We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away from kids.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Monkton, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend away from kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Queen Elizabeth. We opted for the gold level room and I have to say that we were happy with the choice. Of the many hotels we have stayed at in Montreal this was the best location. The only negative was that we expected, and we were told, that we could use the valet parking in their guarded garage. When we arrived we were told that there was an issue with the parking and that we would have to park in another garage. The valet was very helpful with recommendations, but knowing Montreal's history with car thefts I found it very hard to sleep that first night. Other than the parking we really enjoyed our weekend away from the kids...which included many guilt fueled purchases for them :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Igot2legs - We're delighted to read you enjoyed your overall stay with us. That said, we are sorry to hear the valet parking was already fully committed when you arrived. Indeed there are other parking options available, namely at the main train station, which is also guarded, covered and connected to the hotel via the underground. We're happy to hear the valet was still able to offer assistance. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your children back in the future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    888
    391
    173
    74
See reviews for
431
766
143
740
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and we will definitely stay here for future visits. Easy access to the Metro was ideal for the chilly Feb weather. It is also roght where you want to be for shopping and restaurants or a Habs game. The staff is excellent - friendly and helpful. The cappuccino and pastries from the cafe ( Montrealais?) are a great way to start the morning. The gym is a good size and there was always equipment available when I went. It is not a big deal for me but I would note that the bathroom is a little tight for counter space. The carpet had a few stains.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear jacVirginia - Thank you very much for the lovely feedback you shared. We greatly appreciate it. Thank you for recognizing the excellent service provided during your stay. Please know that we have also communicated your comments regarding the room to our Executive Housekeeper. The entire team looks forward to your next visit. And the Montrealais will have your cappuccino and pastries ready. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A great hotel right next to the train station and located close to all amenities
Did find most fo the staff a little snooty and disinterested except for the doorman who were very nice and gave us more help than the conceirge. This was our first time to Montreal and Canada and had hoped for a few suggestions from the locals, but a sI mentioned the staff inside the hotel were very unhelpful.
I think breakfast should be included in the price and to get free internet you can join the "Starwood" club.
the hotel was clean, rooms were nice and beds very comfortable.
We woudl stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear AussieDiane - We truly value your feedback and we thank you for your recent visit. We're deeply sorry to hear your comments regarding the service and please know this will be communicated to the team as this is certainly not in keeping with our high standards. Indeed we encourage you to enroll in our complimentary loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club in order to enjoy benefits such as complimentary internet access at all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Having said that, we're happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our new mattresses and the overall cleanliness of the hotel. We will gladly share your feedback with our dedicated Housekeeping team. We hope to welcome you again in the future, next time you visit Montreal. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is very nicely located above the Central Station, and clearly has old grandeur. However, it is vastly overpriced and I would have not chosen it myself. For that price I expect a minimum of free internet and breakfast included, but that is separate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear gambieter - We're glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel, however we apologize for not meeting your overall expectations back in October. Indeed there is a fee for the internet access, which is waived for our Fairmont President's Club members. We encourage you to enroll in our complimentary loyalty program at fairmont.com/fpc to enjoy many benefits starting on your next stay. These benefits are valid at all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Additionally, you may visit our website fairmont.com for different discounted rates or packages offered throughout the year. Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Am a fairmont premier member. Stayed here several times in the past and just returned from a three day weekend trip. They had a promotion that the first night was $199CAD and the second night 50% off ($99CAD). We stayed in a Queen junior suite which was perfect. Two separate rooms with separate baths, sliding doors between. The suite was spotless throughout with fine amenities, plush towels, bathrobes, and a very comfortable bed. The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were superb and went out of their way to be helpful. Ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was outstanding. This hotel continues to represent the fairmont brand as expected. They provide an overall hotel experience that treats its guests with care. In all the times we have stayed at this hotel, it has never disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear R G - As a Fairmont President's Club Premier member, we truly appreciate your loyalty and thank you very much for sharing such delightful feedback. The entire team was thrilled to read your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a night at this hotel. It was fantastic. Pool, steam room and whirl pool were an added bonus. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. The refreshing fruit water was always a nice treat. Hotel location couldn't be any better. We took the train into Montreal. Via station is a few minutes walk to the hotel. All accessible while walking indoors. We will definitely be back! Finally! We had supper at the hotel. Great food and the desserts were lovely, especially the creme brûlée.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear TravellerCO - We're delighted to hear you truly enjoyed your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're glad to read your positive feedback about the fitness facilities and the great location of the hotel, right above the train station. Thank you also for recognizing the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff members. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If this was a Howard Johnson or Best Western at $99 a night in this location I would not have been so disappointed, but the current management has not lived up to the Fairmont brand or risen as stewards of such a historic Montreal property.

The hotel is dated: 1200 or 1600 watt hair dryers, 1950s tubs, small footprint, no Ipod docking station, paper thin walls (the Valentine couple in the room next door were having much more fun than me Thursday night!), few amenities and everything (wifi, Parking etc.) is an extra charge.

Dated could be fine if maintained, but it wasn't even truly clean or maintained: paint peeling off bathroom ceiling, cracked sink, old difficult taps, and no water pressure or cleaned: dusty, finger-printy, hair in tub, generally grubby (but sheets were clean and I only had time for sleeping).

Service might have made the foregoing palatable but -except for the front desk staff which was pleasant if unhelpful- nobody seemed happy you were visiting. The biggest disappointment was valet parking which requires you to drive the car into the parkade! The first morning my car was returned to me covered in snow which was not brushed off until I asked. All for the tidy sum of $29.

To avoid unless required to stay here for a conference or wedding. A eviter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kristine M - We are very sorry to read about your recent experience. Please know we take your comments very seriously and we would greatly appreciate if you could kindly contact us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com as we wish to follow up personally on the issues you encountered during your stay, and most importantly your guest room. Thank you for your detailed feedback and for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to your reply. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.