We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I always stay here when I am in Montreal, which is at least once or twice a year. Each time has been wonderful. And it location couldn't be better, over top train station and access to the underground and metro.

Room Tip: City view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear rogp3 - Thank you very much for being such a loyal guest. We're happy to read your lovely feedback regarding your different visits to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We wish you the very best for 2013 and we look forward to your next stay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    888
    392
    173
    74
See reviews for
431
767
143
741
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days in December 2012 with my 2 teenage daughters, during the winter storm. Opted for a cheap room ($144). Based on the reviews I expected a rather small room. The 2 queen beds were extremely comfortable, however, the room was big enough for 1 bed only instead of 2 beds. Solved the problem by pushing the beds against the walls and moving the table into the corner. The bathroom is small, but functional. The view from the room was magnificent. We were on the 8th floor, overlooking Mary, Queen of the World cathedral. Unforgettable view. There is a rather large cabinet in the room that serves as a TV stand. It is so high that one has to strain the neck in order to watch the television. The service was great. We asked for extra towels and were given a 3-day supply in all different sizes. The famous Fairmont Gold on the 19th floor with the panoramic elevator was closed due to low season, we were told.
Do not forget to register to become a member of the President's club in order to get free internet access. Enough has been said here about the location of the hotel, which is extremely important in winter time. There is not much going on in the city on Christmas Eve and Day, so we took advantage of the amenities at the hotel - the swimming pool, the hot tub, the steam room, the gym. The fresh fruit and lemonade at the Health Club are a nice touch. The pool can get crowded before closing (the hours are 6am-10pm). I had to fight young kids jumping over my head and guys in their twenties throwing ball across the pool. The pool boy eventually apologized for the inconveniences. The streets of Montreal were deserted during the holiday, not a lot of lights and decorations. We climbed Mount Royal, as did many tourists from all over the world and locals. The lookout from the chalet observatory atop Mont Royal epitomizes the essence of Montreal, I highly recommend it.
The restaurant Le Montréalais was rather expensive, so we ate outside of the hotel. If you are visiting in the cold weather make plans ahead of time and check for hours. We once had breakfast at Eggspectation and came back for dinner a couple of days later only to find out that the place closes at 6pm. If you like crepes, I recommend Paris Crepes on Rue Crescent near the hotel.
There are plenty of fast food restaurants at the train station. The food at the Chinese, Thai, Korean or Indian places tastes the same, very blend. But it if you need to grab a croissant or a cup of coffee on the go, Gare Central is the solution.
Would definitely come back to Queen Elizabeth in summer time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear star555girl - We're happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth this past December. Thank you for the detailed feedback and great comments you shared. With regards to the pieces of furniture in the room, we are currently reviewing the possibility of redesigning the space, including the height of the TV cabinet and we greatly appreciate your suggestions. We also look forward to welcoming you back when the weather gets warmer. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Given the time of year, we decided to stay at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel, because it is connected to the underground city. There are, I think 8 other hotels that are connected. QE had a good deal, ($139/nt) and was centrally located. The hotel itself is very nicely appointed, and in Montreal style, everyone is super nice, friendly and helpful. Parking was about $20/per day which still made the QE a reasonably priced choice.
Given the huge storm up there on Thursday, this wound up being a good choice. The underground city itself is not great shakes, unless you like malls, BUT, you can travel within it in order to get to many places (we saw Cirque du Soleil at the Bell Center and we walked there and back without coats), including several metro stops. Even when we needed to go outside, we were able to walk inside for a good part of the way. For example, to get to the Museum of Beaux Arts, we got within a few blocks. Given that the sidewalks were still snow covered and slippery, and curb cuts were not shovelled out everywhere, AND that it was VERY cold, windy and snowing throughout much of our stay, that was a welcome convenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lisa - We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the cold weather. The convenient location is indeed very important when the city is covered in snow. Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff members. We hope to see you again soon. The entire team wishes you a wonderful new year. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our family of four spent three nights at The Queen Elizabeth. We were pleasantly surprised to see the upgrades that have been made to the hotel. Although only so much can be done to the rooms (our room's size was typical for its era and therefore smaller than what we normally find today), it was well appointed, wonderfully quiet and clean. We were without a vehicle and found its location to both the Metro, underground malls and train station spectacular. We could not have chosen a better hotel for its location. In a pinch, the breakfast had more than enough good choices (for a price) and the service was top notch but we preferred our early stroll along Rue St Paul for a crepe or going elsewhere for Montreal's well-known bagels. Grab an evening cocktail at the The Beaver Club and then get out and enjoy the many spectacular restaurants nearby or a quick Metro stop away in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear FrequentlyinItaly - We're delighted to read that you and your family had a great time in Montreal while staying at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We thank you for great feedback regarding the service and the location of the hotel. Should you visit the province of Quebec again in the future, we sure hope to welcome you back. Happy New Year! and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Since we were in town for a 45 cm snowstorm, the fact that the hotel is connected to the "underground" and the Metro was a godsend! We actually stayed for 9 days and I could find very little fault with the hotel as a whole. We were on the 15th floor, with a view of the Cathedral. I do wish that the fridge had room in it for us to use it, instead of being packed with things we could buy, but that is pretty much my only complaint. The concierge was amazingly helpful and all the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant. The gym is a little outdated, but the pool and hot tub are good sized and open late. The metro was easily accessed, so everywhere we wanted to go was pretty easy to get to. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Rebecca J - Thank you for sharing comments about your recent visit to Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel especially during the snowstorm we had. Thank you also for recognizing the service provided by our colleagues and most particularly the concierge. We hope to welcome you back in the future, perhaps in the summer next time? Many thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went there for a night on the town along with a visit to the museum (MBAM) for an exposition of paintng. We selected a great package for the price. Great location, superb view and excellent breakfeast. The room is a little bit old, but stil very clean, large enough and very well equiped.

We would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear beauga01 - Thank you for your recent review. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and the entire team looks forward to your next visit. Wishing you the very best for 2013. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My son and I spent a recent holiday weekend in Montreal at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth on a boys' getaway. The hotel is well located in the middle of downtown Montreal, over the central train station (Via Rail, Amtrak), with easy access to two Metro stations. We ate at the hotel bistro our first night there, and the food was excellent. The room, while small, was very comfortable, and our view over Place Ville Marie was very nice. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, with a special shout out to Annabelle at the front desk for patiently helping out with some room issues. All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MidnightCruiser2013 - Thank you for your great feedback regarding your holiday weekend at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to hear you appreciated the service provided, the convenient location of the hotel, the food served in our restaurant and the comfort of the guest room. Please rest assured we have shared your beautiful comments with Annabelle at the front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future getaway weekend. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.