an annoying squeaking sound upon completion of the tank filling up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Londonhobby - thank you for your recent visit. We're sorry to hear your arrival experience wasn't memorable and please rest assured we will look into the issues you expressed and address the different points you mentioned with our Director of Front Office, Executive housekeeper and Chief Engineer. We sincerely apologize for not offering you the hotel stay you expected and we truly hope you will give us another chance in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying in this hotel for more than 20 years on my frequent business trips to Montreal. It's location is by far the best for business travellers, being next to Via Rail and connected underground to the main office towers. Service is excellent and I am always happy with the bar and the Montreallaise restaurant. I have lost track of how many business drinks, lunches and breakfasts I have had at the Queen E! There are trendier and more modern and expensive places in the city but This hotel has been my mainstay for most of my career. Rooms are not large but always clean and in good order. Gym is also very good compared to other chains.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Roxtor - How lovely to read your feedback regarding all your different stays throughout the years. Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Please know that your comments will be shared with the entire team as this type of recognition is very important to our colleagues. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Fairmont staff were wonderful and the convenience of its location made it ideal for us since we arrived by train. My daughter and her friend were fascinated by the fact that John and Yoko had their "sleep in" there.
The room was very small and since there were four of us (2 adult women and 2 teenage girls), there wasn't much room to move around.
The room was reserved for four, yet all the amenities were set for two, including towels.
Although wifi was available, it was very expensive...not worth signing on for the short time we were in the room.

The worst part of our stay was the several ants we found crawling throughout the room, bed and bathroom. The staff were very apologetic and a man was sent to spray the room immediately. This, though, was very unacceptable as we didn't want the smell of the spray or the spray on our belonging. He said that he would return after we checked out.

When checking out, the man at the front desk was told of the "ant" situation and again, he was very apologetic. He took my email address and said that a supervisor would contact me ASAP. It has been three days now and I haven't heard from them. I wonder if I ever will. I guess it just doesn't seem that important to them.

As I said, the convenience of the location to the train station and the shopping complex made it all worth it. I don't know if I will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Musky48 - We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for recognizing the wonderful staff at our property. We're sorry however to read about the different issues you experienced during your stay. with regards to the internet service, indeed there is a fee, however that said fee is waived for the members of our complimentary loyalty program, Fairmont President's Club. We encourage you to sign up by visiting fairmont.com/fpc and you will be able to enjoy benefits starting from your next visit and this, at all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Regarding the issue with the guest room, we sincerely apologize. Our Chief Engineer has already been made aware and we assure you we take your comments very seriously. We apologize for the delay in contacting you via email, rest assured our executive offices will be in contact with you as promised within the next few days. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fairmont is a great chain however, the QE in Montreal is not included in this statement. Perpetual construction, old furniture, bad food (room service), a 'union attitude' amoungst the service staff and unresponsive manangement all add up to a 2 out of five.
The doormen are at the door where cabs CANNOT stop. The door where they do stop do NOT have doormen.
The Beaver Club is a tired as I've seen however the food is good. Expensive so the value is not there but good. I do like the other Fairmont properties but NOT in Montreal.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a renovated room on a floor that is finished construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Agueria - We're very sorry to read comments from your last stay with us in January. We always strive to offer the best service to our guests and we apologize for any convenience caused by our maintenance projects. We thank you for the suggestions you made and we most certainly are interested in discussing your recent visit further. That said, if you could please contact us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Fairmont is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms. Join the Fairmont Presidents Club and you get free internet access and a daily newspaper. The internet speed was very good. The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom was a little dim. There is dark tile there and the lighting level seemed low. Check in and out was fast. The English tv channels were few.
The bar prices were very high - $10 for a domestic draft beer!
There were many restaurants in the area so I did not eat at the hotel.

If i return to the area, I would probably stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Join the Presidents Club for free to get free internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear engineer64 - We're glad to hear you made good use of the benefits offered by the Fairmont President's Club, namely the complimentary internet access. We're happy you enjoyed your overall stay and we would love for you to return to the hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything we can do to make your next visit to Montreal a memorable one. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was last at this hotel in 1968 and should have come back sooner. Attended a meeting and stayed at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth for three nights. Food, service, housekeeping very much to my satisfaction. I should have stayed here more and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Ronald L - Thank you very much for the great feedback you shared regarding your stay with us back in February. Indeed we hope you will return to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth in the near future! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
#35 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.