We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to fairmont standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not up to fairmont standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Q E fir the first time in many, many years. I am a fairmont fan and have stayed at 2 other properties this month. This one is historic but also tired...very tired. It is in desparate need of some upgrades and fresh paint. It is quite dowdy and reminds me of an old apt building past its glory. The staff are almost surly...except one gentlemanly waiter in the Bistro who lives up to fairmont standards. Food was quite good there. Maybe I was hoping for a similar experience to hotel Vancouver or royal York ...but I won't likely give it another go. Too bad

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Babs621 - We're truly sorry and we apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to Montreal. We would be very interested in learning more about your hotel experience with regards to service and accommodation. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com We appreciate your loyalty to Fairmont and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for your time. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    888
    390
    173
    74
See reviews for
431
766
143
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In such great location, two blocks from the most visited street, and walking distance to the old Montreal. Great location for both business And leisure. The VIA train station is directly below this hotel, so it is very convienence. The view from the room is wonderful, however, the size of the room and bathroom is small. Hotel is old, and the pool is very small for a Fairmont, definitely not the best Fairmont I stayed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Maggie L - Thank you for your recent visit. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed by the size of our rooms and our swimming pool, however we're glad you enjoyed the view from the room as well as the location of the hotel. Should you return to Montreal, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and we would gladly help you find the room type or suite that best fits your needs. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was the perfect location center to every aspect of Montreal. The service at the hotel was outstanding and the locatin and underground was a whole different city. Incredible cosmopolitant city. Loved it. I can share that Old Montreal is the place to be and its a great 15-20 minute walk and in that cool weather you dont feel it. Hotel is wonderful but its getting a bit dated, needs a new make over. The regular floors didnt look as nice as the "Golf or as french say Or" other than than if your coming to Montreal 4 Days is all you need. Enjoy...BonJour.

Room Tip: Or or Gold floors the others need updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Nick A - Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and suggestions. We currently have several ongoing projects in order to upgrade our guest rooms and we most certainly will keep moving in that direction. We're glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service. We hope to welcome you again when your travel plans bring you back to Montreal. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have to confess I am hesitant about writing this review as the Gold Floor at the Queen Elizabeth is often full and makes it difficult for me to get a last minute room.

I have stayed on the Gold Floor at the Queen Elizabeth several times each year. However, with the re opening of the new Ritz I thought I would try it. While the Ritz is nice it has not yet got to the level of service I have come to expect from the Q E Gold Floor, and have now gone back and will not stay elsewhere in Montreal, unless of course they are full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear MQS007 - The entire Fairmont Gold team was thrilled to read your review and we all thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. The team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staying at the largest hotel in Montreal is not my usual pic but I thought I would give this a chance and the rewards were immediate. Check in was efficient and friendly. My suite upgrade from a junior only cost an extra $50 per night.
Breakfast buffet was very nice and waiter very prompt and pleasant.
The lobby bar restaurant served a great chicken club sandwich at $15.
Best of all I booked through Luxury Link and got a great deal with a $200 food credit included.
Since the hotel was next door to a church, I had no excuses that Sunday.

Room Tip: see if you can upgrade for a modest fee from the basic room booked. Stay on one of the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear boatbuddy2007_12 - Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth and our different dining venues. We most definitely look forward to your next visit to Montreal. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a girl's weekend. We arrived at the hotel in the midst of a heavy downpour. There was no vislble signage about check-in procedure. Myself and my friend approached a valet, who not only looked past us as we approached but also walked away without greeting us. This was a common theme during our stay that staff would walk by without a standard greeting or pleasantry. Upon entering the hotel it was nicely appointed in the lobby. We checked in, only to find out that the valet could have saved us an additional trip back in the pouring rain by servicing us on arrival.

We paid a surchage for 3 persons to be in our suite, however the supplies in the room, towels, toiletries and pillows were meant for 2 persons and we had to request extra. The bathroom was dated as evidence by the cracked and stained sink and tub. The room was dated, though the beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. The hotel charges $13 daily for Internet, at a time when basic travel motels provide free Wi-fi. Also there is a mini fridge in the room, but it is a pay service and there is no fridge for guests to put their own items, and no microwave. The walls are so thin we could hear a neighbour snore through the night.

One night we returned late. We ask the front desk for information about food delivery available. We were given a brochure for a restaurant that we called for repeatedly that night and several times the next day, that never answered the phone or was busy. We decided to order from room service instead, and found there wasn't even a basic sandwich on the menu.

It was nice that the hotel was connected to the VIA train station, and the city's shopping concourse that runs the majority of downtown Montreal, through the underground. This made the hotel very accessible and attractive.

Parking was an additional $29 a night. We asked 25 minutes before for our car to be brought around at 6:15 AM when we left the hotel, but it was not, and we waited an additional 15 minutes.

Lastly, our dining experience at the hotel was the crowning disaster. My group decided to eat at the Beaver restaurant on the main floor. We were seated and explained that one of our guests was a vegetarian and the other had a eating restriction. Almost every item on the menu used a vegetable which was the restriction. We asked for an alternative. We were handed a supplementary menu by the gracious hostess. When we ordered the waiter was unfamilar with it, as evidenced by him squinting to read the menu, sighing and rolling his eyes. He took and submitted our order. The appetizers were pleasing (i.e. Jumbo shrimp cocktail and cheese plate). The dining room was quite busy. When the vegetarian meal was delivered, we realized they had mistakenly provided the vegan meal. The waiter argued that this was what was ordered, though it was not. I should add that this is a bilingual establishment and my party spoke both languages and was thus clear in our order. The waiter hufed and walked off only to return 15 minutes later with a plate of limp vegetables that was again not the meal that was ordered. We then had to ask for the supplementary menu back to point out what was ordered. 2 meals and 40 minutes later the meal was provided. At the same time however my meal arrived complete with a garnish of staff hair. Thus myself and my friend sat without a meal, while the 3rd person ate. We had to then request a manager come to our table, which I did of the gracious and pleasant hostess. The manager came reluctantly and launched in to an explanation that our meal mishaps were due to our arrival without reservations, the hostess mistakenly seating us on a busy night, and the presence of a large private party. He then stated that he would comp the entire meal, as this was "all he could do for us". And reiterated that the fault lay with our lack of a reservation and the hostess' mistake in agreeing to service us. He then proceeded over to the hostess and dressed her down so obviously that she became tearful and stepped off of the service floor. At no time up to this point had our elderly waiter every approached us to check on us and our meal. We then were given a new and gracious waiter who bent over backward to be courteous and professional, going so far as to apologize for the situation, without blaming us as the manager did.

The rest of the meal was glorious and a credit to the establishment. We opted to tip the hostess and waiter, despite the free meal, as they were the only staff who endeavoured to provide exemplary service.

I was dissapointed with the overall experience, and the impression that my group who look visibly younger than we actually were, were treated poorly in such an unfortunate manner. This is sadly ironic as we took every opportunity to be courteous and tip generously, including housekeeping and valet.

Room Tip: The floors are long and winding. Try to optimize by asking for a room near the elevator and/or ice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jillawoina - We sincerely apologize for your past hotel experience. We were extremely surprised to read your recent review as this is certainly not in keeping with our high standards of service. Please rest assured your comments will be shared regarding your stay and appropriate actions will be taken. We're also deeply sorry to learn that the dining experience wasn't memorable. That being said, we're glad the outcome was satisfactory. We most certainly hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently stayed here for 2 nights in October - great hotel, feels high-end, but still casual enough for a couple in our 20's. Location is central, staff are always pleasant & helpful. Ate at the Montrealais (spelling?) restaurant on site - did the salad & desert buffet and was delicious! Ordered breakfast room service on day - the Maple Butter Crepes are amazing!!

Loved the 'I'm on my way' email option - we checked in about noon and our room was all ready, and check out was also very easy. Will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear EmeraldLocal - We're thrilled to hear about your recent hotel experience with us. Thank you for sharing such great comments regarding the hotel, our restaurant and our room service. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.