We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located; Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located; Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel conveniently located right on top of the VIA Train Station; as well as short walking distance to shopping on Rue St. Catherine, and pub crawling on Crescent Street (the English speaking party stretch). The subway is also a short walk away underground, to reach other parts of Montreal.

The hotel was clean, and the staff very courteous. My only complaint - the room we stayed in (2 double beds) was very small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear scarlett_atom - We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly the friendliness of our colleagues, the convenient location and the overall cleanliness. Should your travel plans bring you back to Montreal, please visit fairmont.com as we often have special promotions online, which makes it more affordable to upgrade to a junior suite for larger space. Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    888
    390
    173
    74
See reviews for
431
766
143
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Just cross the street and down some steps and you are in a bustling area with lots of restaurants and shopping. Stayed in a Fairmont Gold room. The room was nice and clean. It was a quiet floor. Made use of the pool area which is nice. The staff in the Gold lounge were great. Check-in was really slow in the lobby, and I didn't know there was a separate check in desk on the 19th. The hotel sent an advance email with information about the hotel but it was French only so I only understood half of it. I don't understand why they don't send this information in French and English. But overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear OttawaCA - Thank very much for sharing some feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Fairmont Gold. We're trilled to hear you enjoyed your overall visit. With regards to the correspondence the Fairmont Gold team sends via email, it is based on the language chosen at time of booking. We apologize if there was a mistake regarding the preferred language, however please rest assured information in English is also available. That being said we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

On a recent pleasure trip to Montreal, I booked a room on the 19th floor, "Gold Floor"
overlooking the city with 180 degrees views.
My room was spacious and very nicely finished. The staff on the gold floor were very gracious and
saw to every request.
My last evening there, I wanted a special lemon pastery and ask where at 7:00 PM I could find
one. The very nice woman attending to the concierge post directed me to a pastry shop near by.
She then asked, If you are not in a hurry she could call the kitchen to see what they could do for
me. When I returned from a short walk, there were 2 small lemon pastries waiting for me.
I will be back next year for another stay at this great hotel.

Room Tip: Book the "Gold Floor"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Tim B - How wonderful to hear your recent comments regarding your stay on Fairmont Gold at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit earlier this month. Please know that your feedback has already been shared with the Fairmont Gold team as this type of recognition is very important to them. We all look forward to welcoming you back next year! Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time. Hotel was nice but small and the restaurant was ok. There was not many nearby restaurants and if there was, it was just too cold to walk there.The underground mall is nearby making it convenient.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear TheSurvivorFan - We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the cold weather. Being connected to the underground city is indeed very convenient. The underground pathways make it very easy to access different restaurants and stores even in the winter. Should you return to Montreal, please do not hesitate to contact our concierge, who will be delighted to assist you with dining recommendations. Thank you very much for your feedback. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Although the rooms at this hotel are fairly small by North American standards, my recent visit was a good one and I have no real complaints. The location is one of the best features of this hotel, close to metro stations, the underground city, and all kinds of shopping. Of all my stays here, the service during this visit was the best I've ever experienced. Checking in and out was fast and efficient, and any special requests I made were done quickly and without follow-up. I stayed in a junior suite (509), which had a comfortable living room, a separate bedroom (sliding doors), 1.5 bathrooms and two big flat screen TVs. I was on a smoking floor, on which the hallways often smelled like people actually smoked in them. My room, however, had no smell of smoke whatsoever. The service at breakfast was up and down, but the buffet itself was very nice (be sure to ask to get a freshly made omlette or fried eggs rather than eating what is already prepared).

Room Tip: Join the President's Club and get free Intenet in the room (wifi or hard wired) and access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear David W - Thank you for your recent review. We truly appreciate your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth as a Fairmont President's Club member. We're glad to hear you've always enjoyed the service provided especially at the reception desk. Thank you also for your comments regarding the buffet breakfast. Please rest assured your feedback has already been shared with our restaurant and culinary team. We most definitely look forward to your next visit. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right above the central train station no need to even walk outside. Every 15 minutes there is a shuttle ($9) to airport. Check in was easy, though a bit of a wait. Room was ready earlier than 4pm check in which was a bonus. Underground mall, taxis out front. Room service friendly. All amenities in room. Only free Wifi for "club" members, they should have that changed. Bell man was able to keep our bags for a $2 fee per bag after check out until we were ready. The hotel decor is old school not modern but beds are comfortable. We would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear itaewandong - Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff members, the convenient location as well as our comfortable new beds. Indeed we invite all of our guests to sign up to our complimentary loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club, and this, prior to their stay in order to enjoy complimentary internet access. That said, we truly hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Summary: Excellent mid-upper scale hotel – fast internet, delicately furnished rooms, and outstanding friendly service! High recommendation and far better than the Hilton Bonoventure (the other alternative).

I am a business traveller and recently chose to stay at the Fairmont this time after staying at the Hilton Bonoventure in 12 separate times last year – now stayed in Fairmont for 7 nights on the 9th floor in Room 903. I wish I could’ve stayed at this hotel earlier instead of the Hilton.
I will be writing my review as a Fairmont vs. Hilton, given that they are close proximity to each other, and hope this will be a meaningful comparison for readers.

- Very fast internet. Internet speed at the Fairmont was 100x better than the Hilton. I was so impressed with it, I even did a download/upload test, which resulted to 55mbps download and 36 mbps upload. On the other hand, the Hilton had sporadic internet access in their hotel (they recognize the problem and blame the building structure) and my tablet could not connect at times in the Hilton. As a traveller, good quality internet is a must and the Fairmont delivered well here. For techies, this is a great choice.

- Warm furnishings and room feel:- The rooms are bright, warm, modern and comfortable – with an eloquent feel to it – marble furnishings, hard wood furniture, fresh wallpapers, new lamps, etc. Some people fear that the Fairmont is “old” but for me it is more “eloquence”. My room was recently renovated and has a brighter and warmer feel than the Hilton. The only part that was old was the bathtub and did not appear to be replaced as part of the renovation- and yes it did have chips and small cracks in it – I would not take a full bath in the Fairmont. The shower water pressure is excellent, however, and the toilets/other amenities in the bathroom is excellent. Also, they give you bathrobes in the rooms, but no slippers.

- Excellent lighting:- There is definitely more natural and indoor light in the Fairmont rooms as compared to the Hilton. For someone who likes light, the Fairmont is a better choice.

- Excellent radio clock:- the radio clock is a Sony and has a built in dock for iPhones – which is great if you have an iPhone.

- Not so convenient electric plugs:- There are quite many, however, the bedside lamps themselves do not have plug outlets built within the lamp (unlike the Hilton) – making it hard to plug a phone in by the bed. However, under the bed there is a large powerbar and you can easily plug multiple devices in at a time – once you reach for it.

- Television: The Fairmont has a large screen LG LCD TV and appears to have more channels and slightly larger than the Hilton. However, unlike the Marriott in Orlando, it does not have any cables to plug your computer to it to watch movies, etc and when I dialed room service they didn't have any. Most hotels don’t have it but it would be nice.

- Excellent Service: The service at the Fairmont is way better than the Hilton – prompt ,friendly, and they even gave me a gift on my second night. I had my shoes shined complimentary and the valet laundry was done very well (the laundry comes back in proper Fairmont branded bags instead of plastic sheets). Also, when I requested a thinner pillow, a larger empty fridge (the is already a bar fridge) and a microwave, the response was fast, friendly and professional. Service is top class.

- Slightly expensive room service: The food in room service is slightly more expensive given the $3 charge (the Hilton room service is cheaper).

- Good toiletries: The toiletries in the Fairmont (Le Labo Rose 31 soaps and shampoo) are great and better than those offered at the Hilton. It has an excellent scent and definitely more luxurious. However, unlike the Hilton, no mouth wash is provided.

- Restaurant:- Montrealais – better selection than the restaurant in the Hilton. The cheesecake is one of the best I’ve had in a while. Also they have an all you can eat salad bar for about $16 which is perfect for business travellers like me.

- Overall higher class: Overall there is more class at the Fairmont – even though the rates between Hilton and Fairmont are similar. It’s the little things that the Fairmont does that make them more eloquent, such as 1) classical music is on in your room when you first arrive; 2) hanging your newspapers on your door in an environmental friendly re-usable instead of putting it on the floor as done in the Hilton; better glasses/cups for in-room tea/coffee (Hilton gives paper cups while Fairmont has proper mugs) ; better in-room coffee machine, etc.

Overall – I highly recommend the Fairmont and will come back and stay here anytime (and definitely better choice than the Hilton).

Room Tip: The higher floor, the more light and better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear coolioblob - How wonderful to read your review. The entire team is delighted to have you staying with us. Thank you for the great detailed feedback and we greatly appreciate your suggestions as well. If you need anything during your visit, please do not hesitate to contact anyone from the team. Enjoy your stay! Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.