We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent room, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Travelling with the family we booked a one bedroom suite. The rooms themselves were spacious and clean. The bathrooms are a tad small however that was a small price to pay for such a quiet room

The Hotel is exceptionaly well located as it sits atop Central Station and the Montreal underground pathways.

We had a great stay

  • Liked — QUIET
  • Disliked — sMALL BATHROOMS
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Threedogstwokids - Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear you and your family had a great stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Until next time, warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    802
    349
    157
    67
See reviews for
360
687
136
652
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Queen Elizabeth recently for a weekend in Montreal. We had a nice corner room on the 15th floor - great view of the Church across the street. The hotel staff were great, the room was really nice and clean. It was really convenient as well as we came in on VIA rail and the hotel is connected to the train station as well as the underground mall. We had a nice and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Ik0 - We're glad to hear you and your sister had a nice relaxing time in February while visiting us at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We travel by train so this hotel couldn't be more convenient. Leave the train, take the elevator to lobby and register.
Rooms are standard but clean, no pealing paint, no obvious dirt and the bathrooms are always in good clean condition.
Most rooms have an in-room fridge/mini bar and at least one comfortable chair and one desk chair. I continue to be amazed that a double room (ie for two) does not have space for two comfortable chairs for the two staying in the room. Otherwise the QE is a great place to use to see Montreal.
We were on the 14th floor and the room was quiet even with the window open.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear DaveLon - Thank you for your visit. We were glad to read your feedback and we thank you for your suggestions, which will most certainly be taken into consideration for the future. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Montreal. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Iconic Montreal property located in the heart of the shopping and near the nightlife district of "Crescent street", if your coming by train, best location you can get, also easily accessible by airport shuttle. Don't eat at the property, overprice, instead walk down the escalator by the train station where many eating option is available if you feel to lazy to get out to walk to Ste-Catherines st

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear tiatatravelagent - We're glad you chose Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth last October. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarker
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My daughter & I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth. It is a lovely older hotel. We arrived in Montreal by train at noon hour. The hotel is above the train station so you don't even have to go outside. Check-in was a breeze. We were able to get into our room right away even though we were really early. The front desk staff & bell-man were so friendly & helpful. As soon as they realized we only spoke english they immediately switched to english. Whenever we met someone from housekeeping in the halls they always said hello.

The room is small but comfortable. The bellman felt our room was a little warm so he opened our window & told us to leave it open for a while & then turn the ventilation system to auto. The room cooled down nicely & we were very comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with lovely linens.

The hotel has such a convenient location. We had tickets for Michael Jackson Immortal by Cirque du Soliel at the Bell Centre. It was only minutes from the hotel. The next day we shopped till we dropped on St Catherine Street. It was also a short walk from the hotel. You can also reach it by the underground shopping tunnels if the weather is unpleasant. The weather was beautiful so we enjoyed walking outside & discovered all kinds of wonderful shops.

On our last morning we enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. The variety of options was excellent. The food was delicious & again the staff were exceptionally friendly. I don't drink coffee or tea & would have been happy with just juice but the waiter suggested hot chocolate & it was so good. I had my own pot full of chocolate. So yummy. Check-out took only seconds & the hotel kept our luggage in a secure room for us until it was time to catch our train home. They even asked if we needed help getting down to the train station with our luggage. We were fine but it was nice of them to ask.

Overall it was a nice little vacation & I will definitely stay at the FQE on my next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear raedar - Thank you very much for your detailed review. We're thrilled to hear that you had a nice little vacation with your daughter. Thank you for recognizing the service provided at the hotel. The entire team at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth would be delighted to welcome you back next time you visit Montreal, whether it is for shopping again or for another musical event. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

One of the best locations - connected to the underground city, and steps away from fabulous shopping, dining (I'm partial to dim sum in Chinatown!)... When I take the train to Montreal I don't even have to step outside to check in to the hotel! Friendly staff, great food... and lovely shops in the lobby that are very tempting... Great gym and the kids loved the pool!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear TinyDancer028 - Thank you very much for your review. It truly seems you and your family had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our staff, the food quality, our recreational facilities and of course our location. We look forward to your next visit to Montreal. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We went to Montreal for March 2012 and chose to stay at this Fairmont location. I called the hotel directly for the booking and was able to get a federal government rate at $139 per room for a Fairmont room. Since there were four of us, my husband and I and our two daughters, 12 and 15 we decided to get adjoining rooms, which had two doubles for the kids and a king for my husband and I. This worked really well.
I would recommend joining up for the Fairmont President's Club which is free and it provides you with free wi-fi which was great since we were there for three nights and also we asked for an extra fridge in the room which was at no extra cost and we could keep drinks and other food cold.
The rooms i believe have been recently updated and the decor is nice but they are quite small but worked well enough given the rooms were adjoining. The biggest complaint from all of us was that the beds were quite hard. We are use to having pillow top mattresses and subsequently had a sore back when waking up.
The best part of the hotel is that it is linked to the underground city, which has ample shopping without even going outside. I would suggest not to eat in the hotel as the cost is really high but if you go down the elevator to S2, you walk out through the sliding doors and you are right within the food court, which includes Tims, Second Cup and about 20 other take out places. My daughter loved going down in her slippers in the morning to get bagels and drinks.
In the underground is also the Via rail station and also the subway is very close by.
We used the pool and workout area, both were very clean and well equipped.
The service was definitely rated very high and all staff were very friendly and professional.
Parking is valet only and is at a cost of $29 per day.
Overall the stay was very good and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor facing the Basilica next door which was a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear kanatafamilyof4 - Thank you for your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're glad you enjoyed your overall hotel experience. We appreciate your comments regarding the sleep quality. Rest assured this is of great importance to us. That being said, we're pleased to announce that we have started installing new mattresses this week in our rooms and the entire project should be completed within the next few weeks. We definitely look forward to your next stay with us. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Business Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.