We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Chateau Champlain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Chateau Champlain to your Saves list
Marriott Chateau Champlain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Montreal Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

the location for this hotel is good , u have the metro station at the hotel , so very easy to move around , also the bus from the airport leaves u close to the hotel , just they need to refurnish as it is very old hotel , otherwise they have a indoor pool , and a jacuzi , so it was nice .the are many restaurants for breakfast in the hotel and a Starbucks too so if u r stay does not include the bf , don't worry .

Room Tip: the room that we ahd has a great window and the view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ASamad1965,

Thank you for your observations. Your feed-back is important to us!

I am glad that you were pleased with the location of our hotel, the metro and some of our great breakfast options.

I am glad that we were able to assign you a room with a great view of Montreal.

Looking forward to have you stay here again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    544
    162
    48
    24
See reviews for
228
333
74
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This marriott is not in the old town, but I like the location better. You are right next to a metro that will get you anywhere in the city. The old town is very touristy, so it was nice to get out into the other areas. It is a big marriott and the service very nice, rooms nice and everything you would expect from a marriott.
We arrived at the airport and took the bus to the main terminal. WAIT a minute...why not just grab a cab? BECAUSE it is so easy and actually quicker to get into town on the bus. As you leave the luggage area there are machines in front of you where you buy a ticket that allows you metro and the bus to the main terminal station. We bought a 3 day pass for the two of us 36.00. You will take the metro so this is a good value. The hotel is a quick walk from the terminal. Loved this location

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Susantravels,

Thank you for your nice feed-back.

I am glad that you loved the location of our hotel with all its facilities. Most of our guests agree to say that we are conveniently located with easy access to the underground city (32 km long).

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your guest room and that everything was up to your expectations.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was exceptionally great, staff were welcoming, helpful and prompt. Internet was free and location was perfect. Room clean and well maintained. Our room had a nice view but baby crib was not up to the standard, it was made of metal and not safe as baby might hit the head.
Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Fatme A,

Thank you for your kind observations. Your feed-back is genuinely appreciated.

I am pleased to know that overall you really enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad that you found our hotel conveniently located and our staff welcoming, helpful and prompt.

However I regret that the baby crib did not meet your expectations, I will take it under consideration.

Thank you for your desire to stay with us again on your next visit to Montreal.

I am looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Walking distance to transit and "Old Town." The staff makes the hotel worth the stay. The hotel is quiet and clean but the staff makes it delightful. Stayed on the 33rd floor with a fantastic view. Ask for a high floor. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear ldglm,

Thank you for your great comments. Very much appreciated !

It was so pleasant to read that our staff "makes the hotel worth the stay". I will share these amazing remarks with them. Thank you!

I am also glad that you enjoyed our hotel with his facilities.

Looking forward to hosting you next time you are in Montreal.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is very quiet , rooms are clean and comfortable . There is free wi -fi and coffee in the room. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the train station and the Bell Center. There is a restaurant and also a Starbuck . The staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful. They had not received confirmation of my business billing and they were very helpful. the supervisor left me a message to give me feedback about billing and told me all was ok.

Room Tip: Room with a view on Mont-Royal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Helene P,

Thank you for your nice feed-back regarding your recent stay with us.

I am happy that you enjoyed the comfort of your guest room and that you found our hotel conveniently located.

I will share you good comments with my staff and will let them know how friendly and helpful they were with you, particularly about your billing issue.

Looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were at this hotel last weekend for 4 days. Found the staff very efficient and pleasant. The front desk personnel were efficient and the concierge arranged some great sightseeing tours. The hotel is charming and well used, but clean and well maintained. We had room service the first night because we got in so late and it was delivered quickly and it was terrific. The next night we ate in the bar in the lobby and it was excellent and the wine was great (we bought several bottles to bring home from SAQ stores that have an amazing selection at great prices). The room was good size, immaculate, well stocked with amenities and the windows are amazing. We requested a room on a high floor with a view of the city and Mt. Royal and it was incredible.

Room Tip: Request a view of the city and Mt. Royal on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Deby R,

Terrific comments for which I would like to thank you!

I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, the cleanliness as well as the view from your guest room.

I am glad that our concierge staff was able to arrange great tours during your stay. I will share your kind remarks with them.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon in our beautiful city.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was immediately impressed with this hotel. It is very convenient to Montreal's old town. The hotel was very welcoming and appealing. The hotel reminded me of a European hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I look forward to a return to this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Morlev,

I am so grateful for your kind comments. Very much appreciated!

I will share them with my entire staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Chateau Champlain

Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Chateau Champlain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.