We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur to your Saves list
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Winter Rates
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

This is an excellent budget hotel. The rooms and common areas were spacious, clean , comfortable and well maintained. The shared bathrooms were also spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is on the intersection of two major roads - one takes you to downtown, shopping areas and theatres. The other takes you to Chinatown, the old town and the Mount Royal district. Bedroom windows have double glazing so the noise wasn't a problem. Most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance.

The hotel is in a small strip club area, but I (a female) wasn't harassed and I felt safe all the time. There is very good securtiy at the hotel - someone is onsite 24h a day, the front door was locked and the rooms had decent locks.

Some of the floors are on a slight slope and there is no elevator, so if you have mobility problems you might find it easier to pay a bit extra and stay elsewhere.

I enjoyed my stay here and woud defintely stay again when I return to Montreal.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    206
    38
    10
    18
See reviews for
44
171
77
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

I cannot understand how this hotel has ever had a positive review - some of the rooms must be better than the one I stayed in! My room faced out onto the street, and because this is not a nice area (it really isn't), there were frequent, noisy fights outside during the night. The second night this erupted into some pretty serious violence.

The room itself would have been quite good (spacious and reasonably decorated) but the floor of the room was on a serious slant - so much so that I got a sore hip from my bed being on an angle! This is pretty reflective of the overall standard of the building, which also seemed to have dodgy floorboards and stairs.

The communal shower in the hall didn't have hot water. On the second night the electricity to the building disappeared in the middle of the night and still hadn't come back on by the next morning (this appeared to be specific to the building because the rest of the street looked fine).

The one good thing was that the staff were helpful and friendly and when I asked to leave on the second day of my ten day stay, they refunded my money without question. I would never go back though. I suggest that if people can afford to spend slightly more, they go the the Hostelling International place in the city centre, which is a great place and where I enjoyed the rest of my stay!

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise, area, slanting floors, low building standard
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

I stayed at L'Abri Voyageur for three nights in November/December 2006, and don't plan on making that mistake again.

First, the good: my third-floor room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff were very nice. The hotel is in a terrible area, but is walking distance away from most of Montreal's main sites (Old Montreal, the port, Chinatown, the Palais de Congres, etc).

The bad: The neighbourhood is dangerous. Homeless people congregated on the steps of the hotel all the time and I had to step around them to get in. There are two nightclubs very close to the hotel, and the noise kept me up all night. The walls are very thin and I could hear everyone walking by and the person in the next room opening and closing his drawers, watching TV (my set didn't work because the reception was terrible), and talking on his cell phone. The bathrooms were gungy. There's two per floor.

There's no elevator, so that's something to take into consideration if you want to stay here, and I also advise you to bring your own alarm clock if you want to be woken up on time. The hotel doesn't provide it.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

Visited in May (single male traveler) and have to say that this really is a great bargain. I stayed in the suites section and had a large bedroom, kitchenette (with all appliances and conveniences - for those who want to shop and eat in occasionally), private bathroom and plenty of space. Portable air conditioner, TV included, no telephone and no internet capability in room - some kind of intercom was on wall but didn't have to use. Room was very clean and quiet for the most part. Not straightened up one day during my 9-day stay. Finding hotel was easy once you understand all the one-ways and maneuver the traffic (which is menacing). Arrival was hurried as parking in front of hotel is limited, then you walk up flight of stairs and quickly check in. Suites are around the coroner, and parking (private but very inexpensive) is a block behind. Once you get parked, you have to bring luggage back to the suites (roadwork going on and confusing entrance). I had a room on the 3rd floor and the climb was daunting. If you are elderly or have problems getting around, this is not the ideal setup for you. Parking was okay on weekends, however, weekday parking filled quickly with people who worked in the area. Sometimes have to leave key and have attendant park when space opens up. Not a big deal though. Conveniently located in "center" of town within walking distance to China Town, Old Town, and most "tourist" sites. Walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and major malls nearby. Yes, the area does look kinda seedy, but I felt pretty safe, and I wandered about all hours of day and night. Rental car came in handy because I wanted to visit Quebec, otherwise, the metro system and buses are everywhere.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

Hotel is within easy walking distance of the convention centre and wonderful specialty shops. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rates are very reasonable.

The hotel has personality. The room I stayed in had hard wood floors, an original oil painting, and an old bank vault for a clothes closet.

The neighborhood has tatoo shops and sex shops, but felt very safe, and I was out until around mid-night fairly often. The odd night there was some noise when the bars let out, but that did not keep me awake. People concerned about night noise can ask for a room away from the street.

I would give his hotel serious consideration if I was going to Montreal again. The hotel is one of the few travel bargains available.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

First, the location: Next to a tatoo/piercing place, accross from a romantic(?) shop, and a street off several sex shop! It is however a block or so from the Desjardin complex which is nice and convenient.
Second the room. We decided to go for the renovated studios with private bath. Those are not in the same building that the main hotel, but off a side street. There are 4 of them. The studios are nice and clean. The sound proofing is terrible so your stay will depend on the other customers. We stayed four long nights there (We had paid in advance!...big mistake!). The first two nights, we didn't sleep!
Third, there are not elevators.The steps are very steep and made of metal. Finaly, the safety in that building is lacking.
If I can advise you, check out the Hyatt regency hotel in the desjardins complex (their room were only $20 more and so much better!)

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

I'll start with a disclaimer-- this hotel is probably not that well suited if you're travelling with children, but otherwise, its great. We stayed at the studio apartments, so i don't know how the other rooms are, but the studio is great. The reason this hotel is so cheap is that there IS a sex shop right nearby, but this in no way should deter you from staying there. The area is safe, it's a 5-10 minute walk from the Old Port area, a 10 minute walk from downtown, and barely a 20 minute subway ride to the Montreal Casino. The subway is literally up the block, less than a minute walk.
The studios are great, and include a fully equipped kitchen. Our studio was very clean. The only downside was that there was no phone, so bring your cell phone.
Overall, i greatly enjoyed it, so don't believe the bad reviews about the "area" that its in. The location is incredibly convenient to pretty much anything you'd want to see in Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
#42 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.