We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur to your Saves list
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Winter Rates
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fargo, ND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location, very close to China Town, easy walk to Old Montreal as well. Metro is close as well. Don't worry about the strip clubs around there, if you want to avoid them, just take a right when you walk out of the hotel. If you are staying in downtown Montreal, one of the things you have to expect is walking past a strip club. Not the prettiest area at night, but no problems at all. The room was fine, nothing fancy, but good enough. Shared bathrooms were fine, there was always a shower available, no problem. Front desk was helpful, as well. Not noisy at all with the air conditioner on, not sure otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Being very centrally located in the downtown area, there are strip clubs and some homeless individuals. The area, however, is very safe. In addition to being close to Old Montreal, Chinatown, the latin quarter and the gai village, we are in the midst of the finest entertainment venues in the city. Our area (Quartier des Spectacles) also hosts most of Montreal's festivals. We are pleased that you found our hotel the perfect location to visit the city. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    206
    38
    10
    19
See reviews for
44
171
77
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The good:
No bedbugs. Clean and safe. Great location, close to many interesting areas of the city. Very reasonable rates.

The bad:
Roaring traffic on street in front of hotel well into the night. Insist that they give you a room at the back facing inner courtyard.

Staff has a lot of attitude. I know this isn't the Hilton , but, even with cheap rates, you should expect at least a basic pleasant manner with the public. If there's any problem, be prepared for long unpleasant arguments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback. We are fortunate in being very well situated at the crossroads of St. Laurent and Ste-Catherine, close to most major tourist sites. Our hotel prides itself in having an excellent rapport with our clients and have received numerous accolades and excellent ratings in this regard. I was dissapointed to hear that this was not your experience in our establishment and invite you to give me a call. All our guests to our hotel, should expect to receive not only a pleasant manner from staff but a warm friendly service to make their stay with us a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived a bit confused but the staff could not be more accommodating. The location was a short walk to the historic district and adjacent to the theatre district. I could not be more pleased. The area is under a transformation as is the hotel. Rooms were neat and clean. A special treat were the breakfast coupons for a neighboring restaurant. I will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for your excellent recommendation. We have great comments on the continental breakfast that we offer with all regular rates. We are pleased that you will be returning and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The price was excellent, and much better than I thought I'd be able to get in Montreal. The location is great: a minute walk to a metro station one way, a minute walk to a 747 bus stop (to and from the airport) the other way; there are also places to eat right across the street, as well as cheap convenience stores. The rooms are nice, clean, and spacious. My room had a huge walk-in closet (though I don't unpack at hotels, I'm sure some guests would greatly appreciate this). The room also had an A/C, which I enjoy. However, like any experience, it did have its negatives. The walls were very thin; I could hear everything that was going on with my neighbors, as well as on the street, causing me to wake up every early every day. There is no elevator, and a lot of stairs - I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone who finds them difficult. Most of my experience was positive, and I would have left a higher rating, except for the fact that a pair of shoes went missing from my room during my stay. I find it hard to believe that they were stolen (as nothing else was missing, and these were not new, or expensive, shoes), but the staff could not give me an explanation for where they were, or why they were gone. It was an extremely frustrating way to end my trip. I would still recommend this hotel, however, and would probably stay there again, but I'm going to have to keep a closer eye on my things next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are fortunate that our hotel boasts an excellent location to visit the city, being in the midst of the entertainment district and in proximity to most of the major tourist sites of Montreal. I was surprised to hear that you had an item that went missing and certainly apologize for this inconvenience. I wish I had the opportunity to speak to you in order to review the circumstances of the missing shoes. I am pleased that you will return....a la prochaine (till next time).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Located in a convenient part of the city, but next to a "Sex Shop", so families with teen-agers should take that into consideration. I had a $75 "Budget room with breakfast and shared bath." The room was charming and fairly large. Bathrooms were spotless and the bathroom sharing was no problem. The desk people were exceptionally nice and informative. The breakfast was a good deal because they sent you to a restaurant and to purchase the same breakfast would have been much more. Don't get a room that faces the street. The street festivities are very LOUD and continue until 4am, then at 6am the loud garbage trucks appear. They are obviously working to make this a super hotel and work hard to please the guests. The beds were quite comfortable and the linens spotless, not quite sure if the maid changed the linens each day or if she just made the bed. The pillows need work and there are a few other cleaning issues that need attention. Yes, go. It is a good value!

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces the busy street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks for recommending our hotel. In all of our rooms, including the budget rooms, we have daily housekeeping. If you need additional pillows, do not hesitate to ask. Depending on the activities in the area, there can be some street noise; however, it is not always the case. Thanks for your positive comments regarding our staff....we do everything possible in order that our guests have a most pleasant stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This little hotel was a pleasant surprise for my friend and I after 10 days changing accomodation across Canada.

It was the one we liked the most: great value for money, one of the cheapest we stayed in being also very clean, well kept and spacious.
Big bedrooms with high ceilings, new furniture and fittings, nice decoration...
The staff is very nice, honest and helpful. Since there is no elevator and we were carrying heavy luggage, the lady at reception offered to change our room in the 3rd floor for one close to reception and then refunded $10 because that one was cheaper. A big thank you for her!!

Location is great. 10-15min away walking to the Old Port, the train station, downtown and the latin quarter. It is true that it is located next door to a sex shop but don't let that fool you. The neighbourhood that may have been low profile in the past is being renovated and accomodation there is budget and good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Many clients comment that we have the best value. We try hard to keep high standards while keeping our prices as low as possible. Being that the hotel begins on the second floor and that it is located in a centennial building, it does have lots of character but there are many stairs to contend with. If stairs are an issue, do not hesitate to ask if there is anything on a lower level and we will certainly try to accomodate. Next time you make another Canadian trek, we hope hope that you will join us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Certainly would stay there again. The price for a down town Montreal hotel was amazing. Definitely felt more like a hostel rather than a hotel-- the rooms were private but the showers and toilets were shared. For me and my friends this was completely acceptable but may not be for couples. Service was so helpful-- arranged my 4am cab to the airport. The free breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.