We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #47 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location for walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently was at a conference across the way at the Palais. Great location for convenitons, but best of all walking in Old Montreal. It seemed that everything I wanted to do was a 5-10 minute walk! The staff was friendly, the room large with all the necessary conveniences.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear HikerMom58,
We would like to thank you for taking the time in your busy schedule to write this nice review of our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    415
    130
    60
    24
See reviews for
166
352
58
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Check in line was long due to their computers were down but still only about 10-15 minutes wait that’s not too bad. They gave a room on the 22nd floor with a view of Montreal downtown. The room was spacious with nice décor throughout. Comfortable king size bed and quiet room so we had good quality sleep during our two night stay. Free bottles of water and a nice mini fridge were nice extras. In room Wi-Fi was 15.25 CAD a day but free in the lobby area. There are plenty of comfortable seating spaces around the lobby.
We enjoyed the heated sea water 15 meter lap swimming pool a lot during our stay and there’s a small garden right outside of the indoor pool with plenty of tables and chairs on the 10th floor that was very impressive.
This Intercontinental Hotel is in a good location right next to Montreal Convention Center and about 5 to 7 minute walk from Montreal Central train station. We walked to many attractions effortlessly such as Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, Chinatown, Old town and Vieux-Port de Montréal and had a great time touring this wonderful city.
Overall we are fond of this hotel and would like to recommend it as a nice base touring beautiful Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at the Intercontinental a day later than planned, due to problems with our first flight in Australia on our way to Sydney to fly to Montreal. We arrived after midnight, five flights, 2 days & luggage lost twice..............what a start to our much planned 10th wedding anniversary & retirement celebration trip.
Montreal was to be the start of a 7 week celebratory trip of a lifetime, giving us a chance to recover from over 30 hours of flight & airport time (this had now turned into 48 hours), before boarding a much anticipated cruise.
Firstly I had arranged a town car pickup from the airport with the Concierge in the months leading up to our arrival, and this was a very welcome way to start our stay.
The reception staff on duty when we arrived were very welcoming and we felt right at home.
We were directed to our room on the 26th floor, I had booked an Executive Suite for our stay. But what we found on opening the big double doors to 2600 was a beautifully appointed suite fit for a King & Queen.
This was more an apartment than a hotel suite, with a Butler's pantry, dining room to seat 8, powder room, beautifully decorated sitting room with wonderful views of the city, Mont Royal & the port, dual bathrooms connected by a shower, with a large jetted bath that would easily accommodate 4 and a bedroom with chaise lounge and view to Mont Royal.
The king size bed was so very comfortable, we spent a lot of time in it, recovering from the long flights and delays.
The staff were always attentive and respectful. Reception was always helpful and accommodating, as was room service, which we used on three occasions.
We were a little disappointed with the Club Continental breakfast and therefore only used it once, the food was cold and unappetizing, the selection very limited.
Room service was prompt, but again the food did leave a lot to be desired, at times overcooked or cold.
Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely, the upgrade was unexpected and greatly appreciated. The front reception staff, housemaids, room service waiters, concierge could not be faulted, they made our stay very enjoyable and we appreciated their attention.
We did not eat in the restaurant, opting for room service instead, maybe if we had we would probably have enjoyed the food part of our stay.
On a final note, thank you Intercontinental. After a harrowing trip across from Australia your unsolicited upgrade made up for all the trauma of the prior 2 days.
Our appreciation knows no bounds.

Room Tip: Views of the port were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Chris D,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are happy you have appreciated your upgrade; we took good note of all your comments. We sincerely hope that the rest of your trip went as good and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the InterContinental Montreal.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We got quite a deal using Expedia. The corner room/suite was very large for the price. We were pleasantly surprised. The bed could have been of higher quality but no other complaints. VERY clean and quiet. The concierge was friendly (once you could find him.) He had some nice recommendations, although his directions left us lost on one occasion. The location is exceptional. It's in a very nice section of Old Montreal and surrounded by some very nice restaurants. It's also within walking distance of the city center, the river and horse and buggy rides (highly recommended). English is spoken, but expect to be greeted in French as it is the preferred language.

Room Tip: use expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear darkshick,
It was a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for this 4 star review. We are please you have enjoyed our spacious room on the location of our hotel. Hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I were in Montreal for a week. We had stayed in another hotel for 3 nights in the city part of town but decided to spend 3 nights in Old Montreal. The hotel reception was up an escalator on the first floor which was awkward with two suitcases each. Our check in went smoothly with Julie but no concession was made for my IHG gold elite card. The hotel lobby was not very bright but appeared clean. Our room cards were used to operate the elevators.

On first impressions our room appeared a little dark but had a large floor to ceiling window on the 23rd floor with a fantastic view of the river and islands.

The safe was adequate for two 15” laptops and camera. Unfortunately, the door on the furniture unit was loose which we reported on checking out. In the same unit was a coffee machine with capsules for coffee and tea. There was not a great supply. We requested more supplies at one time and these were brought to us. I am not in favour of powdered coffee creamer though. The mini bar/fridge was empty except for 2 complimentary bottles of water which were replenished daily, and was much appreciated.

The bathroom had a shower and separate bath. The toiletries were replaced when required and the towels were only replaced when placed in the bath as should be. The towels were extra large and fluffy. The hairdryer was a hand held one and quite powerful. It was kept in the bathroom in a little bag. There was plenty of room for our toilet things. The bed was comfortable and large.

We did not have a turndown service but the housekeeping was good and the room and bathroom were tip top clean.

The complimentary Wiifi worked well. We have also realised that the best times for Wifi in hotels in very early in the morning or when most people are out.

The air conditioning worked well as we could not open the windows on this floor for safety reasons.

We felt the location was a little far down but otherwise good for the old city. It was close to Chinatown, which was worth a visit. The metro was available without going outside. The entrance was under the hotel in a mall. It was opposite the Palais des Congres.

The staff were friendly but appeared overworked. We were never acknowledged when we passed the reception desk.

Breakfast was a buffet and there was both hot and cold food. There was plenty of fruit to chose from. On the Monday the chef was in attendance so my husband had freshly fried eggs. There was enough food to satisfy most tastes. Coffee, tea and orange juice were brought to the table by servers.

It was unfortunate that there were not more staff in the breakfast room. They were run off their feet and could not keep up with the amount of guests they had to serve and tables to clear. They were always smiling and friendly in spite of the work they had to do. We had breakfast included in our rate and were given breakfast vouchers. Some guests left theirs lying on the tables as they were not collected.

We had dinner one evening in the Osco! restaurant. The menu was a little confusing as one portion was very small and if you ordered two for one person it was too much. You were paying over the odds. We were not impressed by this. It was supposed to be pre-theatre meals. We would rather have had a full dinner menu.

Check out was not a problem and there was no queuing, and the concierge picked up our bags and took them to a taxi downstairs, we had requested. It is advisable if you have luggage to book a taxi to the airport. The cost to us was $40 and it was quick and efficient compared to the airport shuttle. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floors - away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Wilma S
Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel. Also, thank you for the wonderful comments and comments were we can improve ourselves. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Over the years, I have had a tendency to stick to Delta hotels within Canada and Hilton hotels for most other destinations. All that to say that I have only had the occasional stay at Starwood or IHG properties. I have always had mixed feelings about IHG as I either find them way past their prime or quite basic (ie: HI Express). My stay at the IC Montréal will definitely see me add a couple more IHG stays prior to year end so that I can achieve elite status with this chain.

What I liked: Exceptional service from the front desk staff with a "can do" attitude. They went above and beyond for even minor deficiencies (eg: room not prepared with hypoallergenic option) by providing drink vouchers for the wait time (which frankly was less than 15 minutes). The hotel has a premium feel to it, is relatively well maintained, and even the smallest rooms are of a decent size. Very comfrotable bed, temperature control was adequate. Decent bathroom amenities. Extremely good location next to Old Montréal and the congress centre. Friendly concierge service.

What to Watch for / could be improved: At this time, internet (in-room) is available for a fee (2 hours complimentary in the lobby). This will change in 2014 as this is added as an IHG club benefit. Could be the room I was in but not much of a view.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear ottwatrvlr,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the InterContinental Montreal. We are delighted to hear that you were well taken care of during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I found a good deal on this hotel online. Was happy when I saw the location. When i checked in there was something unpleasant on the floor by the desk. I told the staff and they got rid of it - things can happen, I realize, but the lobby really should be spotless at such a busy hotel. Other times I saw pop corn kernals, etc.
My first room had a box with a tea kettle and paper plates right on the chair. I didn't understand what it was. I called housekeeping, but i also didn't want to just wait for them to arrive to take it away. I went downstairs and got a new a room, which was nice and I think a bit bigger, but although high up - had absolutely NO view. just brick walls. Pretty disappointing.
Soaps and shampoo were below average. I was expecting something nicer. Room was well attended by housekeeping - a plus for them. Elevators were slow and frustrating - lots of tour groups with older visitors. It's a popular hotel with the cruise ships I gather.
I asked about a massage in the spa. The too-handsome-for anyone guy doing NOTHING just showed me the rates and said to come back tomorrow. No appointments available, on a rainy dead Monday afternoon. Sure. Real nice.
Room service for breakfast was absurdly expensive, 25$ for two eggs, plus 5$ charge, plus 15% tip.Just say, 1 egg = $20. GIve me a break. Hotel is not nice enough to charge such rates.

Room Tip: It's fine but I would not go out of my way to stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear rbrendan,
We thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our location. We are sorry to hear that you disliked our service, we will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#41 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.