We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, views, service and stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Chateau Champlain

Save Saved
You added Marriott Chateau Champlain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Chateau Champlain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #45 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, views, service and stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there for New Years eve ... staff were very friendly, views from high floors are awesome, access to subway and underground city without leaving the hotel and nice location. Breakfast was nice. Concierge very helpful. Parking a tad expensive, but convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    450
    130
    39
    22
See reviews for
195
273
66
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gatineau
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overall nice property, room was clean and comfortable. The pool and spa were good as well. Check-in was quick. Parking garage has some tight turns. Parking is $22/night, which is the going rate downtown. We decided on the buffet breakfast, $23ea. I think next time I will have a muffin from Starbucks which is in the lobby. The concierge and bell staff seemed eager to serve, front desk staff were nice. The hotel is two blocks from St. Catherine lobby elevator will take you down to the Metro and underground city. For quick dining option St. Hubert and Cage au Sport are right across in Windsor Stn

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SP
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived during the snowstorm and the bellboy helped us taking the luggage from the taxi.
Room is nice and comfortable but the bathroom is very tiny.
The location is great (just 300 m from the Central Station - Gare Centrale) and it has direct access to subway and underground city.
Concierge was great but the 3 restaurants she indicated were closed due to holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. The hotel looks very stately and retro on the inside, but the room felt modern and very comfortable. The pillows on the bed were exquisite! New Year's is often a big party night in hotels and there were a lot of young people roaming around, but I didn't hear a thing in my room and slept like a baby.
I really was impressed with the hotel staff. They were extremely friendly and went the extra mile to make sure everything met our expectations. The small touches like greeting me by name when I called the front desk were nice, and calling me to make sure I had received the item that I requested in a timely fashion.
The mini bar and in-room dining were reasonably priced. Our room service arrived quickly and was delicious, and the tray was cleared promptly.
This hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway, and I would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonavista, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights after an overseas trip. Was a welcomed North American comfort to check in a relax in this hotel! Although there was bit of a check-in hiccup (was given a room card belonging to another guest... who were in their room when I opened the door!!), didn't taint the overall experience. Good room-service. Good city views. Close to shopping and other amenities. Would gladly recommend to anyone visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Not a cheap place to stay, but worth every penny. With fantastic views of the city.
We stayed there whilst visiting Montreal to watch the hockey.
It was right across the street from the Bell center, so a very handy location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Upon our arrival there appeared to have been a Scottish celebration. It was quite nice because both men and women were dressed in traditional Scottish attire. I traveled with a group of friends all in our early 20's. There was no wait, we checked in and were given our room keys. The hotel is beautiful, classy and old style decor. I loved the windows in the suites. They were huge and we had such a great view of the city.

The beds were not exactly twins and not exactly full for the regular junior suite. The pillows were square shaped and not made for sleeping. We weren't allowed to take drinks to the pool. So we had to do some drinking in the room before heading to the pool. The staff was friendly, but then again everyone in Canada is friendly. They get excited when you tell them you're American.

The hotel is not too far from St. Laurent where all the bars are located. It was about a 6 dollar drive to the area and the cab driver jipped me off for 10 dollars. But over all I would return. Montreal is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Chateau Champlain

Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#28 Family Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Chateau Champlain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.