We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Chateau Champlain

Save Saved
You added Marriott Chateau Champlain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Chateau Champlain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #42 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Bolton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old School accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Reliable and consistent as usual for a Marriott. Great location, 10-15 min walk to many sights. Check in - and out very smooth, and the concierge is very helpful. You can get to the Metro and underground shopping without stepping outside. Be wary of the running route, as it takes you up the mountain, if you not used to doing hills, it may be a challenge. Bathroom very tiny in room xx17.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi bikeorhike
Happy to read you tried our running route - it does have an incline. I will pass this one to our in house staff runner and see of we can find an alternative to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    442
    128
    39
    20
See reviews for
190
269
66
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July 2013, I can highly recommend it, the location is fantastic for shopping in the centre of Montreal. You can also get the metro direct to anywhere in the city from the station which is located underneath the hotel, reached by a lift in foyer.
The hotel was also really close to restaurants and bars, which were all within a short walk.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
The rooms were gorgeous, and we were lucky to have a lovely view over the University gardens.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a high floor to get a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi IreneCGlascow,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your visit this past summer. We are fortunate to have the views from our rooms that we do. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our fair city in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel while we visited Montreal for 2 nights in early October 2013. The hotel gave us an upgraded room on the 22d floor with a forever view of the St Lawrence and the city. The lights at night were spectacular. On the overall the hotel was a very nice high end typical Marriotts. The food in the concierge lounge keep us going the first night after we had ventured out for dinner only to find the area near the cathedral to be running over with homeless people. That sent us back to the hotel for the night. One nice feature of the hotel is that there is a subway stop right beneath it. Very convenient. We learned that the best way to get around Montreal is to get an all day subway pass for $9. The pass is good for 24 hours. A one way ticket is $3 so this is quite a bargain for a vacationer moving around the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi bobba,
Very happy to read you enjoyed your visit to Montreal and the ease of our subway system. It indeed makes getting around our fair city and all we have to offer practical. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a nice view of montreal from our room on the 32nd floor. Rates were not bad and it was close to everything downtown. Rooms were clean and nice and well stocked with nice toiletries. Bathroom was a bit small but nothing to complain about. The concierge was able to help us with everything we asked about the city and the rest of staff was very nice. Everyone was able to speak english which was helpful. All in all a decent place to stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear depazed,

Great to read you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the tome to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Have stayed many times at this hotel when visiting Montreal. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent rooms, clean, access to the Metro and Underground (important in the winter and cold weather) close to CentreVille and restaurants and shopping. Right off University, easy access to highways, great views of the city, pretty much has it all. Can walk to Old Montreal, St Catherine St, and plenty of good eats within walking distance, as well as a short walk to the Bell Centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park (front of the hotel), great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear sb2422
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel when you visit Montreal - we truly appreciate the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great hotel, the staff, from Luke at the Front Door, to everyone really that worked there, treated me like they have known me for years by my first name! and this was my first time there. Stayed here for 4 nights, no problem with the language, front desk/reception was excellent and most accommodating, asked for a late check out, no problem at all.

The Concierge was very helpful in receiving documents for me, scanned them and sent them out for me ASAP, very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Walleyehunter1999
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay - it will be a pleasure to share this with our staff. I hope we can host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed one night at this property for my daughter's graduation from McGill. Staff were perfectly friendly (not too much, not too little). English was no problem at this property as everyone I spoke to (front desk, concierge, etc.) had no trouble with it. Got a really nice room and a nice surprise in the form of an evening snack sent up to my room compliments of the hotel management!

Felt welcome here. My wife felt spoiled (which is what I'm looking for). Will stay again when I travel back to Montreal.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello ikaToronto
Great to read your wife felt spoiled - anytime we can helpyou do that again, please let us know.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Chateau Champlain

Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#25 Family Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Chateau Champlain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.